Important Global Message
The Miami-Dade County Portal will be undergoing maintenance starting at 11 p.m. Saturday, May 3 and for all of Sunday, May 4. Intermittent outages may be experienced. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Thank you for your patience as we improve our online services.
Fees and Procedures
Summons, 5-Day Summons, Eminent Domain, Injunctions, Notices, Writs of Garnishment, Rules to Show Cause, Notices of Tax Sale, Subpoenas, and all other types of Non-Enforceable process requiring service only.
Service Fee: $40.00 each service per address. Plus a self addressed stamped envelope.
Requirements: Original or certified copy, one conformed copy and attachments/complaints for each party or entity to be served. F.S. 30.231 (3).
Out Of State
This office will serve the process according to Florida State Statutes unless an explicit letter of instructions accompanies each document.
Service Fee: $41.00 each service per address.
Beyond in state process charges that are not required by Florida, but are required by the originating state.
- Personal Service $44.00
- Affidavit $15.00 (Must be submitted)
- Notarization $ 5.00
Enforceable Civil Writs
All documents must be either issued in or domesticated within the State of Florida.
Any enforceable process which takes more than one (1) hour to execute will be charged at the rate of $57.94 per hour per Deputy Sheriff. If anticipated, an estimated cost deposit will be required in addition to the original cost deposit. Expedited service is available and the plaintiff or agent requesting such service can contact (305) 375-5100 for a fee schedule.
- Writ of Possession
Total Fee: $115.00 per Writ per address.
Plus a self-addressed stamped envelope
- Landlord / Tenant Requirements:
Original writ, 1 conformed copy.
- Foreclosure Requirements:
Original writ, 1 conformed copy of writ.
All Writs of Possession must have name and telephone number of Landlord/Authorized Agent who will meet the Deputy Sheriff and accept possession of the premises.
- Writ of Replevin
Requirements: Original writ and 1 conformed copy. The writ must contain the address of the property under replevy and the name of a contact person to turn the property over to in the field. The Plaintiff must provide labor and equipment necessary to complete the replevin.
Fee: $90.00 per address. Plus self-addressed stamped envelope
If you wish to have a Summons served at the same time the Writ of Replevin is served, you must send an additional fee for the service of the Summons.
Service Fee: $40.00 per summons per address
- Distress Writ
Requirements: Certified Copy of Writ and a conformed copy, Levy Instructions, description of the property under distress and its location.
Fee: $90.00 per address. Cost deposit may be required. Plus a self-addressed stamped envelope
- Writ of Execution
Fee: $90.00 per Writ per address
Fee: $40.00: Advertisement of sale under process.
Fee: $40.00 For each sale under process
Fee: $40.00 For each deed, bill of sale, or satisfaction of judgment.
Levy Instructions: Must be accompanied by a Cost Deposit. Levy instruction forms are available at the Court Services Bureau office.
1: Cost Deposits are Collected in Advance - FSS 30.231(2)
Levy Instructions must be accompanied by a DMV Print-Out, which can be obtained by writing to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Neil Kirkman Building, Tallahassee, FL 32301. The name(s) on the DMV Print-Out must match those on the Writ of Execution EXACTLY. If they do not, you must furnish an Affidavit of Same Name, stating the reason you believe that they are one and the same.
2: Real Estate..............................................................$500.00
Recording Fee (Payable to the Clerk of the Court). $10.00
The Levy Instructions must contain the legal description of the property. If the location is a vacant lot, you must furnish complete and specific directions to the property. A Certified Copy of the Final Judgment must be recorded with the Clerk of the Circuit Court in order to establish priority. A certified copy of the warranty deed and a certified recorded copy of the final judgment must be provided.
3: Airplane/Boat/Household Items/Business Inventory, Etc.
Cost Deposits on these types of items are determined on an individual basis. Call to obtain the amount and have available all the specifics involved with your levy: type of property, location, how much property is to be seized, etc.
These Cost Deposits are an estimate of the costs (Sheriff's Fees, Towing and Storage Fees, Advertising Fees, Recording Fees, etc.) involved with a levy. Should the actual costs incurred be greater than the Cost Deposit, the Plaintiff and/or Attorney directing the levy will be responsible for any additional charges.
Civil Warrants, Orders of Commitment, Capias, Writs of Bodily Attachment, Etc.
All Warrants issued from a County outside of Miami-Dade MUST be forwarded to our Office by the Sheriff's Office of the issuing County.
Fee: $90.00 per Warrant per address.
All Department of Revenue Warrants: No Charge
Warrants to be Served in Miami-Dade County
Two (2) Certified Copies of Order
Two (2) Conformed Copies
Checks, Cashier's Checks, Money Order made payable to Sheriff of Miami-Dade County
Must indicate address, date of birth, and description of subject (i.e., race, sex, etc.).
Warrants to be Forwarded to Any Other County
Fee: $90.00 per warrant.
Two (2) Certified Copies of Order
Two (2) Conformed Copies
Checks, Cashier's Checks, or Money Order made payable to: Sheriff of Miami-Dade County (see payment policy)
MUST indicate address, date of birth, and description of subject (i.e. race, sex, etc.).
Civil Writs of Bodily Attachment must be accompanied by an additional fee required by the Sheriff's Office that will be serving the Writ. F.S.S. 30.231 (2).
Alias Or Pluries Service
The above listed fees also apply to service of alias and pluries process.
Fee: $40.00 per Alias per address.
Fee: $40.00 per Pluries per address.
Each service must provide a specific physical location and address.
All fees collected are non-refundable and are considered earned when request for service is made. F.S.S.30.231 (5)
Please direct all inquiries to:
Miami-Dade Police DepartmentBack to Top Page Last Edited: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:01:33 PM
Court Services Bureau
Overtown Transit Village South
601 NW 1 Court
Miami, FL 33136
You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.
Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.