Important Global Message
The Miami-Dade County Portal will be undergoing maintenance starting at 11 p.m. Saturday, May 3 and for all of Sunday, May 4. Intermittent outages may be experienced. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Thank you for your patience as we improve our online services.
Move Over, It's the Law
The Move Over Law requires all motorists to change lanes away from an emergency vehicle when approaching an emergency vehicle with lights flashing (if traveling on a multi-lane roadway and if able to do so safely).
If the driver is unable to move over, or is traveling on a single-lane roadway, the driver is required to slow to a speed that is 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit (when the posted speed limit is 25 miles per hour or greater). If the posted speed limit is 20 miles per hour or less you must travel at five miles per hour.
The law is designed to help protect our first responders. Between 2996 and 2000 Florida motorists crashed into law enforcement vehicles that were either stopped or parked along Florida roadways 1,793 times, resulting in five deaths and 419 injuries.
Learn more about Move Over, It's the Law.Back to Top Page Last Edited: Wed Oct 10, 2012 3:19:26 PM
You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.
Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.