Skip Navigation
Last Visited »

Important Global Message

Maintenance Alert

The Miami-Dade County Portal will be undergoing maintenance starting at 11 p.m. Saturday, May 3 and for all of Sunday, May 4. Intermittent outages may be experienced. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you for your patience as we improve our online services.

Jessica Lundsford Act Registration Obligations

Effective December 1, 2005, in accordance with the Florida Jessica Lunsford Act, H.B. 1877, all sexual offenders and predators will be required by law to re-register, in person, twice a year.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a 3rd degree felony.  Sexual offenders and predators residing in Miami-Dade County will be required to complete the registration process at the following location:

Miami-Dade Police Department
Special Victims Bureau
1701 NW 87 Ave, Suite 222
Doral, FL  33172

The registration hours of operation, beginning December 1, 2005, are 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.

Notice of Sexual Predator and Sexual Offender Obligations

As a Sexual Predator (Florida Statute 775.21) or Sexual Offender (Florida Statute 943.0435 or 944.607), you understand that you are required by law to abide by the following:

  1. You must report in person to the local Sheriff’s Office or Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) office within 48 hours of release from custody and/or supervision of Department of Corrections or Department of Children and Family Services to register my temporary or permanent address.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
     
  2. Within 48 hours after the initial report required as stated in requirement #1 above, you must report in person to the driver’s license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to obtain a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card, unless a driver’s license or identification card was previously secured or updated while under the supervision of the Department of Corrections or Department of Children and Family Services and there have been no changes to your address or name.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
     
  3. Beginning December 1, 2005, you must report, in person each year, twice a year, to the Sheriff’s Office in the county in which you reside or are located to re-register during the month of your birthday and during the sixth month following your birth month.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
    If your Birth Month is: You  must
    Re-Register In:
    If your Birth  month Is: You must
    Re-Register In:
    If your Birth month Is: You must
    Re-Register In:
    January January &
    July
    May May & November September September & March
    February February & August June June &
    December
    October October &
    April
    March March & September July July &
    January
    November November & May
    April April &
    October
    August August & February December December & June
  4. Within 48 hours of any change of address in permanent or temporary residence, change of name due to marriage or other legal process, or when your driver’s license is subject to renewal, you must report that information in person to the driver’s license office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to obtain and maintain a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
  5. If you live in another state, but work or attend school in Florida, you must register your work or school address as a temporary address with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.  You must also obtain and maintain a valid Florida driver’s license or identification card.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
  6. If you intend to establish residence in another state or jurisdiction, you must report in person to the local Sheriff’s Office or the FDLE office within 48 hours prior to leaving to give notification of your intention to move out of the state.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
  7. If you later decide to remain in this state (see #6 above), you must report in person back to the local Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office to notify of your intention to remain in Florida.  This report must occur within 48 hours after the date you indicated that you would leave.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the second degree.
  8. If you move from a permanent residence and do not have another permanent or temporary residence, you must report this change in person to the Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office with 48 hours.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
  9. If you later decide to remain at the permanent residence (see #8 above), you must report in person back to the Sheriff’s Office or FDLE office to notify of your intention.  This report must occur within 48 hours after the date that you indicated that you would leave the permanent residence. Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the second degree.
  10. Beginning September 1, 2005, YOU MUST respond to any address verification correspondence from FDLE within three weeks of the date of the correspondence.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
  11. If you are employed, carry on a vocation, are a student, or become a resident of another state, you must also register in that state.
  12. If you are enrolled, employed, or carrying on a vocation at an institution of higher education in this state, you shall also provide to the department the name, address, and county of each institution, including each campus attended, and your enrollment and employment status.  You will report each change in enrollment or employment status in person at the Sheriff’s Office within 48 hours after any change in status.  Failure to comply with this requirement is a felony of the third degree.
Back to Top Page Last Edited: Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:28:56 PM
police
 
 
Corner
Corner

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.