Media Contact:
Karla Damian

Miami-Dade County seeks to add high-quality concessions and amenities to its Metrorail and Metromover stations

MIAMI (October 31, 2016)

Miami-Dade County’s Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTPW) is requesting proposals from qualified companies to construct and operate high-quality concessions and amenities at its Metrorail and Metromover stations.

Much like those found in large transit systems, such as New York City and Washington D.C., these concessions would offer beverage and food items, retail items, newspapers and magazines, and more.

“By adding high-quality concessions and amenities at our Metrorail and Metromover stations, our patrons will be able to grab a cup of coffee or the newspaper right before catching their train,” said Alice N. Bravo, P.E., Director of DTPW.

“This is one of the many ways in which we are making the use of transit more convenient for our riders” added Bravo.

The Department plans to have concessions and amenities that also offer competitively-priced products and services appropriate for each station.

To learn more about how DTPW is improving its transit services, visit the Department’s website. This site also provides complete schedule information, station maps and more.

To plan a trip on transit, residents and visitors are encouraged to download the newly upgraded free Miami-Dade Transit Tracker app, which offers complete trip-planning information, as well as real-time information for approaching buses, Metrorail and Metromover vehicles. The app now has a new feature that allows riders to purchase mobile tickets directly from the palm of their hands. With EASY Pay, your mobile device becomes your ticket and all you need to do is scan and ride.

Don’t forget, you can now also pay for parking at our Metrorail surface lots with your smartphone through the PayByPhone cashless mobile application.

The public also can visit the Department’s site, or speak with a Transit agent by calling 305-891-3131, Monday through Friday, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and on Saturdays, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Closed on Sundays and County-observed holidays.