For Immediate Release:
October 13, 2011

Media Contact:
Olga Vega

Statement from Commissioner Jose “Pepe” Diaz on free trade agreements with Colombia, Panama, and South Korea

(Miami-Dade County, FL) -- 
On Wednesday, October 12, 2011, the U.S. Congress voted to approve free trade agreements with Colombia, Panama, and South Korea. The agreements would eliminate tariffs on all products the three countries trade with the United States.

Commissioner Jose "Pepe" Diaz, who is a member of the Federal Intergovernmental Policy Advisory Committee on Trade, under the Office of the United States Trade Representative, was pleased to learn of the agreements' passage.

"For the last eight years, I have been a strong advocate for free trade agreements because of the positive economic impact they will have on the United States, especially Miami-Dade County.  Trade that our small businesses have with these countries already contributes billions of dollars to our local economy. Lowering the restrictions will only generate more revenue and create more jobs for our country," said Commissioner Diaz.


# # #


Stephen P. Clark Center
111 NW 1st Street, Suite 320 Miami, Florida 33128
(305) 375-4343