Skip Navigation
Last Visited »

Hurricane Irma

As we continue our recovery and cleanup efforts, please visit the Emergency website for the latest information on openings and closings in Miami-Dade County.

Miami-Dade County Legislative Delegation

Working Together for South Florida

The Miami-Dade County Legislative Delegation was created when the state elected officials recognized the importance of their numbers and believed that as a united Delegation, speaking with a single voice, they could exercise political influence and visibility far beyond their numbers. The Delegation as a whole, form a pivotal voting bloc, whose numbers and cohesion allows them to dramatically influence the creation, direction and enforcement of public policy.

Today, there are 24 members, 6 State Senators and 18 State Representatives, representing the largest and most populated county in the State of Florida. Delegation members have been called upon to work as advocates for varied constituent interests-developing an ever expanding legislative agenda, as well as addressing the concerns of their own particular districts.

About the Delegation

The Executive Director of the Miami-Dade County Legislative Delegation coordinates legislative issues with the Delegation members and their staff both in Tallahassee and Miami-Dade County, the Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, as well as the Legislature's Committee staff in Tallahassee.

The Delegation's office primary function is to assist the Legislative Delegation in its daily activities. Those activities range form representing the Delegation members at various community meetings, writing press releases for all legislative achievements/awards of the members, assists citizens in communicating with the members, organizing public hearings and acting as a liaison between the Intergovernmental Affairs Office and the Delegation as needed.

Each year, the Delegation office organizes public hearings which affords the general public, governmental entities and community groups the opportunity to express/request assistance with various projects/issues. The hearings are held in various locations around the County with one normally scheduled for the Commission Chambers. The Delegation formulates its list of legislative priorities from the information obtained at those public hearings. From that list and what the County submits, the Delegation will vote during the first week of the Legislative Session on their list of Critical/Priority Issues.

Senator Joseph S. Geller currently serves as the Chair of the Delegation and Representation Annette Taddeo serves as the Vice-Chair. Each Chair and Vice Chair serves a one-year term.

Back to Top Page Last Edited: Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:50:31 PM

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.