## **SALLY A. HEYMAN**

Commissioner Sally A. Heyman was first elected to the District 4 seat of the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners in September 2002, after serving in the Florida House of Representatives for four consecutive terms. Prior to being elected to the Florida Legislature in 1994, Commissioner Heyman served as an elected council member for the City of North Miami Beach for seven years, and worked for the City of Miami and North Miami Beach Police Departments.

Commissioner Heyman has an educational and professional background in criminal justice and law enforcement that includes a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Florida, a Master of Science degree from Nova University and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Miami. In addition to being a member of the Florida Bar, she holds state and national certification in crime prevention.

She is a Crime and Loss Prevention Specialist and Attorney, and has her own consulting firm specializing in premises liability and criminal victimization.



Sally grew up in South Florida and attended Dade County Public Schools. All her life and prior to elected office Sally has been and remains active in charitable, women's issues, political and community organizations and activities.

Serving in her third elected role, Commissioner Heyman displays untiring energy in supporting human rights issues legislation, especially in the areas of funding social services; the protection and care of women, children and vulnerable adults; protecting personal freedoms; affordable healthcare; animal protection and green-sustainability initiatives.

The Commissioner is currently a Florida Association of Counties (FAC) Board Member; FAC Legislative Executive Member; FAC Chair- Policy Committee Public Safety; FAC FEMA Chair- Issues Workgroup; National Association of Counties (NACo) Chair- Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee; NACo Large Urban Counties Caucus; National Homeland Security Consortium member; Department of Justice Global Justice Information Sharing Initiative Advisory Committee; Miami Dade County Public Safety Coordinating Council; Dade Miami Criminal Justice Council; and Greater Miami Visitor and Convention Council- Liaison.

## Miami-Dade County Commissioner Sally Heyman, District 4

Stephen P. Clark Center 111 N.W. First Street, Suite 220 Miami, FL 33128 305-375-5128 305-372-6179 (fax) district4@miamidade.gov District Office 1100 N.E. 163 Street, Suite 303 North Miami Beach, FL 33162 305-787-5999 305-787-5998 (fax) district4@miamidade.gov

## Commissioner Heyman's staff:

Chief of Staff, Bonnie Michaels; Deputy Chief of Staff, Mary Juncadella-Ferreiro; Margaret Amador Robinson; Heather Needelman; Danielle Mejia: District Office: Norma Jay; Alexis Moseley; Stephania Torres