

MEMORANDUM

Agenda Item No. 11(A)(2)

TO:

Honorable Chairman Bruno A. Barreiro

and Members, Board of County Commissioners

DATE:

September 16, 2008

FROM:

R. A. Cuevas, Jr.

County Attorney

SUBJECT:

Resolution approving allocation of District 4 County Services Reserve Funds of \$500 each to

Funds of \$500 each to 22 schools within District 4

Resolution No. R-970-08

The accompanying resolution was prepared and placed on the agenda at the request of Prime Sponsor Commissioner Sally A. Heyman.

R. A. Cuevas, Jr. County Attorney

RAC/bw

TO:

Honorable Chairman Bruno A. Barreiro

DATE:

September 16, 2008

and Members, Board of County Commissioners

FROM:

R. A. Cuevas, Jr. County Attorney

SUBJECT:

Agenda Item No. 11(A)(2)

| Please | note | any | items | checked. |
|--------|------|-----|-------|----------|
| | | | | |
| | | | | |

"4-Day Rule" ("3-Day Rule" for committees) applicable if raised
6 weeks required between first reading and public hearing
4 weeks notification to municipal officials required prior to public hearing

Decreases revenues or increases expenditures without balancing budget

Budget required

Statement of fiscal impact required

Bid waiver requiring County Manager's written recommendation

Ordinance creating a new board requires detailed County Manager's report for public hearing

Housekeeping item (no policy decision required)

No committee review

| Approved | Mayor | Agenda Item No. 11(A)(2) |
|----------|-------|--------------------------|
| Veto | | 9-16-08 |
| Override | | |

| RESOLUTION NO. | R-970-08 | |
|----------------|----------|--|
| | | |

RESOLUTION APPROVING THE ALLOCATION OF FY 2007-2008 DISTRICT 4 COUNTY SERVICES RESERVE FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$500 EACH TO 22 SCHOOLS LOCATED WITHIN THE BOUNDARIES OF DISTRICT 4

WHEREAS, this Board desires to allocate \$500 each to the following 22 schools located within the boundaries of District 4 from FY 2007-2008 District 4 County Services Reserve Funds as follows:

- 1. Aventura Charter (ACES)
- 2. David Lawrence Jr. K-8 Center
- 3. Gertrude Edleman-Sabal Palm Elementary
- 4. Greynolds Park Elementary
- 5. North Beach Elementary
- 6. OJUS Elementary
- 7. Ruth K. Broad Bay Harbor Elementary
- 8. Treasure Island Elementary
- 9. Virginia A. Boone Highland Oaks Elementary
- 10. Highland Oaks Middle School
- 11. John F. Kennedy Middle
- 12. Nautilus Middle
- 13. Dr. Michael M. Krop
- 14. Miami Beach Senior
- 15. North Miami Beach Senior
- 16. Hillel Community Day School
- 17. Hochberg Family Solomon Shecter Day School
- 18. Lehrman Day School
- 19. Rabbi Gross Hebrew Academy
- 20. St. Lawrence School
- 21. Tauber Academy
- 22. Sinai Jacobson Academy

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, that this Board approves the

3

allocation of \$500 each to the following 22 schools from the FY 2007-2008 District 4 County Services Reserve Funds as follows:

- 1. Aventura Charter (ACES)
- 2 David Lawrence Jr. K-8 Center
- 3 Gertrude Edleman-Sabal Palm Elementary
- 4 Greynolds Park Elementary
- 5 North Beach Elementary
- 6 OJUS Elementary
- 7 Ruth K. Broad Bay Harbor Elementary
- 8 Treasure Island Elementary
- 9 Virginia A. Boone Highland Oaks Elementary
- 10 Highland Oaks Middle School
- 11 John F. Kennedy Middle
- 12 Nautilus Middle
- 13 Dr. Michael M. Krop
- 14 Miami Beach Senior
- 15 North Miami Beach Senior
- 16 Hillel Community Day School
- 17 Hochberg Family Solomon Shecter Day School
- 18 Lehrman Day School
- 19 Rabbi Gross Hebrew Academy
- 20 St. Lawrence School
- 21 Tauber Academy
- 22 Sinai Jacobson Academy

The Prime Sponsor of the foregoing resolution is Commissioner Sally A. Heyman. It was offered by Commissioner Rebeca Sosa , who moved its adoption.

The motion was seconded by Commissioner Katy Sorenson and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:



Resolution No. R-970-08

Agenda Item No. 11(A)(2) Page No. 3

Bruno A. Barreiro, Chairman **aye** Barbara J. Jordan, Vice-Chairwoman **aye**

| Jose "Pepe" Diaz | aye | Audrey M. Edmonson | aye |
|----------------------|--------|--------------------|--------|
| Carlos A. Gimenez | aye | Sally A. Heyman | ave |
| Joe A. Martinez | absent | Dennis C. Moss | absent |
| Dorrin D. Rolle | aye | Natacha Seijas | aye |
| Katy Sorenson | aye | Rebeca Sosa | ave |
| Sen. Javier D. Souto | aye | | - |

The Chairperson thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and adopted this 16th day of September, 2008. This resolution shall become effective ten (10) days after the date of its adoption unless vetoed by the Mayor, and if vetoed, shall become effective only upon an override by this Board.

MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA BY ITS BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS



HARVEY RUVIN, CLERK

Kay Sullivan
Deputy Clerk

Approved by County Attorney as to form and legal sufficiency.



Gerald K. Sanchez