News Release Header
For Immediate Release:
June 15, 2016
Media Contact:
Roslyn Alic-Batson

American Society for Public Administration South Florida Chapter honors public servants

MIAMI-DADE – Miami-Dade County Commissioner Jean Monestime extends his congratulations to all those being honored at this year's American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) South Florida Chapter Annual Awards Reception, which will take place on Thursday, June 23 from 6 to 9 p.m. at Jungle Island, 1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132.

The chapter will recognize the achievements and engagement of eight honorees:

PortMiami Director Juan Kuryla (Public Administrator of the Year); Clerk of the Courts Harvey Ruvin, Miami-Dade County (Elected Official of the Year); Florida International University Professor and Chair Howard A. Frank (Public Administration Educator of the Year), Miami-Dade County Juvenile Services Department Director Morris Copeland (Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award), the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation (Non-profit Organization of the Year), the Miami Workers Center (Community Advocacy Award), Sheryl St. Pierre (Chapter Member of the Year), and Maria Rendon (Student Member of the Year).

Tickets are $30 for ASPA members and $50 for non-members and can be purchased online at  RSVP by email at or call Roslyn Alic-Batson at (305) 375-5658.

ASPA, with chapters throughout the United States and internationally, is the flagship professional organization for those in government, academics in the field of public administration, the non-profit sector, and private firms engaged to assist in the delivery of public services.  The ASPA South Florida Chapter has more than 245 members and provides opportunities for interaction between practitioners, academics and students in the field of public and non-profit administration.