CONTRACTOR
ENFORCEMENT

Being licensed indicates that contractors have
demonstrated the appropriate minimum knowledge level
in that area. The public is safer when licensed contractors
are used and unfair business practices are eliminated
when there is compliance to licensing requirements.
However, there are consequences if a person

decides to remain unlicensed. The department’s
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proactive sweeps of construction sites, commercial
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vehicle checkpoints, as well as sting operations with VISI T US ONLINE

local police departments. The aim of these activities

is to decrease the number of unlicensed contractors To view Miami-Dade County Chapter

operating in Miami-Dade County. If found guilty of -
violating Miami-Dade County Chapter 10 or Florida 10 governing local contractor

Statludtfl’:) 48}91 (cor(litract}ilng witgout a license),falperson licensing, click on the Miami-Dade
could be charged with a misdemeanor or a telony
depending on the severity of the charge, as well as face County Department of RGgUlatory
civil cita‘tions of up to $5,000 or discipline from the and Economic Resources’ website at
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selecting the Contractor tab.
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HOURS OF OPERATION

Monday through Friday
7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Excluding legal holidays
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IMPORTANCE OF LICENSURE

First and most importantly, it is against the law to work
in the construction trades without a license. Miami-Dade
County Code Chapter 10 and Florida Statute Chapter 489
require that construction contractors be licensed.
Miami-Dade County Code Chapter 10 is the regulatory
administrative code that governs locally licensed construction
contractors and tradesmen. The Chapter outlines license scopes,
testing requirements and conditions for continued licensure.
Contractors are to be familiar with the requirements of Chapter
10, which is available online at the Miami-Dade County
Department of Regulatory and Economic Resources’ website at
www.miamidade.gov/building and selecting the Contractor tab.
The Contractor Licensing Section processes the license
applications for the four major categories for tradesman and
contractors. The categories include Electrical, Mechanical,
Plumbing, Building and Building Specialty licenses. The
department offers 110 different types of licenses. The
department’s advisory board, called the Construction Trades
Qualifying Board (CTQB), has the authority over the types

of licenses and scopes of licenses that are issued.

ROLE OF CTaB

The Construction Trades Qualifying Board (CTQB) screens
applicants for licensing exams and reviews applications for
contractor licenses. Members of this Board are authorized to

review and resolve complaints against contractors and tradesmen.

They may also take disciplinary action against County license
holders, including fines and/or suspension of licenses.

The Contractor Licensing Section processes the
applications for tradesmen and contractors licensing;
administers exams for certificates of competency and
eligibility; and forwards for the Board’s consideration. Once
approved by the Board, licenses are valid for two years
and license holders must accrue 16 hours of continuing
education courses during those two years in order to renew.

Residents are encouraged to verify if a contractor is
licensed, insured or if there are outstanding complaints
against the license holder by visiting the department’s
webpage www.miamidade.gov/building and selecting the
Contractor tab. Residents can also call the Contractor
Licensing Section at 786-315-2880 or dial 3-1-1 (Miami-
Dade County’s 3-1-1 Answer Center).

GENERAL LICENSING CLASSIFICATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS

MASTER
(Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing categories)

M Requirements include that the applicant has held a CTQB-
issued Certificate of Competency as a journeyman for two
years and have at least two years prior field experience or

at least six years of specialized training or registration as a
professional engineer in the discipline concerned.

B The applicant must submit an application to include proof

of experience through letters from employers stating the dates of
employment and description of work performed and submittal of
W-2 tax documents covering the employment period.

B Requires successful passing of an exam with a passing rate of
70 percent or above. The exam is open book and the list of books
is provided to you at the time you request an application.

B The license process for the Master license costs $315.

BUILDING & BUILDING SPECIALTIES

B Requirements for this category include from one

to four years of proven field experience in trade.

The number of years of experience are dependent on the
license being applied for.

B A submittal of an application to include proof of
experience through letters from employers stating the
dates of employment, description of work performed
or submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the
employment period.

M Requires successful passing of an examination with
a grade of 70 percent or above. The exam is open book
and the list of books is provided to you at the time
you request an application.

B The price for this license process is $315.

JOURNEYMAN
(Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing categories)

M Requires three years of proven field experience in trade or
education equivalent or a combination of the two, but not
more than one-half consisting of education portion.

M Requires submittal of application to include proof of
experience through letters from employers stating the
dates of employment and description of work performed
and submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the
employment period.

B To receive a Journeyman license, the exam must be passed
with a score of 75 percent or above. Exam is open book and the
list of books is provided at the time you request an application.

B The Journeyman license process costs $240.
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Front and back view of Department of Regulatory and Economic
Resources license identification card. The card displays the trades
which the license holder has been approved to perform.

NON-TESTED BUILDING SPECIALTIES

M Requirements for this category include from one
to three years of proven field experience in trade.
The number of years of experience are dependent on the

license being applied for.

M A submittal of an application to include proof of
experience through letters from employers stating the
dates of employment, description of work performed
or submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the
employment period.

B The price for this license process is $315.

THE EXAM

Some license categories require passing an examination.
Exams in each license category are offered once a month
and formats vary from a three-hour exam to a six-hour
two part exam. The length of the exam depends on its’
complexity and is administered by an approved private
test provider. Test dates and book lists are provided to
applicants as part of the preparation process.




