News Release Header
For Immediate Release:
May 10, 2017
Media Contact:
Christopher Ferreira
[email protected]

Chairman Esteban Bovo Jr. applauds state bill that provides MDX toll relief and more funding for transit

MIAMI-DADE – Miami-Dade County Commission Chairman Esteban Bovo Jr. is applauding passage of a state bill that will result in toll relief for SunPass users.

House Bill 1049, sponsored by Rep. Bryan Avila, calls for the Miami-Dade Expressway Authority (MDT) to reduce tolls for SunPass users by at least 5 percent on all five MDX roadways and imposes new restrictions on potential toll future rate hikes while providing further accountability and transparency. The bill, which was approved on May 5, also requires MDX to dedicate at least 20 percent of certain surplus revenues to transportation and transit-related projects around MDX roadways, and for the Miami-Dade County Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) to annually list projects within the county to be funded by MDX dedicated surplus revenues.

MDX operates the Dolphin Expressway, Airport Expressway, Don Shula Expressway, Snapper Creek Expressway and Gratigny Parkway.

In addition to Rep. Avila, state Reps. Jeanette Nunez, and Sens. Anitere Flores and Rene Garcia were also instrumental in the bill’s passage.

“I would like to thank our state legislative leaders for their tireless efforts on this legislation that will provide much needed toll relief and further development of transit options for the residents of Miami-Dade County,” Chairman Esteban Bovo stated.