Department of Transportation and Public Works
For- Hire Transportation

601 NW 1%t Court, 18" Floor

Miami, Florida 33136

Telephone No. (786) 469-2300

CHAUFFEUR REGISTRATION INITIAL/RENEWAL APPLICATION

When to apply:

What to bring:

Renewal Late Fee:

Renewals:

Training/Testing:

Use of Social Security #:

GENERAL INFORMATION
Monday through Friday (Except Holidays) 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Applicants must apply in person.

U.S. Citizens- Social Security Card or U.S. Passport or original certified U.S. Birth
Certificate or original Certificate of Naturalization
Non U.S. Citizens- Social Security Card and original Permanent Residency Card or original
valid Work Authorization Card (if applicable)
e Valid State of Florida Driver’s License
o First Aid Certification (School Bus applicants only)
o Defensive Driving Certification (original applicants or renewal applicants with two (2) or
more moving violations within the last two (2) years). Taxicab and Limo drivers are exempt.
o Certificate of training in Passenger Assistance Techniques (PAT) for Wheelchair Accessible
Vehicles (if applicable).
e Private School Bus drivers transporting more than 15 passengers (including driver), must have
a CDL License with “P” endorsement.
o State of Florida Concealed Weapons Permit (If Applicable)
Fees are only payable by check, money order, debit or credit card (Visa, Master Card or American
Express). If you pay by check, the check must be over series #200 and pre-printed with your name
and address and issued by a local bank. All fees are NON REFUNDABLE

Training Program Materials Cost

All New Applicants FDLE (criminal backgrounds) | $24.00

New Passenger Motor Carrier (PMC), Jitney, | ACES Manual $5.00
Non-Emergency(NE) and Special
Transportation Services (STS) Applicants

New Private School Bus Applicants Training Class $30.00
Training Manual $5.00

New Taxicab or Limousine Applicants 1year - $89.00 2 years - $144.00

New or Renewal Applicants 1 year - $65.00 2 years - $120.00

Adding Company, Lost or Stolen Chauffeur $26.00
Registration

Change of Address on Chauffeur Registration | No Charge

If a Chauffeur’s Registration is not renewed on or before the expiration date, the driver
will be required to pay a $55.00 late fee in addition to the renewal fee.

You may renew your Chauffeur’s Registration up to ninety (90) days before it expires.

Initial applicants are required to attend a Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTPW)
Training Program to obtain a Chauffeurs Registration. Renewal applicants are required to attend
training every two years. The training program offered is the Academy for Chauffeur
Excellence and Service (ACES) (1 day): For first time PSB, PMC, NE/STS, JITNEY and
renewal drivers. PSB drivers are required to take training only once.

New and Renewal Taxicab and Limousine applicants are exempt from training classes and
physicals. If any other type of transportation is added to the license along with Taxicab and or
Limousine, you will be required to take a training class and submit a physical.

Pursuant to Florida Statute Section 119.071(5), DTPW collects social security numbers for

identification and verification purposes. Social Security numbers are also used as a unique numeric identifier and may be used

for search purposes.




CHAUFFEUR REGISTRATION INITIAL/RENEWAL APPLICATION

PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX

[ ] Original [ ]Renewal [ ]Address Change [ ]Add/Change Company [ ]Lost/Stolen License

Part 1- TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (PLEASE PRINT)

Home Cell
Name: Phone # Phone #
Address: Social Security #: email address:
City/State/Zip: FL Driver's License # Exp. Date
Place of Birth: Date of Birth Primary Language Spoken at Home

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

1. Have you EVER pled nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found guilty or been convicted of any of the following crimes (even if adjudication was

withheld):
YES NO YES NO
[ 1] [ ]Involving use of a deadly weapon [ 1] [ 1Involving homicide
[ 1] [ ]Involving trafficking in narcotics [ 1] [ 1Involving violent offense against a Law Enforcement Officer
[ 1] [ ]SexCrime [ 1] [ 1 Any other felonies (within the last 5 years)
[ 1] [ ]Involving moral turpitude not related to [ 1] [ 1Any other crimes including misdemeanors
sex crimes [ ] [ 1Arson
[ 1] [ ]Kidnapping [ 1] [ 1 Prostitution

If yes to any question, please explain:

2. If convicted of a felony, have your civil/residency rights been restored? If yes, attach proof of restoration.

3. During the last five (5) years prior to this application, has your Driver’s License been suspended for, OR have you pled nolo contendere OR
pled guilty OR been found guilty OR been convicted (even if adjudication was withheld) of:
YES NO

[]

[ ]Driving under the influence of drugs or intoxicating liquors (D.U.l)

[ 1Three (3) or more traffic infractions resulting in accidents.

[ ]Fleeing the scene of any accident.

[ 1Vehicular Manslaughter or any death resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
[ ] [ 1Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.

4. Has your Florida Driver’s License EVER been suspended/revoked (even if reinstated) for any reason? [ ] Yes [ 1No

If yes, explain:

5. Has your Florida Driver’s License been suspended two (2) or more times within the last 12 months? [ ] Yes [ 1No

6. Have you been found guilty, pled guilty or nolo contendere to two or more moving violations within the past two (2) years? [ ]Yes [ ]No

7. During the last five (5) years prior to this application, have you had 24 points against your driver's license? [ ]J]Yes [ ]No

IMPORTANT: IF YES IS CHECKED TO ANY OF THE ABOVE QUESTIONS YOU MAY NOT BE ELIGIBLE FOR A CHAUFFEUR
REGISTRATION - PLEASE REFER TO THE MIAMI-DADE COUNTY CODE SECTION 31-303(E) FOR SPECIFIC CLARIFICATION

FOR-HIRE PASSENGER TRANSPORTATION UNIT ONLY:

Registration No. Expiration Date: Training Date:

Processed by: Issued by: Date Issued:




PART 2 — TYPES OF TRANSPORTATION WHICH THE APPLICANT CHOOSES TO PROVIDE:
PLEASE CHECK APPLICABLE BOX(ES)
[ 1Taxi [ ]Limousine [ 1Non Emergency [ 1STS [ 1PMC General [ ]Jitney/ Fixed/Circulator
[ ]School Bus (Seating Capacity )

If School Bus Operator, list all schools currently servicing

PART 3- FIREARM DISCLOSURE

Do you possess or transport a firearm while engaged in For-Hire Transportation? [ ] Yes |do** [ 1Noldonot

By signing this application, you hereby agree not to possess and/or transport a firearm while engaged in For-Hire Transportation, unless
you are authorized to do so by State Law. Any required State License must be current and valid and must be kept on file at all times with
the Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTPW), For-Hire Transportation Unit. The filing of this disclosure must be performed
with every renewal application.

PART 4- CHAUFFEUR CERTIFICATION (TO BE COMPLETED AT OFFICE)

| understand that my Chauffeur's Registration (Hack License) may be subject to suspension or revocation by the Department of Transportation and
Public Works (DTPW) under, but not limited to the following conditions:

1. If I fail to comply with or willfully violate any of the applicable provisions of the Miami-Dade County Code and/or the applicable laws.
2. If any material fact was omitted or falsely stated on my application.

| understand that my Chauffeur's Registration shall be automatically revoked by (DTPW) if | plead nolo contendere, plead guilty or if | am convicted of a
felony or of any criminal offense involving moral turpitude or a crime involving the use of deadly weapons or trafficking in narcotics; or if my State of
Florida Driver's License is suspended or revoked; or if it is determined, after drug or alcohol testing, that my use of alcohol or a controlled substance
has impaired or is impairing my ability to drive a for-hire vehicle.

| understand that | shall not refuse or neglect to transport to any place in the county any orderly person, including a service animal, who is willing and
able to pay the prescribed fare and | shall not accept any additional passengers without the consent of the passengers already within the vehicle unless
the passenger is being transported under a shared ride or other special service rate. As used in Chapter 31 of the Miami-Dade County Code, the term
“service animal” shall mean any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal, as defined in 28 C.F.R. § 36.104, individually trained to do work or perform
tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability, including, but not limited to, guiding individuals with impaired vision, alerting individuals with
impaired hearing to intruders or sounds, providing minimal protection or rescue work, pulling a wheelchair, or fetching dropped items. | also
understand that if | commit two violations of this section, my chauffeur’s registration may be suspended for a period of up to six months or revoked.

I understand that fines, as required by Miami-Dade County Code for each infraction, may be imposed for violation of Code provisions. Furthermore, if |
am caught cheating during any of the trainings, or the examination itself, my application will be denied and | shall not be eligible to re-apply for a
Chauffeur’s Registration for one year.

| also understand that for the industries where a for-hire training is required, such training will be conducted in English (with the exception of the school
bus training which is also conducted in Spanish). An English proficiency test will be conducted at the beginning of the training session and failure to
pass this test will result in the denial of your application and forfeiture of any application fees that were paid.

| certify under oath that | am not a user of alcohol or drugs whose current use would constitute a direct threat to property or the safety of others. |
further pledge that | will not be a user of alcohol or drugs in a manner that would constitute a direct threat to the property and safety of others. | further
certify under oath that | am free of any mental defect or disease that would constitute a direct threat to the property or safety of others or would impair
my ability to drive a for-hire vehicle. This further certifies that | am duly authorized to work in the United States of America under the current laws of the
Department of Homeland Security, Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services.

| understand that | am responsible for knowing all the rules and regulations pertaining to for-hire chauffeurs which are contained in Chapter 31, Article
V of the Miami-Dade County Code.

| also certify that all statements contained in my application are complete and true. | acknowledge that omissions or false statements will be
grounds for revocation or non-issuance of a Chauffeur’s Registration.

Chauffeur’s Signature: Date




REPORT OF PHYSICAL EXAMINATION FOR CHAUFFEUR’S REGISTRATION

PART 5- TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSED PHYSICIAN OR ADVANCED REGISTERED NURSE PRACTITIONER
All data must be completed for this form to be accepted.

Name: Date of Birth:

Health History:
E NO YES NO

] Head or Spinal Injuries ] Muscular Disease

] Cardiovascular Disease ] Psychiatric Disorder

] Tuberculosis ] Nervous Disorder

] Gastrointestinal Ulcer ] Use of Narcotics

] Vision Disorder ] Excessive Alcohol

] Hearing Disorder ] Seizures, fits, convulsions, fainting
] Asthma ] Syphilis, gonorrhea

] Diabetes ] Other Disease

] Kidney Disease
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PHYSICAL EXAMINATION

1. Height: Weight: Color of eyes Color of Hair
General Health: Good Fair Poor
2. Vision:  Without corrective lenses:  Right eye 20/ Left eye 20/
With corrective lenses: Right eye 20/ Left eye 20/
Color perception or red, green and yellow? Yes No
Horizontal field of vision is within normal range? Yes No

Evidence of disease or injury:

3. Hearing: Right ear Left ear With normal range? Yes No
4. Heart: Blood pressure: Systolic Diastolic Is the reading normal? Yes No
Pulse: Before Exercise After Exercise Is the reading normal? Yes No

Any evidence of disease or injury:

5. Extremities: Hands, arms, legs and feet are normal or adequate? Yes No
Coordination and reflexes are normal or adequate? Yes No
Evidence of disease or injury:

6. Other: Any evidence of illness, disease or injury involving the following?

YES NO YES NO

[ 1] [ ]1Abdomen [ 1] [ ]1Back Muscles

[ 1] [ ]Lungs [ 1] [ ] Communicable Disease
[ 1] [ 1Nose and Throat [ 1] [ ] Mental Abnormalities

[ 1] [ 1Hernia [ 1] [ ]1Emotional Instability

If you answered yes to any of the above, please explain:

7. Physician’s/Nurse Practitioner's comments on Health History “yes” answers:

| certify that | am licensed to practice in the State of Florida and that | have conducted an examination of the individual identified above. My findings
indicate that this individual is medically qualified and physically able to drive a for=hire vehicle and assist for-hire passengers to enter or exit
the vehicle, load or unload passenger baggage, and all other similar passenger related needs. A for-hire vehicle is defined as a passenger
motor vehicle, jitney, non-emergency medical transportation vehicle, special transportation services vehicle, or private school bus.

Name of Examining Doctor
or Advanced Nurse Practitioner (please print) Telephone #

Signature Date Signed

Florida HRS Certification No. or State of Florida License No.




