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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
TO COMPLETE YOUR EXEMPTION APPLICATION

Do not attach originals. They will not be returned

All owners residing on the property should complete this application.
= Unless you're using a pre-printed application, write your COMPLETE NAME, PROPERTY ADDRESS,
LEGAL DESCRIPTION and DEED INFORMATION where indicated. (Attach additional sheets if necessary)

2 Make sure to check All EXEMPTIONS for which you are applying.
= PLEASE NOTE: The Homestead Exemption is often a pre-requisite to qualifying for the various
property tax exemptions allowed under Florida Law.

3 ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS on the Exemption Application Form.
= Any two of the following, issued prior to January 1, will be accepted as proof of Florida residency:
* Florida Driver's License or Florida ID
 Current Year SSA-1099 or W-2
* Florida Auto Registration
* IRS 1040 Tax Return from previous year
* Florida Voter's Registration Card
» Employment Letter on Employer's Letterhead

IMPORTANT: Attach COPIES of the two documents you use from the above list.

If filing for Homestead Exemption on a property held in a Trust, a copy of the Trust Agreement must
be attached to this application.

Non U.S. citizens must attach a copy of their permanent U.S. residency document

(e.g. Green Card)...front and back.

Applying for a WIDOW/WIDOWER EXEMPTION?
« You MUST attach a copy your spouse's death certificate.

\/ Applying for DISABILITY EXEMPTION?
You must select one of the Disability Exemptions listed on the Homestead Exemption
application form.
$500 Civilian Disability: One (1) doctor’s certificate

Civilian Disability Total Exemption: Two (2) doctor’s certificates (509-01-10) and a notarized income affidavit (DR-501A)

$5,000 Veteran’s Disability: VA letter (27-125) service connected disability, 10% or more
Veteran’s Disability Total Exemption: VA letter (27-333) service connected total and permanent disability

J Applying for the SENIOR CITIZEN EXEMPTION?
You must complete form DR-501SC.

First time applicants must submit a Federal Income Tax Return.

Income information is required for each household member, regardless of ownership.

\/ READ, SIGN & DATE THE APPLICATION!
Please provide your telephone number.




'@EXEMPTION REQUIREMENTS

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION

Florida law allows up to a $25,000
Homestead Exemption if you meet the
following requirements:

% Apply by March 1
% Own the property on January 1

% Reside on the property on January 1

% You must be a permanent resident of the State of Florida on

January 1

% You must be a United States citizen or have been granted a Permanent
Resident card on or before January 1

WIDOW/WIDOWER EXEMPTION

LIMITED INCOME
SENIOR CITIZEN EXEMPTION

$500 Widow/Widower

%  Submit a copy of spouse’s death certificate.
Applicant may not be divorced or remarried.
Must be a widow/widower on January 1.

t 3 Have Homestead Exemption
% 65 years of age on or before January 1

%  Total HOUSEHOLD ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME
does not exceed statutory limits.

DISABILITY EXEMPTION

$500 Disahility Exemption

%  Statement of disability from one licensed, Florida
physician on state required form.

$5,000 Veterans Exemption

%  Submit a letter from the Veterans Administration
stating percentage of service-connected disability.

Total Exemption for Disability

%  Statements of disability from TWO licensed,
professionally unrelated Florida physicians
on state-required form, stating that you are a
quadriplegic, paraplegic, hemiplegic, legally blind or
must use a wheelchair for mobility AND an income
affidavit verifying household income does not
exceed statutory limits OR a letter from Veterans
Administration certifying your disability is “totally
and permanently” service-connected.

NOTE Quadriplegic does not have to meet income limitation.

MAIL TO

Miami-Dade County
Property Appraisal Department
PO. Box 013140
Miami, FL 33101-3140

PLEASE DO NOT MAIL ANY CHECKS FOR TAXES WITH YOUR APPLICATION!
If you have any additional questions, please call(305) 375-4125 or Team Metro at (786) 331-5321

or visit our website at www.miamidade.gov
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