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EXTENUATING CIRCUMSTANCES FOR LATE-FILED EXEMPTION APPLICATION 

 
Parcel Number: ________________________________ 
 

Property Address: ________________________________ 
 

Applicant(s):  ________________________________ 
 
For the reason(s) listed below, I did not file my application for exemption by March 1st as 
required by Section 196.011, Florida Statutes.  Provided the Property Appraiser finds sufficient 
evidence demonstrating I was unable to apply for the exemption in a timely manner, the 
Property Appraiser will process my late application only if I have supplied them with all 
documentation required of my exemption application.  If for any reason I do not provide the 
Property Appraiser with extenuating circumstances or the required documentation by 
September 18th of this year, I understand my application will be considered next year.   
 
For the reason(s) listed below, I did not file my application for ______________________ 
exemption by March 1st as required by Section 196.011, Florida Statutes: 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
I hereby solemnly swear or affirm under penalty of law that the reasons and matters set forth 
as “particular extenuating circumstances” are true in all respects. 
 
 
Signature of applicant(s): ___________________________________________ 
 
Date:    ___________________ 
 
 
Property Appraiser Use Only(below this line) 
 
PA ID:    ___________________     
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Original Application for Ad Valorem Tax Exemption

Proof of residence for all owners Owner Spouse Other owner
Address of each owner not
residing on property

Date you last became a
permanent resident of Florida

Date of occupancy

Florida driver license number Date: Date:

Florida vehicle tag number

Florida voter registration number 
 (if U.S. citizen) Date: Date: Date:

Immigration number 
(alien card — if not a U.S. citizen) Date: Date: Date:

Declaration of domicile Res Date Res Date Res Date

Date of birth
Month Day Year Month Day Year Month Day Year

Current employer

Address listed on your last IRS return

I authorize this agency to obtain information to determine my eligibility for the exemptions applied for.  I qualify for these exemptions  under Florida Statutes.
I am a permanent resident of the State of Florida and I own and occupy the property above. I understand that under section 196.131(2), Florida Statutes, any 
person who knowingly gives false information to claim homestead exemption is guilty  of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by imprisonment up
to 1 year, a fine up to $5,000 or both. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing  application and the facts in it are true.

NOTE:  If all information is not received by March 1st, your application will be processed for whatever exemptions you qualify for on that date.

Applicant / Co-applicant Name and Address:

Legal Description:

Applicant Social Security:

Co-Applicant Social Security:

NOTE:   Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory.  It is required by
section 196.011 (1), Florida Statutes.  The social security number will be used  to 
verify taxpayer identity information and homestead exemption information
submitted to property appraisers.

Marital Status: Single

Widow

Married

Widower

Divorced

Did you file tax exemptions last year? Yes No

Where?

If no, your last 
year’s address:

Permanent Florida residency required as of January 1

Homestead exemption up to $50,000*

$500 Widow’s exemption

$500 Widower’s exemption

$500 Disability exemption

$500 Blind persons exemption

$5000 Disabled Veteran

Total and permanent disability exemption-Quadriplegics**

Service connected total and permanent disability exemption**

Exemption for disabled veterans confined to wheelchairs**

Total and permanent disability exemption**
* To apply for an additional homestead exemption enacted by local  ordinance for 
persons age 65 and older you must file form DR-501SC.  You must either receive, or 
apply for, the regular homestead to get this additional homestead exemption. If you 
have already received regular homestead exemption, you do not need to file another 
Form DR-501.
** Documentation required

Ownership information

Percent of ownership:

Recorded: Book:

Date Recorded:

Type of deed:

Page:

Date of Deed:

 County, Florida  Tax Year

New Change Additional Property Identification Number

Phone Number

Signature of Deputy

Entered by

Date:

Date

Signature of applicant Signature of co-applicant

Miami-Dade 2011

Late Application

LA
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This application must be filed with the property appraiser by March 1st

The information contained in this application will be provided to the Department of Revenue and the Department 
and/or property appraisers are authorized to provide this information to any state in which the  applicant has 
previously resided, pursuant to Section 196.121, Florida Statutes. Social security numbers will remain 
confidential pursuant to sections 193.114(5), and 193.074, Florida Statutes.

Notice:  A tax lien can be imposed on your property.

Section 196.161 (1) provides:

(1) (a) “When the estate of any person is being probated or administered 

in another state under an allegation that such person was a resident of that state 

and the estate of such person contains real property situate in this state upon which 

homestead exemption has been allowed pursuant to s. 196.031 for any year or years 

within 10 years immediately prior to the death of the deceased, then within 3 years 

after the death of such person the property appraiser of the county where the real 

property is located shall, upon knowledge of such fact, record a notice of tax lien 

against the property among the public records of that county, and the property shall 

be subject to the payment of all taxes exempt thereunder, a penalty of 50 percent of 

the unpaid taxes for each year, plus 15 percent interest per year,  unless the circuit 

court having jurisdiction over the ancillary administration in this state, determines 

that the decedent was a permanent resident of this state during the year or years 

an exemption was allowed, whereupon the lien shall not be filed or, if filed, shall be 

canceled of record by the property appraiser of the county where the real estate is 

located.  (b)  In addition, upon determination by the property appraiser that for any 

year or years within the prior 10 years a person who was not entitled to a homestead 

exemption was granted a homestead exemption from ad valorem taxes, it shall be the 

duty of the property appraiser making such determination to serve upon the owner a 

notice of intent to record in the public records of the county a notice of tax lien against 

any  property owned by that person in the county, and such property shall be identified 

in the notice of tax lien.  Such property which is situated in this state shall be subject 

to the taxes exempted thereby, plus a penalty of 50 percent of the unpaid taxes for 

each year and 15 percent interest per annum.  However, if a homestead exemption 

is improperly granted as a result of a clerical mistake or omission by the property 

appraiser, the person improperly receiving the exemption shall not be assessed 

penalty and interest. Before any such lien may be filed, the owner so notified must be 

given 30 days to pay the taxes, penalties, and interest.




