Media Contact:
Karla Damian

Electric fans at Metromover stations keep transit riders cool

MIAMI (October 13, 2016)

Summer months in South Florida can be brutal. With temperatures soaring up into the 90s, even in the shade, you can still feel the heat.

That is why Miami-Dade County’s Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTPW) has initiated a program to install electric fans at Metromover platforms with the idea of providing a more comfortable travel experience for its riders. 

In November 2015, DTPW began installing the fans, which will be placed at 16 of the 21 Metromover stations in the system.

These 16 stations were selected because they had the highest structural ceiling clearance, which would allow for the installation of the fans. DTPW is installing two fans per station.

So far, fans have been installed at nine Metromover stations: Bayfront Park, Brickell, College/Bayside, College North, Eleventh Street, Freedom Tower, Miami Avenue, Park West, and Tenth Street.

Currently, fans are being installed at the Museum Park Station, with the rest of the fans scheduled to be installed by April 2017.

DTPW Director, Alice N. Bravo, P.E., said this is one of many initiatives DTPW is implementing to enhance the rider’s experience and encourage the use of public transportation.

“This is one of several innovative ideas we have initiated to offer our patrons a more comfortable and enjoyable transit experience. Our aim is to encourage even more people to discover how easy and convenient it can be to use public transportation,” Bravo said. “Aside from being safe and reliable, we want our service to also be appealing.”

To plan a trip on transit, residents and visitors are encouraged to download the newly upgraded free Miami-Dade Transit Tracker app, which offers complete trip-planning information, as well as real-time information for approaching buses, Metrorail and Metromover vehicles.

The public also can visit the Department’s website, or speak with a Transit agent by calling 305-891-3131, Monday through Friday, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and on Saturdays, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Closed on Sundays and County-observed holidays.