Transportation Trust Oversight and Administration

The Citizens' Independent Transportation Trust (Transportation Trust) is dedicated to its core responsibilities, to provide oversight of the People's Transportation Plan (PTP) funds and develop proactive plans that meet the challenges of improving public transportation in our community.

The Office of the Citizens' Independent Transportation Trust (OCITT) provides staff support to Transportation Trust and its subcommittees, reviews municipal transportation plans, conducts public outreach programs and workshops, and provides financial controls for the allocation and transfer of Surtax revenues to municipalities.

The OCITT works closely with the Transportation Trust, Miami-Dade Transit (MDT), the Public Works and Waste Management Department (PWWM), the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), municipalities, and other organizations related to improving public transportation in Miami-Dade County.

Strategic and Financial Planning

The Transportation Trust and the Board of County Commissioners approved the PTP Five Year Implementation Plan. The Plan is a milestone in documenting the achievements of the PTP and monitoring ongoing progress and performance and is updated annually.

The Transportation Trust continues review and oversight, in conjunction with the Infrastructure Management Group, of the Miami-Dade Transit (MDT) Financial Pro-Forma. Phase I and Phase II of the Revenue Enhancement Study were also completed. These efforts assist in the development of creative and innovative funding and financing strategies to increase future capital and operating fund availability for transit improvements.

Municipal Transportation Program

The Transportation Trust continues to work closely with the 34 participating cities eligible to receive Surtax funds and assists them in meeting the transit and



transportation needs of their communities. Municipal circulators now operate in 26 municipalities and annual ridership exceeds 7 million passenger trips annually.

Municipal Interlocal Agreements have been executed with all municipalities including Miami Gardens, Cutler Bay and Doral, which allows them to participate in the PTP Municipal Transportation Program and receive an equitable share of surtax funds based on population, and makes available to them technical assistance and support from OCITT and other County staff.

Community Outreach

The Transportation Trust is active in its outreach to community organizations by participating in meetings, workshops and forums related to public transportation issues, including outreach activities associated with the construction and successful opening of the Metrorail Orange Line extension project. Throughout the years, the Transportation Trust sought opportunities to inform the community of the progress of the Orange Line project, including creating informational displays, a video charting the progress of the project and print advertisements in Miami Today.

Outreach activities are coordinated with community organizations including the Citizens Transportation Advisory Committee of the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), the Transportation Executive Committee of the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, project advisory committees and other groups. In the November 12, 2012 Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce Sustainable Awards competition, the Trust was named as a finalist for consistently supporting sustainable technology in its funding decisions.

Audit and Financial Management

Major audits reviewed by the Transportation Trust Audit Committee included Miami-Dade Transit, Public Works and Waste Management Department and the City of Miami. However, audits have been conducted of all participating municipalities and the OCITT.





Transportation Trust Members

Paul J. Schwiep, Esq. Chairperson

Hon. Anna E. Ward, Ph.D First Vice Chairperson

Glenn J. Downing, CFP® Second Vice Chairperson

Joe Curbelo Peter L. Forrest Alfred J. Holzman Prakash Kumar Jonathan Martinez Alicia Menardy, Esq. Miles E. Moss, P.E., *Past Chairperson* Hon. James Reeder Marilyn Smith Hon. Linda Zilber, *Past Chairperson*

Charles D. Scurr Executive Director

Bruce Libhaber Assistant County Attorney



Carlos A. Gimenez Mayor Board of County Commissioners Rebeca Sosa Chairwoman Lynda Bell Vice Chair

Barbara J. Jordan District 1 Jean Monestime District 2 Audrey M. Edmonson District 3 Sally A. Heyman District 4 Bruno A. Barreiro District 5 Rebeca Sosa District 6 Xavier L. Suarez District 7 Lynda Bell District 8 Dennis C. Moss District 9 Senator Javier D. Souto District 10 Juan C. Zapata District 11 José "Pepe" Díaz District 12 Esteban Bovo, Jr. District 13

Harvey Ruvin Clerk of Courts Carlos Lopez-Cantera Property Appraiser Robert A. Cuevas, Jr. County Attorney



Past Transportation Trust Members

Hon. Mike Abrams, Past Chairperson Yolanda Aguilar Enrique Bello Harold Braynon, Jr. Marc Buoniconti, Past Chairperson LtCol Antonio Colmenares (Ret.) David Concepcion Hon. John Cosgrove (Dec.), Past Chairperson Hon. Jorge Cueto Clarence Days, Jr. Angelberto de Coro Henry Lee Givens Frank Hall Franklin Kellv Thamara Labrousse Chief Hermenio Lorenzo (Ret.) Hon. Luis Morse Maureen O'Donnell, Esq. Hon. Jorge Rodriguez-Chomat William Sancho **Rodney Sanders** Susannah Troner Rev. Theodore Wilde Christopher E. Benjamin, Esq.



Transportation Trust Staff

Charles D. Scurr Executive Director

Marlene Amaro Accountant

Ann Carmouze Senior Executive Secretary

> Kelly Cooper Strategic Planner

Patrice Koonce Rosemond Community Outreach Coordinator

> Nya Lake Board Secretary

Joanna Santiago Contracts Coordinator

> Nestor Toledo Municipal Liaison