MEMORANDUM

Agenda Item No. 5(F)

TO:

Honorable Chairman Bruno A. Barreiro

and Members, Board of County Commissioners

DATE:

April 8, 2008

FROM:

R. A. Cuevas, Jr.

County Attorney

SUBJECT:

Resolution approving

amendment to the PTP; use of Surtax funds for projects other than those related to

the Orange Line

Resolution No. R-320-08

The accompanying resolution was prepared and placed on the agenda at the request of Vice-Chairwoman Barbara J. Jordan, Commissioner Audrey M. Edmonson, Commissioner Sally A. Heyman, Commissioner Dorrin D. Rolle, and Commissioner Katy Sorenson.

R. A. Cuewas, Jr. County Attorney

RAC/up

TO:

Honorable Chairman Bruno A. Barreiro

DATE:

April 8, 2008

and Members, Board of County Commissioners

FROM:

R. A. Cuevas, Jr.

County Attorney

Please note any items checked.

SUBJECT:

Agenda Item No. 5(F)

 "4-Day Rule" ("3-Day Rule" for committees) applicable if raised
 6 weeks required between first reading and public hearing
 4 weeks notification to municipal officials required prior to public hearing
 Decreases revenues or increases expenditures without balancing budget
 Budget required
 Statement of fiscal impact required
 Bid waiver requiring County Manager's written recommendation
 Ordinance creating a new board requires detailed County Manager's report for public hearing
 Housekeeping item (no policy decision required)
No committee review

Approved		<u>Mayor</u>	Agenda Item No. 5(F)
Veto			4-8-08
Override			
	DECOLUTION NO	R-320-08	

RESOLUTION APPROVING AN AMENDMENT TO THE PEOPLE'S TRANSPORTATION PLAN TO ALLOW FOR THE USE OF SURTAX FUNDS FOR PROJECTS OTHER THAN THOSE RELATED TO THE ORANGE LINE ONLY IF EACH FISCAL YEAR AN ANNUAL ALLOCATION IS MADE SPECIFICALLY TO PROJECTS RELATED TO THE ORANGE LINE

WHEREAS, this Board desires to accomplish the purposes outlined in the accompanying Resolution of the Citizens' Independent Transportation Trust, a copy of which is incorporated herein by reference,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, that this Board approves an amendment to the People's Transportation Plan to allow for the use of Surtax funds for projects other than those related to the Orange Line only if each fiscal year an annual allocation is made specifically to projects related to the Orange Line.

The foregoing was sponsored by Vice-Chairwoman Barbara J. Jordan, Commissioner Audrey M. Edmonson, Commissioner Sally A. Heyman, Commissioner Dorrin D. Rolle and Commissioner Katy Sorenson and was offered by Commissioner Katy Sorenson who moved its adoption. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Barbara J. Jordan and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Agenda Item No. 5(F) Page No. 2

Bruno A. Barreiro, Chairman **aye** Barbara J. Jordan, Vice-Chairwoman **aye**

Jose "Pepe" Diaz	aye	Audrey M. Edmonson	aye
Carlos A. Gimenez	absent	Sally A. Heyman	aye
Joe A. Martinez	nay	Dennis C. Moss	aye
Dorrin D. Rolle	absent	Natacha Seijas	aye
Katy Sorenson	aye	Rebeca Sosa	absent
Sen. Javier D. Souto	nav		

The Chairperson thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 8th day of April, 2008. This resolution shall become effective ten (10) days after the date of its adoption unless vetoed by the Mayor, and if vetoed, shall become effective only upon an override by this Board.



MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA BY ITS BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

HARVEY RUVIN, CLERK

Kay Sullivan

Deputy Clerk

Approved by County Attorney as to form and legal sufficiency.



Bruce Libhaber

RESOLUTION NO. 08-012

RESOLUTION BY THE CITIZENS' INDEPENDENT TRANSPORTATION TRUST (CITT) REQUESTING THAT THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS (BCC) AMEND THE PEOPLE'S TRANSPORTATION PLAN TO ALLOW FOR THE USE OF SURTAX FUNDS FOR PROJECTS OTHER THAN THOSE RELATED TO THE ORANGE LINE ONLY IF EACH FISCAL YEAR AN ANNUAL ALLOCATION IS MADE SPECIFICALLY TO PROJECTS RELATED TO THE ORANGE LINE (CITT)

WHEREAS, on November 5, 2002, the electors of Miami-Dade County voted to levy a ½ percent sales surtax to benefit transit and transportation projects throughout the County; and

WHEREAS, the ballot language, as approved by the voters, stated surtax proceeds "will be overseen by the Citizens' Independent Transportation Trust"; and

WHEREAS, on July 9, 2002, the BCC adopted Ordinance No. 02-117 which charged the CITT with the responsibility to monitor, oversee, review, audit, and investigate implementation of all transit and transportation projects funded in whole or in part with surtax proceeds; and

WHEREAS, the original Exhibit One to Ordinance 02-117 identified that the North Corridor was to receive top priority; and

WHEREAS, the East-West Corridor is included in the original Exhibit One and will serve as a major alternative to congestion along State Road 836 and/or S.W. 8th Street; and

WHEREAS, the MIC-Earlington Heights Connector will bring much needed Metrorail access to Miami International Airport; and

WHEREAS, annually requiring the priority allocation of a determined amount to be applied to the MIC-Earlington Heights, North Corridor, and East-West Corridor projects (collectively referred to as the "Orange Line") is the best means to ensure the financial viability of the entire Orange Line; and

WHEREAS, it is the intention and desire of the Trust that effective October 1, 2008 transit services and maintenance and operations should be funded after ensuring adequate funds

have been allocated for the Orange Line and other senior obligations,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITT, that this Trust

recommends that the PTP be amended to provide that effective October 1, 2008 projects to the

Orange Line must receive a required annual allocation as a necessary condition for any other

surtax funds being allocated to any other projects. The amount of the annual allocation for the

Orange Line will be established via recommendation by the CITT and adoption by the Board of

County Commissioners.

The foregoing resolution was offered by Hon. James A. Reeder, who moved its adoption.

The motion was seconded by Jorge E. Cueto, Esq. and upon being put to vote, the vote was as

follows:

Miles E. Moss, P.E., Chairperson – Aye

Hon. Linda Zilber, Vice-Chairperson – Absent

Harold Braynon, Jr. – Absent

LtCol Antonio Colmenares - Aye

Peter L. Forrest – Aye

Hon. Jorge Rodriguez-Chomat – Absent

Paul J. Schwiep, Esq. - Absent

Hon. Anna E. Ward, Ph.D. - Absent

Marc A. Buoniconti – Aye

Jorge E. Cueto, Esq. - Aye

Hon. James A. Reeder – Aye

Rodney Sanders - Aye

Marilyn Smith – Absent

The Chairman thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 30th day of January 2008.

Approved by the County Attorney to form and legal sufficiency