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[.O. No.: 4-122
Adopted: 9/18/2014
Effective: 10/1/2014

MIAMI-DADE COUNTY
IMPLEMENTING ORDER

FEE SCHEDULE FOR MIAMI-DADE CORRECTIONS AND REHABILITATION DEPARTMENT
DAILY INMATE SUBSISTENCE AND PROCESSING

AUTHORITY:
The Miami-Dade County Home Rule Charter, including among others, Sections 1.01 and
2.02A, and Sections 951.033, (2014) and 939.06 (2014), Florida Statutes.

SUPERSEDES:
This Implementing Order amends Implementing Order 4-113, ordered September 18, 2009
and effective October 1, 2009.

POLICY:

This Implementing Order establishes fees for charging inmates in the care, custody and
control of the Miami-Dade Corrections and Rehabilitation Department a one-time
processing fee and a fair portion of their daily subsistence during incarceration.

APPLICABILITY:

The provisions of this procedure are applicable to all inmates incarcerated in facilities
operated by the Miami-Dade Corrections and Rehabilitation Department. Exemptions will
be determined by the Department Director to include inmates held for U.S. Marshal (as
their sole charge), inmates assigned to the Work Release Program, Boot Camp Program,
House Arrest Program, and inmates assigned to the_Inmate Worker Program.

FEE SCHEDULE:
The daily subsistence fee charged to all inmates to offset the cost of incarceration is $2.00.

The one-time processing fee charged to all inmates to offset costs of incarceration is
$25.00

PROCEDURE:

The Department Director is authorized to collect fees pursuant to Section 951.033, Florida

Statues, and account for the revenues. The process will involve the following:

a) The inmate will be advised of a fee schedule and policy during the orientation process
and a copy of the fee schedule will be posted in each housing unit as well as made
available in the inmate handbook.

b) The daily subsistence fee will be debited on a daily basis from the inmate’s financial
account in the facility.

c) The one-time processing fee will be $25.00 after the inmate is booked into custody.

d) If the inmate’s financial account in the facility does not contain sufficient funds to cover
subsistence costs, the Director may place a civil restitution lien against the inmate’s
other personal property. A civil restitution lien may continue for a period of three years
and applies to the financial account of any inmate who is re-incarcerated within the
county in which the civil restitution lien originated.
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e) When the court orders a lien against an inmate's funds; e.g., for child support, restitution, or
court fees, such orders will take precedence over the collection of the daily subsistence fee.

f) If any inmate wishes to present reasons in opposition to the assessment, a formal written
appeal is available through the inmate grievance process as outlined in the inmate
handbook.

g) Any inmate with uncollected funds owed to Miami-Dade County Corrections and
Rehabilitation Department, upon their release, shall pay said funds before any funds are
released to them.

h) Inmates who are held in jail as unsentenced and are acquitted or discharged on all charges
shall be reimbursed for the daily charge of subsistence which they paid but not for the one-
time processing fee. The inmate must provide a certified copy of the final court disposition
from the Clerk of Courts prior to the reimbursement of such funds. The inmate may submit
the request for payment at the facility property room upon release. After administrative
review and processing, the check will be mailed to the last known address no later than 90
days after receipt of final court disposition

This Implementing Order is hereby submitted to the Board of County Commissioners of Miami-
Dade County, Florida.

Approved by the County Attorney.as /
to form and legal sufficiency /g/





