Skip Navigation
Last Visited »

Hurricane Matthew

At this time, Miami-Dade County is monitoring Hurricane Matthew.

Please visit our Emergency website for the latest information on openings and closings in Miami-Dade County.

Observed County Holidays


  • New Year's Day, Friday, January 1, 2016
  • Martin Luther King's Birthday, Monday, January 18, 2016
  • President's Day, Monday, February 15, 2016
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 30, 2016
  • Independence Day, Monday, July 4, 2016
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 5, 2016
  • Columbus Day, Monday, October 10, 2016
  • Veterans Day, Friday, November 11, 2016
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 24, 2016
  • Friday after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 25, 2016
  • Christmas Day, Monday, December 26, 2016

General Government

All County offices (including libraries) will be closed on all 11 County holidays.


Normally-scheduled County bus, Metrorail and Metromover service is provided on all holidays except for New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day, when service operates on a Sunday schedule.

Garbage / Trash Collection and Trash / Recycling (T&R) Centers

Waste is collected on all holidays (as observed by Miami-Dade County) except:

  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Christmas Day (December 26)
Page Last Edited: Wed Jan 6, 2016 9:27:14 AM

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.