News Release Header
For Immediate Release:
June 14, 2011

Media Contact:
Maggie Fernandez

Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact wins national award

(Miami-Dade County, FL) -- 
Broward, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach counties were jointly recognized by the National Association of Counties (NACo) as co-recipients of the Annual Achievement Award for shared efforts in implementing the Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact (Compact).

"This award, along with GreenPrint and other sustainability efforts, demonstrates Miami-Dade County's serious commitment to protecting our environment and our citizens," said Sustainability Director Susanne M. Torriente.

The Compact was the outcome of an October 2009 Southeast Florida Climate Leadership Summit and a call to action by county leaders to work collaboratively to address the shared challenges of global climate change. The landmark agreement was fully ratified in January 2010 and committed partner counties to federal and state policy coordination on climate related issues; development of a Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Action Plan; and annual participation in regional summits to mark progress.

Compact Counties celebrated a 2nd Annual Climate Leadership Summit in October 2010 and have since completed several key work products including a regional greenhouse gas emissions inventory and a preliminary assessment of areas at risk to increased flooding with rising sea level. Concurrent efforts include development of regional climate mitigation and adaptation measures in the areas of land use, regional transportation, and the built environment.

Partner agencies to the Compact include the South Florida Water Management District, the University of Oregon's Climate Leadership Initiative, Florida Atlantic University's Climate and Energy Program, and ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability. Federal agencies have also played a supporting role, including the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The 3rd Annual Southeast Florida Climate Leadership Summit is scheduled for October 2011 in Monroe County with efforts underway to finalize the Regional Climate Change Action Plan by early 2012. 
NACO's annual Achievement Award Program began in 1970 and is an awards program that recognizes innovative county government programs. Awards are given in 21 different categories including environmental protection, children and youth, criminal justice, county administration, information technology, health, and many more. 

For more information on Miami-Dade County's climate change and sustainability efforts, visit


# # #