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OFFICE OF ELEVATOR SAFETY 
FEE SCHEDULE 

Applicable to all owners, Public and Private 

 

CERTIFICATE FEES (Required for all equipment, private and public owned) 

These fees are applicable to all owners, public and private, for all equipment, as established by Florida 

Administrative Code 61C-5. These fees are effective as of March 8, 2008.  

LANDINGS/TYPE 
WITH 

MAINTENANCE 
CONTRACT 

WITHOUT 
MAINTENANCE 

CONTRACT 
Elevators Serving 0 - 2 Landings  $75.00 $75.00 
Elevators Serving 3 - 5 Landings  $75.00 $75.00 
Elevators Serving 6 - 10 Landings  $75.00 $75.00 
Elevators Serving 11 - 15 Landings  $75.00 $75.00 
Elevators Serving over 15 Landings  $75.00 $75.00 
Special purpose Elevators, Manlifts, Moving Walks  $75.00 $75.00 

 
CERTIFICATE FEES EFFECTIVE MARCH 8, 2008 
 

The Florida Administrative Code 61C-5 has adopted  fees for the Certificate of Operation for elevators, 

escalators, moving walks and all other regulated equipment.  The rate was made effective March 8, 2008, 

establishing a flat rate of $75.00 per unit for each Certificate year, irrespective of equipment maintenance 

contract, and irrespective of the type of equipment or the number of landings.
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TO OBTAIN A PERMIT TO INSTALL OR RELOCATE AN ELEVATOR, 

ESCALATOR, MOVING WALK OR OTHER RELATED EQUIPMENT  
(Required for all equipment, private and public owned) 

Submit application for each unit. Use County form OES – 7015, and include all requested information i.e.  

folio number, owner information, billing information. Include affidavit of compliance (County form OES – 

7023). 

Submit one complete set of approved architectural plans. 

Submit elevator layout(s) in duplicate, for each unit, or groups of units, with approved or approved as noted 

signature/stamp from architect, or engineer of record, or project manager, or owner. 

Fees shown below are promulgated and/or permitted under Chapter 399 of the Florida Statutes. 

Submit fees as shown below, *renewals are only for unexpired permits.  

ITEM SERVICE 
TYPE 

SERVICE 
DESCRIPTION 

EQUIPMENT 
TYPE 

PERMIT 
FEE 

RENEWAL 
FEE * 

1  P1 Construction – 
Relocation Permit 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES $250.00 $150.00 

2  PR1 Plans review fee ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES 

Subject to 
plans review 
fee schedule 

n/a 

3  E1 
Expedite fee (if applied 
for) 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES 

$450.00** $450.00** 

4 CO 
First year Certificate of 
Operation fee 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES 

From 
Certificate of 
Operation fee 

schedule 

n/a 

 
Notice 

** Effective July 1, 2014 we no longer allow the expedite process for new 

construction permits. You should plan ahead. 
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VARIANCES FROM CODE TO INSTALL OR MODERNIZE EQUIPMENT and 

PLAN OF CORRECTIVE ACTION VARIANCES 

 

Variance fee revision effective March 1, 2009 
 

Recognizing that from time to time, situations may warrant the consideration of a variance from code 

requirements, the State of Florida has authorized a process for issuing variances from code. Since much of 

the process for the consideration of a variance from code requires a certain amount of research, the County 

must be compensated for such activity. The fees established have been re-evaluated, and the modified 

schedule is established below, effective March 1, 2009. Fees must be paid in advance at the time of 

variance application. Fees which are collected are not refundable, whether the variance is approved or not.  

 

 

Variance fees: 

 

Base application and research -  $150.00 per unit 

 

Wheelchair lift -   $200.00 per unit 

 

LULA -    $200.00 per each requirement of code requiring a variance, per 

unit, up to a maximum of $4500.00 per project  

 

Existing equipment (modernization) - $200.00 per each requirement of code requiring a variance, per 

unit, up to a maximum of $4500.00 per project  

 

Temporary Variance (existing equipment) - $200.00 per each requirement of code requiring a variance, 

per unit, up to a maximum of $4500.00 per project . This is designed for projects that have been ordered to 

comply with A17.3, but due to special circumstances the owner may be unable to immediately comply. 

 

New equipment -   $200.00 per each requirement of code requiring a variance, per 

unit, up to a maximum of $4500.00 per project  

 

Special Variances -    The Variance committee is comprised of four professional 

staff members, at a committee hourly rate of $600 per hour.   
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TO OBTAIN A PERMIT FOR REPAIR OR ALTERATION (Required for all equipment, 

private and public owned) 

Submit application for each unit on County form OES – 7024.  Include all requested information, folio 

number, owner information, billing information. Include affidavit of compliance (County form OES – 

7023) for alterations. Describe work in the space provided. Attach additional sheets as needed for a 

complete description of work. 

NOTE: For Alteration/Modernization where substantial building work is a part of an overall modernization 

or alteration of elevator plant, submit one set of architectural plans as follows: Include (1) plan view of 

ground floor, top floor, intermediate floor; (2) elevation view through section of elevator hoistway, to show 

scope of alteration/modernization work; and (3) all access routes to elevator machine room (as applicable). 

Mechanical, electrical, or structural plans are not necessary, unless details affecting the elevator plant are 

shown only on those plans.  

For alteration/modernization submit elevator layout in duplicate, for each unit, or groups of units, with 

approved or approved as noted signature/stamp from architect or engineer of record, project manager or 

owner. 

Emergency Repair Permits:  

Emergency permits can be applied for in emergency situations, in the following manner.  

1. During normal working hours, call our office at (305) 375-1577. After hours, notify the inspector on 

duty via our 24 hour emergency contact number at (305) 375-1555, or call our office and leave a voice 

mail at our main office (305) 375-1577, explaining the nature of the emergency.  

2. Submit a permit application and letter or note explaining the details of the emergency, via facsimile to 

(305) 372-6367. (Please note that a request for emergency repair permit will not generally be 

considered unless the unit is in a hospital, or service elevator in a nursing home, or a single unit 

serving any building.)  

3. Proceed with the work.  

4. At the beginning of the very next available work day, personally deliver the application or via express 

delivery, with the fees for the repair and the expedited process. Fees may be paid by credit card by 

Discover, Visa or Master Card. 

5. After the work is completed, call for an inspection as required by law, and upon a successful 

inspection, the unit can be restored to operation. The County reserves the right to perform a monitoring 

inspection on all emergency repair permitted work. 

Submit fees shown below are promulgated and/or permitted under Chapter 399 of the Florida Statutes. 

*expedite fee for repair/modernization was increased to $250, effective January 1, 2016: 

ITEM SERVICE 
TYPE 

SERVICE 
DESCRIPTION 

EQUIPMENT 
TYPE 

PERMIT 
FEE 

RENEWAL 
FEE 

1  A1 Alteration/Modernization 
Permit 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES $200.00 $100.00 

2  PR2 
Plans review fee, 
applicable to 
alteration/modernization 
only 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES 

Subject to 
plans review 
fee schedule 

n/a 

3 R1 Repair permit 
ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES  

$200.00 $100.00 

4 E1 
Expedite fee (if applied 
for) Required for 
emergency repairs. 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES 

$250.00* n/a 
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PLANS REVIEW FEE SCHEDULE 

New Installation, Relocation and Alteration Permits (Required for all equipment, private and 

public owned) (Note: no plans review is needed for repairs). This is an increase in fees effective 

January 1, 2016 

ITEM SERVICE 
TYPE SERVICE DESCRIPTION EQUIPMENT 

TYPE 
SERVICE 

FEE 
EACH 

ADDITIONAL 
1  PR1 PLANS REVIEW (New) ELECTRIC $285.00 $285.00 
2  PR1 PLANS REVIEW (New) HYDRAULIC $285.00 $285.00 
3  PR1 PLANS REVIEW (New) ESCALATOR $285.00 $285.00 
4  PR1 PLANS REVIEW (New) MOVING WALK $285.00 $285.00 
      

5  PR2 PLANS REVIEW (Alteration) ELECTRIC $190.00 $190.00 

6  PR2 PLANS REVIEW (Alteration) HYDRAULIC $190.00 $190.00 

7  PR2 PLANS REVIEW (Alteration) ESCALATOR $190.00 $190.00 

8  PR2 PLANS REVIEW (Alteration) MOVING WALK $190.00 $190.00 

      

9  PR3 PLANS REVIEW (New) WHEELCHAIR LIFT $95.00 $95.00 

10  PR3 PLANS REVIEW (Alter)  WHEELCHAIR LIFT $95.00 $95.00 

 

 

TO OBTAIN A TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE of OPERATION* (Required for all 

equipment, private and public owned) For Construction Use Only 

An elevator contractor who holds a valid permit to install or relocate an elevator, or a valid permit for 

repair, alteration or modernization of an elevator, may apply for a permit for the temporary operation of 

equipment, called a Temporary Certificate of Operation*, should the use of an elevator be required during 

the progress of construction (or work) for the movement of construction personnel and materials. This is 

available for construction use only. In accordance with fees and requirements established by Florida 

Administrative code 61C-5, an application shall be made to the County Office of Elevator Safety, and a fee 

paid, for each certificate. The certificate is valid for 30 days, after which it must be renewed. The renewal 

fee is the same amount as the original fee. The equipment must meet all applicable requirements and, in 

accordance with State law, must be inspected by a Florida Certified Elevator Inspector prior to placement 

into service, and every 30 days, prior to each renewal of the certificate. 

The Temporary Certificate of Operation* will only be issued to the licensed elevator contractor who is the 

permit holder, or their authorized designee. The owner or the developer or the general contractor may make 

the application if authorized by the permit holder. 

For Construction Use Only 

ITEM SERVICE 
TYPE 

SERVICE 
DESCRIPTION 

EQUIPMENT 
TYPE 

PERMIT 
FEE 

1  TOP-1 Temporary Certificate of 
Operation* 

ALL EQUIPMENT 
TYPES 

$100.00 each 
30 days 

* Note: Temporary Certificate of Operation is to be renamed Temporary Operating Permit 
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FEES FOR OTHER SERVICES 

Duplicate documents:  

Applicable to private and public owned facilities. 

ITEM SERVICE 
TYPE SERVICE DESCRIPTION EQUIPMENT 

TYPE 
SERVICE 

FEE 
EACH 

ADDITIONAL 
1  D1 Certificate of Operation ALL $10.00 $10.00 
2  D2 Permit for New or Alter ALL $15.00 $15.00 
3  D1 Permit for Repair ALL $10.00 $10.00 
4  D3 Inspection Report ALL $5.00 $1.00 

Exception: If the certificates or permits have been stolen, the fee will be waived, if the request for duplicate 

is accompanied by an official completed police report.  

Special Services, expedite processing, overtime inspections. 

Applicable to private and public owned facilities. Overtime rates will be assessed on a job per job basis. If a 

special overtime inspection is requested by the owner or the elevator contractor, where the start of work is 

to be after normal hours or on weekends or holidays, there will be a four hour minimum charge, and then 

each hour thereafter. Payment must be made in advance. This is an increase in fees effective October 1, 

2015 for County buildings and January 1, 2016 for private buildings. 

ITEM SERVICE 
TYPE 

SERVICE 
DESCRIPTION 

EQUIPMENT 
TYPE 

SERVICE 
FEE 

EACH 
ADDITIONAL 

COUNTY 
BUILDINGS 

PRIVATE  
BUILDINGS 

1  E1 
Expedited process of 
New Certificate of 
Operation 

ALL $450.00* $450.00* 

$450.00* 

$450.00* 

2 E2 
Expedited process of 
Repair Permit or 
Certificate 

ALL $150.00 $150.00 
$150.00 

$150.00 

3 RT1 Regular time Inspection    
$95.00 per 

hour 
160.00 

4  OT1 Overtime Inspection ALL  N/A $140.00 per 
hour 

$225.00 per 
hour 

5  OT2 
Holiday Overtime 
Inspection ALL  N/A $175.00 per 

hour 
$285.00 per 

hour 

 
*Notice: Expedite fee for New Construction will no longer be accepted,  

after July 1, 2014.  
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FEE SCHEDULE 

Applicable to Private Owners Only 

 

INSPECTION SERVICES (Applicable for private sector inspections) 

Miami-Dade County now does perform inspection services for privately-owned new construction or 

alteration/modernization permits, as selected by the County. The County selected inspections are chosen at 

random and will be so noted on the permit at the time of issuance. Those units which are not selected by the 

County should be inspected by a duly licensed firm providing those services, and conducted by duly 

licensed Certified Elevator Inspectors. 

Repairs which require the issuance of a permit will be inspected in the same manner as above. 

The primary exception to this practice is an emergency repair permit, for which the County reserves the 

right to always require that the unit be inspected by Miami-Dade County Office of Elevator Safety 

inspectors, at the rate of $160.00 per hour during regular working hours. Overtime inspections will be at the 

rate of $225.00 per hour. Contractors will be notified of the County’s preference at the time of permit 

issuance. 

As stated above, the Office of Elevator Safety does not typically provide inspection services to private 

buildings, and encourages use of private licensed inspection firms. Under certain circumstances, however, 

it may be required that inspections of existing equipment be performed by Miami-Dade County inspectors, 

as when an owner refuses to have a legally required inspection performed, or when specially requested by 

the owner (and agreed to by OES), a complaint by the public has been filed and the equipment is not 

compliant with code, or other special circumstances as specified by Florida Statute or Florida 

Administrative Code. Under these circumstances, the rates will be determined by the following schedule. 

* Inspection fees for private projects are now based upon hourly rates of $160.00 per hour for inspections 

performed during regular working hours and $225.00 per hour for after  normal hours and weekends. 

Holiday fees are $285.00 per hour. Payment must be made in advance, 4 hour minimum. 

** Construction and alteration inspections will no longer be based upon flat rates.  Rate increase effective 

January 1, 2016. 

ITEM INSPECTION 
TYPE 

INSPECTION 
DESCRIPTION 

INITIAL 
FEE 

PER HOUR 
FEE  

1ST 
FOLLOW-

UP 

2ND 
FOLLOW-

UP 

3RD & 
GREATER 
FOLLOW-

UPS 

1  PS1 Inspection * $160.00 
Per hour $160.00* $160.00 

Per hour 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

2  PS2 FINAL (see item 4) $160.00 
Per hour $160.00 ** $160.00 

Per hour 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

3  PS3 Callback $160.00 
Per hour $160.00 $160.00 

Per hour 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

4 PS4 Construction 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 ** 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

5 PS6 Alteration / repair 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 ** 
$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

$160.00 
Per hour 

6 PS5 Complaint N/A 
$160.00  
per hour 

N/A N/A N/A 

7 PS9 Accident N/A 
$160.00 
Per hour 

N/A N/A N/A 

8 ALL OVERTIME RATE N/A $225.00 N/A N/A N/A 
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9  PS14 Special Inspection N/A 
$160.00 
Per hour 

N/A N/A N/A 
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FEE SCHEDULE 

Applicable to Private Owners Only 

 

WITNESSING OF CODE REQUIRED TESTS (Applicable for private sector inspections) 

 

Only performed on private sector owned equipment, under the circumstances required by law, or as 

otherwise described in inspection services above. Fees listed are in addition to inspection fees listed above. 

Payment must be made in advance, 4 hour minimum. 

ITEM EQUIPMENT 
TYPE 

ANNUAL 
with Inspection 
(plus insp. Fee) 

ANNUAL 
with NO 

Inspection 

5-YEAR 
with Inspection 
(plus insp. Fee) 

5-YEAR 
with NO 

Inspection 

1  ELECTRIC $160.00 Per hour $160.00 Per 
hour 

$160.00 Per 
hour 

$160.00 Per 
hour 

2  HYDRAULIC $160.00 Per hour $160.00 Per 
hour n/a n/a 

3  ESCALATOR $160.00 Per hour $160.00 Per 
hour n/a n/a 

4  MOVING WALK $160.00 Per hour $160.00 Per 
hour n/a n/a 

 
NOTE: Inspections, and witnessed tests, if performed under overtime conditions, will be at the rates 

shown above for overtime. Inspection fees for private projects are now based upon hourly rates of $160.00 

per hour for inspections performed during regular working hours. The rate for overtime is $225.00 per hour 

for after normal hours and weekends. Holiday fees are $285.00 per hour. Payment must be made in 

advance, 4 hour minimum. Rate increase effective January 1, 2016.
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FEE SCHEDULE 

Applicable to County and other Government Agencies 

 

INSPECTION FEES  Rate increase effective 10/01/2015 

Generally applicable to equipment owned by County (or other Government entity under contract).  

ITEM INSPECTION 
TYPE 

INSPECTION 
DESCRIPTION 

INITIAL 
FEE 

PER HOUR 
FEE 

1ST 
FOLLOW-

UP 

2ND 
FOLLOW-

UP 

3RD & 
GREATER 
FOLLOW-

UPS 

1  S1 Inspection –hydro 
and electric $190.00 $95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 

 S1 
Inspection –
Escalators and 
Moving walks 

$315.00* 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 

2  S2 Final – Initial $95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

3  S3 Callback n/a $95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

4 S4  Construction 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 

5 S5 Complaint n/a $95.00 Per 
hour n/a n/a n/a 

6 S7 Monitoring n/a Not 
Applicable n/a n/a n/a 

7 S8 TOP (Temporary 
Operating Permit) n/a $95.00 Per 

hour n/a n/a n/a 

8 S9 Accident n/a $95.00 Per 
hour n/a n/a n/a 

9 S14 Special Inspection n/a $95.00 Per 
hour n/a n/a n/a 

 * The initial rate for inspection of escalators and moving walks is assuming three and a quarter (3.25) hour 

inspections, it is billed at the rate of $95.00 per hour thereafter. Hourly rates are billed at one (1) hour 

minimum then partial hours thereafter in quarter hour segments, per inspection, per day. 

 

WITNESSING OF CODE REQUIRED TESTS Rate increase effective 10/01/2015 

Generally applicable to equipment owned by County (or other Government entity under contract). No free 

callbacks for witnessing only. Fees are added to inspections above. 

 ITEM 
EQUIPMENT 

TYPE 
ANNUAL 

with Inspection 
ANNUAL 
with NO 

Inspection 
5-YEAR 

with Inspection 
5-YEAR 
with NO 

Inspection 

Callback 
witnessing 

1  ELECTRIC $190.00 $285.00 $200.00 $380.00 $95.00 Per hour 

2  HYDRAULIC $95.00  $190.00  N/A N/A $95.00 Per hour 

3  ESCALATOR $285.00 $380.00 N/A N/A $95.00 Per hour 

4  MOVING WALK $285.00 $380.00 N/A N/A $95.00 Per hour 

 * The initial rate for witnessing of tests on elevators, escalators and moving walks is assuming three hour 

inspections, it is billed at the rate of $95.00 per hour thereafter. Hourly rates are billed at one (1) hour 

minimum then partial hours thereafter in quarter hour segments, per inspection, per day. 
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INSPECTION FEES (New construction and alteration) Rate increase effective 

10/01/2015 

Inspection service fees for inspections required for new construction and alteration/modernization, 

generally applicable to equipment owned by the County (or other Government entities under contract) only. 

The base inspection fee is based upon hourly costs for all new construction.  

ITEM INSPECTION 
TYPE 

INSPECTION 
DESCRIPTION 

EQUIPMENT 
TYPE 

INITIAL 
FEE 

FOLLOW-UP 
INSPECTION  

1  S4 Construction ELECTRIC $95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour  

2  S4 Construction HYDRAULIC $95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour  

3  S4 Construction ESCALATOR $95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour  

4  S4 Construction MOVING WALK $95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour  

5  S4 Construction All OTHER Equipment 
Types 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour  

6  S6 Alteration All OTHER Equipment 
Types 

$95.00 Per 
hour 

$95.00 Per 
hour  

7  S8 
Temporary Operating 
Permit Inspection 

All Equipment Types 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
$95.00 Per 

hour 
 

 
Hourly rates are billed at one (1) hour minimum then partial hours thereafter in quarter hour segments, per 

inspection, per day. 

 

INSPECTION FEES (for Repair Permits) 

Generally applicable to equipment owned by County (or other Government entity under contract).  

ITEM INSPECTION 
TYPE INSPECTION DESCRIPTION INITIAL 

FEE PER HOUR FEE 

1  R1 Repair $95.00 Per hour $95.00 

 
Hourly rates are billed at one (1) hour minimum then partial hours thereafter in quarter hour segments, per 

inspection, per day.
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SCHEDULE OF FINES 
Applicable to all owners, Public and Private 

 

In accordance with the Florida Statutes Chapter 399, Florida Administrative Code 61C-5 and Chapter 30 of the Florida Building Code, the Office of 

Elevator Safety may impose fines of up to $1,000 for certain violations of the Statute and of various codes. The following fine schedule will be followed 

as a guideline, and the Office of Elevator Safety reserves the right to impose such fines after the determination of a violation, by issuance of a civil 

summons or by administrative action.  

 
Item Violation Cite Fine 1

st
 

Offense 
Fine 2

nd
 

Offense 
Fine 3

rd
 or More 

Offenses, Each 
1 Performing work without a permit 399.105 $250.00 

(001) 
$500.00 

(002) 
$1,000.00 

(003) 

2 Operating equipment without a Certificate of Operation 399.07(5) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

3 Operating equipment without a current Certificate of 
Operation  

399.07(1) $50.00 
(004) 

$150.00 
(005) 

$250.00 
(006) 

4 Operating equipment without a current Certificate of 
Operation, older than one (1) year 

399.07(1) $500.00 
(007) 

$750.00 
(008) 

$1,000.00 
(009) 

5 Refusal to allow County inspector access to equipment for 
inspection. 

399.049(1)(d) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

6 Failure to properly maintain equipment, as required by law. 399.02(5)(b) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

7 Failure to correct violations as required by law 399.105 $250.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

8 Operating equipment without a valid inspection, or with 
reported violations 

399.061 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

9 Refusal to obey a lawful order of compliance, issued by OES. 399.105 $250.00 
(007) 

$500.00 
(008) 

$1,000.00 
(009) 

10 Failure to obtain final inspection for permitted work 399.05(5)(a) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

11 Failure to report an accident 399.125 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

12 Late submittal of inspection report 399.049 $100.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

13 Release of equipment for operation by public without a valid 
Certificate of Operation 

399.105 $500.00 
(010) 

$750.00 
(011) 

$1,000.00 
(012) 

14 Failure to maintain operation of equipment as required by 
code* (elevators serving 3 or more floors or 25’ or more) 

399.035 (2) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

15 Falsification of inspection report 399.049 $250.00 
(007) 

$500.00 
(008) 

$1,000.00 
(009) 

16 Falsification of code required tags or labels. 399.049 $250.00 
(010) 

$500.00 
(011) 

$1,000.00 
(012) 

17 Falsification of Permit or Certificate of Operation 399.049 $250.00 
(013) 

$500.00 
(014) 

$1,000.00 
(015) 

18 Disabling or vandalizing a safety device 399.11 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

19 Performing work or inspection without a valid license. 399.11 $250.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

20 Failure to maintain or report a change in maintenance 
contract. 

399.061 
 

$250.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

 * For the purposes of this schedule of fines, “the code” is as defined in Chapter 399 of the Florida Statutes, the Florida Building Code, and in the Florida Administrative 
Code 61C-5, all of which adopt the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) A17.1a – 2004(2005 addendum), the NFPA 70-2005 - National Electric Code, 

ASME A17.2- 2000, and the ASME A17.3- 1996, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). 

 The imposition of a progressive schedule of fines for repetitive offenses is rolled back after one year following the last violation, if there are no additional violations. 

 All fines must have a ten dollar ($10.00) surcharge added pursuant to County Ordinance No. 99-55. 

 Additional repeat violations may be imposed if no action is taken after twenty (20) working days.  

 Appeals to these fines may be subject to additional fees and court costs, as determined by the hearing officer. 

 Fines are due and payable in U.S. Funds, by check only made payable to the Miami-Dade County Clerk of Court, within twenty (20) working days following the 
imposition of the fine by issuance of a ticket or by administrative order of the Miami-Dade County Office of Elevator Safety.  

 


