Media Contact:
Laura Morilla
[email protected]

The Women's Park to host the third annual Women's Equality Day celebration - "Where are the women?"

A discussion of how women are missing from America’s symbols and icons and what we can do about it

MIAMI (July 27, 2015)

On Saturday, August 22, 2015, 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m., the Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces Department will host Miami-Dade’s third annual celebration for “Women’s Equality Day” at The Women’s Park, located at 10251 W. Flagler St. (Luisa Garcia-Toledo Blvd.), Miami. The free event commemorates the 95th anniversary of the 19th Amendment to  the U.S. Constitution, which granted voting rights to U.S. women, and continued efforts on behalf of equal rights. It is being sponsored by the Miami-Dade County Commission for Women and the League of Women Voters of Miami-Dade County.

As part of the festivities, attendees will hear from featured speaker Lynette Long, Ph.D., President and Founder of Equal Visibility Everywhere (EVE). This not-for-profit organization is dedicated to achieving gender parity in the symbols and icons of the United States, such as currency, stamps, statues, monuments, street names, and national holidays. Dr. Long will discuss EVE’s efforts to raise the visibility of women, which include plans for adding women leaders like Harriett Tubman, Amelia Earhart and Marjory Stoneman Douglas to the National Statuary Hall in the U.S. Capitol Building.

Admission is free to the August 22 event and refreshments will be served.  For more information and to RSVP contact Laura Morilla at 305-375-4967 or at [email protected].

For directions and information about activities offered at The Women’s Park, visit The Women’s Park web page or call Anne McCudden at 305-480-1717.

About The Women’s Park
A Miami-Dade County park founded June 16, 1992, The Women’s Park was the first park dedicated to women in the United States. It was created to honor all women past, present, and future for their contributions to the betterment of the quality of life in Miami-Dade County. Members of the original Women’s Park Founders Committee include Roxcy O’Neal Bolton (“Mother of the Park”), Bonnie Lano Rippingille, Molly Turner, Teresa Zorilla Clark, Dr. Dorothy Jenkins Fields, Leona H. Cooper, Katherine Fernandez Rundle, and Silvia Unzueta, as well as the late Elaine Gordon, Monna Lighte, and Helen Miller.

Miami-Dade Parks is a world-class parks system supported by the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade and focused on Placemaking, Health and Fitness, and Conservation and Stewardship. About Miami-Dade Parks visit our website. About the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade visit their website.