
 

Administrative Order  
  

 
Administrative Order No.: 4-50 
Title: Appointment, Licensing and Bond of Stevedores 
Ordered: 11/20/2001 Effective: 11/30/2001  

  
AUTHORITY: 
  
Miami-Dade County Home Rule Amendment and Charter, Sections 1.01(A) and 4.02; 
and Section 125.012(6), Florida Statutes; Chapter 28A, Code of Miami-Dade County, 
and Port of Miami Terminal Tariff No. 10, all as amended. 
  

SUPERSEDES: 
  
This Administrative Order supersedes A.O. No. 4-50, ordered June 16, 1998 and 
effective June 26, 1998. 
  

POLICY: 
  
The Director of the Seaport shall be responsible for the review and administration of 
all applications, examinations, bonds, stevedore licenses, and renewals of stevedore 
licenses. 
  

FEES AND BONDS: 
  
A one-time County application fee of $50.00 payable to Seaport Department is 
hereby established and it shall be submitted with each original application for a 
stevedore license. The amount of $1,000.00 is hereby established for a performance 
bond payable to Miami-Dade County and conditioned upon the proper performance 
of the licensee as a stevedore. Such bond shall be maintained throughout the term of 
each license. 
  

PROCEDURE: 
  
Stevedore license applications may be obtained from the Seaport Director, to whom 
they must be returned together with the fee. After review, the Seaport Director shall 
forward applications to the Miami-Dade Police Department for scrutiny, processing 
and return to the Seaport Director for further examination and recommendation. 
  
All applicants denied a stevedore license shall receive written notification in person at 



the time of denial or by certified mail. Denial letters shall be signed by the Director 
and shall contain the reason(s) for the denial. If the applicant is denied a license for 
any reason other than pursuant to section 28A-6.5, Code of Miami-Dade County, 
section 28A-7.1 affords the applicant the right to file a written request with the County 
Manager within ten (10) days of the denial pursuant to the provision contained in 
section 28A-7.1. Such person shall be entitled to an appeal before a hearing 
examiner pursuant to section 28A-7.1. 
  
If the applicant is denied a license pursuant to section 28A-6.5 regarding criminal 
record, the applicant who wishes to appeal must submit a written request to the 
Seaport Director requesting an appeal hearing within 14 consecutive days of receipt 
of the written denial notification. The written request should be addressed to the 
Seaport Director, Miami-Dade Seaport Department, 1015 North America Way, 2nd

Floor, Miami, Florida, 33132. Any applicant denied a stevedore license who fails to 
submit a request for an appeal hearing within 14 days shall surrender their temporary 
identification card to the identification section and shall forfeit all future appeal rights.  
  
The Director or a designee (a Seaport employee at the Assistant Director level or 
higher) will set a hearing date that will occur within 60 days after receipt of the written 
request for appeal. When a hearing date is set, the department will send a certified 
letter to the applicant containing the hearing date, time and location. All applicants 
appearing at an appeal hearing shall have the right to have an attorney present.  
  
The appeals committee shall be comprised of a member of the Dade Police Chiefs’ 
Association, excluding the Director of the Miami-Dade Police Department, the Special 
Agent in charge of the U.S. Customs Service in Miami or a designee, a 
representative of the employee’s employer or at the employer’s option, the 
association representing the employer, the Port Director or his or her designee, and a 
union, labor, or employee representative, as enumerated in Section 28A-5.3(h) of the 
Code of Miami-Dade County and shall represent to the fullest extent possible the 
ethnic/racial/gender diversity of Miami-Dade County. Three members of the 
committee shall constitute a quorum.  
  
At the hearing, the applicant shall have the right to present his/her case, including all 
relevant documents. The appeals committee through a majority vote of its members 
present shall determine whether the applicant shall be issued or denied a stevedore 
license and shall render a written decision so stating to the Director, with a copy sent 
by certified mail to the applicant within 14 days of the hearing date.  
  
Pursuant to Section 28A-6.5 (c) of the Code, the Director shall, upon determination 
by the appeals committee and upon receipt of the performance bond, issue the 
applicant a license if the applicant qualifies. The license shall be effective from the 
beginning date of performance bond coverage to January 15th of the following year. 
Alternatively, if the appeals committee determines that the applicant shall be denied a 
license, the Director shall issue the applicant a letter so stating. In either event, the 
applicant or the Director, as the case may be, shall have available the review 



procedures of Section 28A-7.1.  
In the event of a two-two vote, the particular appeal shall be rescheduled for the next 
appeals committee meeting to take place not more than 60 days after the split 
decision. During this time, the applicant will be issued a second temporary 
identification card not to exceed a period of 60 days. 
  
Section 28A-7.1 of the Code of Miami-Dade County affords any person (including the 
County) aggrieved with the decision of the Director and/or the Department, with 
reference to the written denial or issuance of an application for any permit, license, or 
identification card, the right to file a written request with the County Manager within 
ten (10) days of the denial. Such person shall be entitled to an appeal before a 
hearing examiner pursuant to section 28A-7.1. 
  

RENEWALS: 
  
Any renewal application shall be subject to the same review process as set forth 
above. 
  
SCOPE: 
  
Miami-Dade County stevedore licenses authorize a stevedore to perform as a 
stevedore within Miami-Dade County, except such County license does not include 
stevedoring on the Port of Miami which requires an additional permit issued by the 
Seaport Director. 
  
PORT OF MIAMI STEVEDORE PERMITS 
  
Port of Miami stevedore permits authorize stevedores to operate at the Port of Miami 
and are subject to fees as prescribed by the Port Tariff then in effect. These permits 
are subject to the same examination procedure designated above and the criteria in 
Chapter 28A, Code of Miami-Dade County. 
  
  
This administrative order is hereby submitted to the Board of County Commissioners 
of Miami-Dade County, Florida. 
  
  
Steve Shiver 
County Manager  
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	Steve Shiver
	County Manager


