
MDPD INFORMATION SHEET 

Requesting Body Worn Camera Recordings 

 

REQUESTS   

Requests for Body Worn Camera (BWC) recordings can be made in writing, via email 

(bwcrequest@mdpd.com), in person, or telephonically.  You may download, complete and 

submit the BWC Records Request Form through email or U.S. mail.  You may also visit Miami-

Dade Police Department (MDPD) Central Records Bureau to complete the form in person.  It 

may be necessary for the staff of the Body-Worn Camera Records Section (BWCRS) to contact 

you for clarification.  A record may contain exempt and/or confidential information requiring 

redaction (removal) depending on your identity and your role, if any, in the incident that was 

recorded. Please keep this in mind should you chose not to identify yourself. 

COSTS 

Florida law allows an agency to charge specific amounts for specific types of records (for 

example, 15 cents for a one-sided copy).  In addition to these costs, we may need to redact or 

remove certain information that is confidential or exempt from public disclosure pursuant to 

Florida law. Should your request require extensive use of information technology resources or 

extensive clerical or supervisory assistance, or both, the agency may also charge for these 

costs.  The cost will be approximately $29.00 per hour.  We will notify you of the approximate 

cost prior to beginning work.    

PROCESS 

Below is a brief outline of the steps involved in processing your request:    

 The BWCRS receives your request and responds back to you acknowledging receipt.   

 A cost estimate is provided to you.   

 You pay the estimated cost as a deposit and your payment authorizes the processing to 

begin. 

 Your requested records are located and any necessary redactions are made. 

 You will be notified of the final cost if you provided contact information. If you did not 

provide contact information, you will need to recontact us periodically concerning the 

status of your request. 

 You will be refunded any amount paid in excess of the actual cost, or charged any 

amount due if the actual cost exceeded the payment made.  

 Your records will be available after full payment is received.  

 You may pick up the records from this office to avoid additional postage costs. 

PAYMENTS 

Payment can be made in cash, money order, or cashier’s check (payable to the Miami-Dade 

Police Department).  Debit and credit card payments are not possible at this time.   
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