
Laying the 
Foundation for 

Contracting 
Success

Hours of operation
Monday through Friday

7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Excluding legal holidays

Visit us online
Learn the latest about the building codes 

and product approvals at  
www.miamidade.gov/building

ContraCtor 
enforCement
Being licensed indicates that contractors have 
demonstrated the appropriate minimum knowledge level 
in that area. The public is safer when licensed contractors 
are used and unfair business practices are eliminated 
when there is compliance to licensing requirements.

However, there are consequences if a person 
decides to remain unlicensed. The Miami-Dade 
County Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department Contractor Enforcement Section 
regulates licensed and unlicensed contractors. This 
unit conducts proactive sweeps of construction sites, 
commercial vehicle checkpoints, as well as sting 
operations with local police departments. The aim of 
these activities is to decrease the number of unlicensed 
contractors operating in Miami-Dade County. If 
found guilty of violating Miami-Dade County 
Chapter 10 or Florida Statute 489 (contracting 
without a license), a person could be charged with a 
misdemeanor or a felony depending on the severity 
of the charge, as well as face civil citations of up to 
$5,000 or discipline from the appropriate Board.
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Miami-Dade County provides equal access and equal opportunity in  
employment and services and does not discriminate on the basis of disability.

“It is the policy of Miami-Dade County to comply with all of 
the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act.”

VISIT US ONLINE
To view Miami-Dade County Chapter 
10 governing local contractor 
licensing, click on the Miami-Dade 
County Building and Neighborhood 
Compliance Department’s website at  
www.miamidade.gov/building then 
selecting the Contractor tab.

additional construction-related 
guidelines can be found at:

A public information service of
miami-Dade Building & neighborhood  

Compliance Department
Permitting & Inspection Center

11805 S.W. 26th Street (Coral Way)
Miami, Florida 33175-2474 • (786) 315-2000

Monday-Friday 7:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Excluding legal holidays



master  
(Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing categories)

■ Requirements include that the applicant has held a CTQB-
issued Certificate of Competency as a journeyman for two 
years and have at least two years prior field experience or 
at least six years of specialized training or registration as a 
professional engineer in the discipline concerned. 

■ The applicant must submit an application to include proof 
of experience through letters from employers stating the dates of 
employment and description of work performed and submittal of 
W-2 tax documents covering the employment period.

■ Requires successful passing of an exam with a passing rate of 
70 percent or above. The exam is open book and the list of books 
is provided to you at the time you request an application. 

■ The license process for the Master license costs $315.

importanCe of liCensure
First and most importantly, it is against the law to work 
in the construction trades without a license. Miami-Dade 
County Code Chapter 10 and Florida Statute Chapter 489 
require that construction contractors be licensed. 

Miami-Dade County Code Chapter 10 is the regulatory 
administrative code that governs locally licensed construction 
contractors and tradesmen. The Chapter outlines license scopes, 
testing requirements and conditions for continued licensure. 
Contractors are to be familiar with the requirements of Chapter 
10, which is available online at the Miami-Dade County Building 
and Neighborhood Compliance Department’s website at www.
miamidade.gov/building and selecting the Contractor tab.

The Contractor Licensing Section processes the license 
applications for the four major categories for tradesman and 
contractors. The categories include Electrical, Mechanical, 
Plumbing, Building and Building Specialty licenses. The 
Building and Neighborhood Compliance Department offers 
110 different types of licenses. The department’s advisory 
board, called the Construction Trades Qualifying Board 
(CTQB), has the authority over the types of licenses and 
scopes of licenses that are issued.

role of CtQB
The Construction Trades Qualifying Board (CTQB) screens 
applicants for licensing exams and reviews applications for 
contractor licenses. Members of this Board are authorized to 
review and resolve complaints against contractors and tradesmen. 
They may also take disciplinary action against County license 
holders, including fines and/or suspension of licenses.

The Contractor Licensing Section processes the 
applications for tradesmen and contractors licensing; 
administers exams for certificates of competency and 
eligibility; and forwards for the Board’s consideration. Once 
approved by the Board, licenses are valid for two years 
and license holders must accrue 16 hours of continuing 
education courses during those two years in order to renew. 

Residents are encouraged to verify if a contractor is 
licensed, insured or if there are outstanding complaints 
against the license holder by visiting the Building and 
Neighborhood Compliance Department’s webpage www.
miamidade.gov/building and selecting the Contractor tab. 
Residents can also call the Contractor Licensing Section at 
786-315-2880 or dial 3-1-1 (Miami-Dade County’s 3-1-1 
Answer Center).

General liCensinG ClassifiCations anD reQuirements

tHe exam
Some license categories require passing an examination. 
Exams in each license category are offered once a month 
and formats vary from a three-hour exam to a six-hour 
two part exam. The length of the exam depends on its’ 
complexity and is administered by an approved private 
test provider. Test dates and book lists are provided to 
applicants as part of the preparation process.

non-testeD BuilDinG speCialties 

■ Requirements for this category include from one  
to three years of proven field experience in trade.  
The number of years of experience are dependent on the  
license being applied for. 

■ A submittal of an application to include proof of  
experience through letters from employers stating the  
dates of employment, description of work performed  
or submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the  
employment period.

■ The price for this license process is $315.

Journeyman  
(Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing categories) 

■ Requires three years of proven field experience in trade or 
education equivalent or a combination of the two, but not 
more than one-half consisting of education portion. 

■ Requires submittal of application to include proof of 
experience through letters from employers stating the  
dates of employment and description of work performed  
and submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the  
employment period. 

■ To receive a Journeyman license, the exam must be passed 
with a score of 75 percent or above. Exam is open book and the 
list of books is provided at the time you request an application. 

■ The Journeyman license process costs $240.

front and back view of Building and neighborhood Compliance 
Department license identification card. the card displays the trades 
which the license holder has been approved to perform.

BuilDinG & BuilDinG speCialties

■ Requirements for this category include from one  
to four years of proven field experience in trade.  
The number of years of experience are dependent on the  
license being applied for. 

■ A submittal of an application to include proof of  
experience through letters from employers stating the  
dates of employment, description of work performed  
or submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the  
employment period.

■ Requires successful passing of an examination with  
a grade of 70 percent or above. The exam is open book  
and the list of books is provided to you at the time  
you request an application. 

■ The price for this license process is $315.


