Media Contact:
Laura Morilla, Commission for Women
[email protected]

The Women's Park to host Miami-Dade's free celebration for Women's Equality Day - "On the road to the Centennial: A 2020 agenda"

MIAMI (August 02, 2016)

On Saturday, August 20, 2016, 10 a.m.-1 p.m., the Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces Department will host Miami-Dade’s fourth annual celebration for “Women’s Equality Day” at The Women’s Park, located at 10251 W. Flagler St. (Luisa Garcia-Toledo Blvd.), Miami. The event commemorates both the 96th anniversary of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which granted voting rights to U.S. women, and continued efforts on behalf of equal rights. It is being sponsored by the Miami-Dade County Commission for Women and the League of Women Voters of Miami-Dade County. Event admission and parking are free.  Refreshments will be served.

As part of the program, attendees will see the short documentary “Forward Into Light: Inez Milholland,” about the life of suffrage leader Inez Milholland. A distinguished panel of experts will also talk about political campaigns and elections to encourage women to run for office.  The panelists for will include Honorable Karyn Cunningham, Palmetto Bay Councilwoman, Honorable Felicia Robinson, Vice Mayor of Miami Gardens, and political consultants Shellie Levin, Niaya Patterson, and Sasha Tirador.

For more information and to RSVP contact Laura Morilla at 305-375-4967 or at [email protected]

For directions and information about activities offered at The Women’s Park, visit The Women’s Park web page or call Vivian Greer-Digon at 305-480-1717.

Miami-Dade Parks is a world-class parks system supported by the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade and focused on Placemaking, Health and Fitness, and Conservation and Stewardship.

About The Women’s Park

A Miami-Dade County park founded June 16, 1992, The Women’s Park was the first park dedicated to women in the United States. It was created to honor all women past, present, and future for their contributions to the betterment of the quality of life in Miami-Dade County. Members of the original Women’s Park Founders Committee include Roxcy O’Neal Bolton (“Mother of the Park”), Bonnie Lano Rippingille, Molly Turner, Teresa Zorilla Clark, Dr. Dorothy Jenkins Fields, Leona H. Cooper, Katherine Fernandez Rundle, and Silvia Unzueta, as well as the late Elaine Gordon, Monna Lighte, and Helen Miller.