Home > Human Resources > Observed County Holidays

Observed County Holidays

2020
  • New Year's Day, Wednesday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 20
  • President's Day, Monday, February 17
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 25
  • Independence Day (observed), Friday, July 3
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 7
  • Columbus Day, Monday, October 12
  • Veterans Day, Wednesday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26
  • Friday after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 27
  • Christmas Day, Friday, December 25
General Government

All County offices (including libraries) will be closed on all 11 County holidays.

Transit
Normally-scheduled County bus, Metrorail and Metromover service is provided on all holidays except for New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day, when service operates on a Sunday schedule.

Garbage / Trash Collection and Trash / Recycling (T&R) Centers
Waste is collected on all holidays (as observed by Miami-Dade County) except:

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 21)
  • Independence Day, (observed July 3)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)