
 

 

  I.O. No.:   4-122 
Adopted:   09/18/200909/18/2014  
Effective:  10/01/201310/01/2014  

 
 

MIAMI-DADE COUNTY 
IMPLEMENTING ORDER 

 
FEE SCHEDULE FOR MIAMI-DADE CORRECTIONS AND REHABILITATION DEPARTMENT 

DAILY INMATE SUBSISTENCE AND UNIFORMPROCESSING 
 

 
AUTHORITY: 
The Miami-Dade County Home Rule Charter, including among others, Sections 1.01 and 
2.02A, and Sections 951.033, (20092014) and 939.06 (20092014), Florida Statutes. 
 
SUPERSEDES: 
This Implementing Order supersedes amends Administrative Implementing Order 4-113, 
ordered September 918, 1999 2009 and effective September October 191, 19992009. 
 
POLICY: 
The This Implementing Order established establishes a fees for charging inmates in the 
care, custody and control of the Miami-Dade Corrections and Rehabilitation Department a 
one-time processing fee and a fair portion of their daily subsistence and uniform costs 
during incarceration. These fees will go to the Inmate Welfare Fund. 
 
APPLICABILITY: 
The provisions of this procedure are applicable to all inmates incarcerated in facilities 
operated by the Miami-Dade Corrections and Rehabilitation Department. Exemptions will 
be determined by the Department Director to include inmates held for U.S. Marshal (as 
their sole charge), inmates assigned to the Work Release Program, Boot Camp Program, 
House Arrest Program, and inmates assigned to the Inmate Worker Program. 
 
FEE SCHEDULE: 
The daily subsistence fee charged to all inmates to offset the cost of incarceration is 
$52.00. The one-time uniform processing fee charged to all inmates to offset costs of 
incarceration is $1025.00 

PROCEDURE: 
The Department Director is authorized to collect fees pursuant to Section 951.033, Florida 
Statues, and account for the revenues. The process will involve the following: 
a) The inmate will be advised of a fee schedule and policy during the orientation process 

and a copy of the fee schedule will be posted in each housing unit as well as made 
available in the inmate handbook. 

b) The daily subsistence fee will be debited on a daily basis from the inmate’s case 
financial account in the facility. 

c) The one-time uniform  processing fee will be $1025.00 after the inmate’s is booked into 
custody.first appearance or after their initial classification process 

d) If the inmate’s cash financial account in the facility does not contain sufficient funds to 
cover subsistence costs, the Director may place a civil restitution lien against the 
inmate’s other personal property. A civil restitution lien may continue for a period of 
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three years and applies to the cash amountfinancial account of any inmate who is re-
incarcerated within the county in which the civil restitution lien originated. 

e) When the court orders a lien against an inmate’s funds; e.g., for child support, restitution, or 
court fees, such orders will take precedence over the collection of the daily subsistence fee. 

f) If any inmate wishes to present reasons in opposition to the assessment, a formal written 
appeal is available through the inmate grievance process as outlined in the inmate 
handbook. 

g) Any inmate with uncollected funds owed to Miami-Dade County Corrections and 
Rehabilitation Department, upon their release, shall pay said funds before any funds are 
released to them. 

h) Inmates who are held in jail as unsentenced and are acquitted or discharged on all charges 
shall be reimbursed for the daily charge of subsistence which they paid but not for the one-
time uniform processing fee. The inmate must provide a certified copy of the final court 
disposition from the Clerk of Courts prior to the reimbursement of such funds. The inmate 
may submit the request for payment at the facility property room upon release. After 
administrative review and processing, the check will be mailed to the last known address no 
later than 90 days after receipt of final court disposition 

 
This Implementing Order is hereby submitted to the Board of County Commissioners of Miami-
Dade County, Florida. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Approved by the County Attorney as 
to form and legal sufficiency _____ 
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