
  

CHAPTER 1 0 
INSURANCES 

I.  PURPOSE 

 This chapter identifies the types and extent of various contractually 
required insurance coverages. 

 Sub-recipients that are units of government shall comply with 
their own insurance requirements as well as any relevant state of 
Florida insurance requirements which would minimally include liability 
coverage. 

 Sub-recipients that are consultants to DHCD shall comply with the 
insurance requirements as stipulated in DHCD's contract. 

II. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

 Sub-recipients are required to furnish to DHCD certificates of 
insurance (Accord forms) which indicate that insurance coverage has 
been obtained that meets the requirements as stipulated in DHCD's 
contracts. These certificates must be received by DHCD before any 
payments are made. When an insurance policy crosses contract years, 
contractors must resubmit a certificate of insurance for inclusion in 
DHCD's most current contract files. 

 Worker's Compensation - this is required by Chapter 440, Florida 
Statutes for contractors with three or more employees. 

 Bonding Insurance - except as otherwise required by law, contractors 
shall follow their own requirements relating to performance bonds, 
payment bonds, and bid guarantees for construction and facilities 
improvements unless the construction exceeds $100,000. Where 
construction costs exceeds $100,000, contractors are to comply with 
the bonding and insurance provisions stated in OMB Circular A-110 or 
24 CFR Part 85, as applicable. 

Miami-Dade County does not require sub-recipients to carry bonding 
insurance; however, it is a good business practice. 

The Sub-Recipient Agreements contain the following requirements regarding 
Insurance: 

Insurance Requirements 

The Contractor shall furnish to Miami-Dade County, c/o Department of 
Housing and Community Development, 701 NW 1st Court, 14th Floor, Miami, 
Florida 33136, Certificate(s) of Insurance evidencing insurance coverage 
that meets the requirements as outlined below: 

1. Worker's Compensation as required by Chapter 440, Florida 
Statutes. 
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2. Public Liability Insurance on a comprehensive basis in an amount not 
less than $300,000 per occurrence for Bodily Injury and Property 
Damage combined. Miami-Dade County must be shown as an additional 
insured with respect to this coverage. 

3. Automobile Liability Insurance covering all owned, non-owned and hired 
vehicles used in connection with this contract in an amount not less 
than $300,000 per occurrence for Bodily Injury and Property 
Damage combined. 

DESIGN STAGE (IF APPLICABLE) 

In addition to the insurance required in (1)-(3) above, a 
Certificate of Insurance must be provided as follows: 

4. Professional Liability Insurance in the name of the 
Contractor of the licensed design professional employed by the 
Contractor in an amount not less than $300,000 per occurrence 
providing for all sums which the Contractor and/or the 
design professional shall become legally obligated to pay as 
damages for claims arising out of the services performed by the 
Contractor or any person employed by the Contractor in 
connection with this contract. This insurance shall be 
maintained for a period of two (2) years after the Certificate 
of Occupancy is issued. 

CONSTRUCTION PHASE (IF APPLICABLE) 

In addition to the insurance required in 1-4 above, the 
Contractor shall provide or cause its Subcontractors to provide 
original policies indicating the following types of insurance 
coverage prior to any construction: 

5. Completed Value Builder's Risk Insurance on an "All Risk" 
basis in an amount not less than one hundred (100%) percent of 
the insurable value of the building(s) or structure(s). The 
policy shall be in the name of Miami-Dade County and the 
Contractor. 

6. Flood Insurance shall be provided for those properties found 
to be within a flood hazard zone, in an amount not less than 
the full replacement values of the completed structure(s) 
or the maximum amount of coverage available through the 
National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), whichever is 
greater. The policy will show Miami-Dade County as :a Loss Payee 
A.T.I.M.A. This policy will be provided at such time that 
the buildings' walls and roof exist. 

 
 

OPERATION/MANAGEMENT PHASE (IF APPLICABLE) 
 
After the Construction Phase is completed and occupancy begins, the 
following insurance must be kept in force throughout the 
duration of the Loan and/or Contract: 
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7. Public Liability in an amount not less than $1,000,000 per 
occurrence for Bodily Injury and Property Damage combined. 
Miami-Dade County must be shown as an additional insured with 
respect to this coverage. 

8. Property Insurance Coverage on an "All Risk" basis in an 
amount not less than one hundred (100) percent of the 
replacement cost of the property. Miami-Dade County must be 
shown as a Loss Payee with respect to this coverage 
A.T.I.M.A. 

9. Flood Insurance coverage for those properties found to be 
within a flood hazard zone for the full replacement values 
of the structure(s) or the maximum amount of coverage 
available through the National Flood Insurance Program 
(NFIP). The policy will show Miami-Dade County as a Loss 
Payee A.T.I.M.A. 

CONTRACTOR LIABILITY OBLIGATION 

Compliance with the foregoing requirements shall not relieve the 
Contractor of his liability and obligation under this subsection 
or under any subsection of this contract. The contract is 
contingent upon receipt of the insurance documents within 
fifteen (15) calendar days after the Board of County 
Commissioners' approval. If the Insurance Certificate is 
received within the specified period, but not in the manner 
prescribed in these requirements, the Contractor shall be 
verbally notified of the deficiency and shall have an additional 
five (5) calendar days to submit a corrected certificate to the 
County. 

If the Contractor fails to submit the required insurance documents 
in the manner prescribed in these requirements within twenty (20) 
calendar days after the Board of County Commissioners' approval, 
the Contractor shall be in default of the terms and conditions 
of the contract. 

CERTIFICATE CONTINUITY 

The Contractor shall be responsible for assuring that the 
insurance certificates required in conjunction with this 
subsection remain in force for the duration of the contract period, 
including any and all option years, if applicable. If the insurance 
certificates are scheduled to expire during the contract period, 
the Contractor shall be responsible for submitting new or renewed 
insurance certificates to the County at a minimum of thirty (30) 
calendar days before such expiration. 

In the event that expiration certificates are not replaced with 
new or renewed certificates that cover the contract period, the 
County shall suspend the contract until the new or renewed 
certificates are received by the County in the manner prescribed 
in the requirements; provided, however, that this suspended 
period does not exceed thirty (30) calendar days. If such 
suspension exceeds thirty (30) calendar days, the County may, at 
its sole discretion, terminate the contract for cause. 
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Prior to execution of the contract by the County and 
commencement of the contracted services, the Contractor shall 
obtain all insurance required under this Section and submit same 
to the County for approval. All insurance shall be maintained 
throughout the term of the contract. 

The Public Liability Insurance coverage as required in paragraph 
(2) above shall include those classifications, as listed in 
Standard Liability Insurance Manuals, which are applicable to the 
operations of the Contractor in the performance of this Contract. 

All insurance policies required above shall be issued by 
companies authorized to do business under the laws of the 
State of Florida, with the following qualifications: 

The company must be rated no less than "B" as to management, and 
no less than "Class V" as to financial  strength, according to 
the latest edition of Best's Insurance Guide, published by A.M. 
Best Company, Oldwick, New Jersey, or its equivalent, subject to 
the approval of the County’s Risk Management Division. 

Certificates will show that no modification or change in insurance 
shall be made without thirty (30) days written advance notice to 
the certificate holder. 

 C. Indemnification 

The Contractors shall indemnify and hold harmless the County and 
its officers, employees, agents and instrumentalities from any 
and all liability, losses or damages, including attorneys' fees 
and costs of defense, which the County or its officers, 
employees, agents or instrumentalities may incur as a result of 
claims, demands, suits, causes of actions or proceedings of any: 
kind or nature arising out of, relating to or resulting from 
the performance of this Agreement by the Contractor or its 
employees, agents, servants, partners principals or 
subcontractors. The Contractor shall pay all claims and losses 
in connection therewith and shall investigate and defend all 
claims, suits or actions of any kind or nature in the name of 
the County, where applicable, including appellate proceedings, 
and shall pay all costs, judgments, and attorney's fees which 
may issue thereon. The Contractor expressly understands and 
agrees that any insurance protection required by the Agency’s 
Agreement with the County or otherwise provided by the 
Contractor shall in no way limit the responsibility to indemnify, 
keep and save harmless and defend the County or its 
officers, employees, agents and instrumentalities as herein 
provided. 

D. Documents 

The Contractor shall submit documents to DHCD as described below 
or any other document in whatever form, manner, or frequency as 
prescribed by DHCD. These will be used for monitoring progress, 
performance, and compliance with the Agency’s contract with 
the County and for compliance with applicable County and 
Federal requirements. 
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Certificates of Insurance - original to be received by DHCD within 
the first month of the project’s contract period and prior to payments 
made by the County and as they are renewed throughout the contract 
period. 
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