As we continue our recovery and cleanup efforts, please visit the Emergency website for the latest information on openings and closings in Miami-Dade County.
Public Housing And Community Development is going smoke-free
A new rule from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) requires all public housing nationwide to become smoke-free housing by July 30, 2018.
Why go smoke-free?
Secondhand smoke contributes to disease and early death. Eliminating smoking indoors is the only way to fully protect people from secondhand smoke. Children exposed to secondhand smoke are more likely to get sick and infants breathing secondhand smoke has been linked to Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). Read over the HUD Smoke-Free Fact Sheet for more information.
What is in the rule?
The rule applies to every household member, all visitors, and all PHCD employees. The rule prohibits use of all lit tobacco products such as cigarettes, cigarettes, cigars, pipes, or water pipes (hookahs) inside all indoor areas of public housing, including but not limited to living units, indoor common areas such as laundry rooms, community centers, electrical closets, storage units, and PHA administrative office buildings, and in all outdoor areas within 25 feet of the housing and administrative office buildings. Important note: PHCD is including Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems (ENDS) or electronic cigarettes (vapes) on this list of prohibited tobacco products since HUD has given PHAs the flexibility to do this.
Who does the rule affect?
Admission to public housing cannot be denied to applicants solely because they smoke, but any resident, guest, employee, or vendor will no longer be allowed to smoke in or within 25 feet of public housing buildings.
If I smoke, will I lose my housing?
The rule does not prevent people who smoke from living in public housing. It simply limits where people can smoke. The rule will make the living environment safer for everyone.
Anyone who smokes on the property will be subject to receiving oral and written warnings or face legal action if repeated violations occur. Fines may also be imposed. All residents will be responsible for making sure their families, guests, and visitors do not smoke when they are in your unit or on the property.
If you want to quit smoking, help is available
PHCD does not require smokers to quit smoking. But if you or family members would like to stop smoking there are resources that can help and PHCD has partnered with the local groups to provide information and smoking cessation classes.
- Going Smoke-Free Tool Kit for Residents have been provided by the Florida Department of Health, the Office of Community Health and Planning, and the Tobacco Prevention Program
- Contact the Miami-Dade County Florida Department of Health’s Tobacco Prevention Program at 305-278-0442 or visit http://tobaccoflorida.com/county/miamidade
- Contact the Area Health Education Center for free counseling and tobacco replacement therapy by calling 1-877-848-6696 or visit www.ahectobacco.com
- Contact the Tobacco Free Florida/Quit Coach by calling 1-877-U-CAN-NOW or 1-877-6669 or visit www.quitnow.net/florida
PHCD Smoke-Free Policies
This Smoke-Free Policy is being incorporated and made part of the Conventional Public Housing Dwelling Lease and residents will be required to sign a new lease that includes the “Instituting Smoke-Free Public Housing” and the Dwelling Lease Addendum #3. In addition, the revised Public Housing Community Policies and Admissions and Continued Occupancy Policy Appendix V: Smoking Policy includes written warnings and fines for violating the smoking policy.
You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.
Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.