## Miami-Dade Local Mitigation Strategy (LMS)

As part of the FY 2018-19 budget submission process, Departments will now be required to submit their Local Mitigation Strategy (LMS) project listing as part of their annual budget submission package. This is to ensure that departments are updating their LMS projects on an annual basis.

The primary purpose of the LMS is to establish an on-going process that will make hazard mitigation part of the County's annual routine. The LMS is a process whereby the County assesses its vulnerabilities to all types of hazards (i.e. hurricanes, tornados, wildfires, thunderstorms, marine hazards, floods, man-made hazards, lightening, etc.) and identifies a comprehensive list of goals, objectives, plans, programs and/or projects in an effort to decrease or eliminate the effects of those vulnerabilities, and then prioritizes the implementation of those initiatives. Most importantly, the purpose of the LMS plan is to satisfy the minimum Federal Emergency Management Agency local mitigation plan standards of acceptability to remain eligible for Federal and State disaster and non-disaster mitigation funding opportunities. The County's LMS Plan must be in accordance with the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 and must be updated every five years to remain compliant. The County's LMS is updated on an annual basis and the annual update is provided to the State by Jan 31st of each year. The County's LMS documents are posted on the County's website <a href="http://www.miamidade.gov/fire/mitigation.asp">http://www.miamidade.gov/fire/mitigation.asp</a>.

When submitting your LMS projects, please make sure these projects, if funded, are included in your Departmental capital projects listing as presented in the Proposed/Adopted budget books and if they are not funded, these projects should be included in your "Unfunded" departmental capital projects listing.

Below is a listing of departments that currently have LMS projects identified. If your departmental contact is incorrect and/or not listed, please contact the Office of Emergency Management to update. For those Departments that have <a href="mailto:never submitted">never submitted</a> an LMS project, please contact Cathie Perkins, Planning Bureau Manager in the Office of Emergency Management at 305.468.5429 or email her at <a href="mailto:never">perkins@miamidade.gov</a> for more detailed information on how to get started. Because this process requires a detailed level of planning at the department level, it is extremely important that you start working with Cathie as soon as possible. Please keep in mind the budget submissions are due on February 12, 2018.

County Departments with active Projects on the LMS list as of January 2018

- Fire Rescue
- Libraries
- Parks Recreation and Open Spaces
- Police
- Public Housing and Community Development
- Regulatory and Economic Resources
- Transportation and Public Works
- Seaport
- Water and Sewer

Department	Contact	Email	Department	Contact	Email
ASD	Virgina Diaz	VCDIAZ@miamidade.gov	Police	Julie K. Abbudhl	ikAbbuhl@mdpd.com
ВСС	Alina M. Gonzalez	Alina,Gonzalez@miamidade.gov	PROS	Joanne Case	JMCASE@miamidade.gov
СПТ	Ann Carmouze	Ann.Carmouze@miamidade.gov	PROS	Joyce Denny	JDENNY@miamidade.gov
DWSM	Stacy Santos	Stacy.Santos@miamidade.gov			
Elections	Rena Saiter	Rena.Saiter@miamidade.gov	PROS	Gina Drakes	ggong@miamidade.gov
Finance	Raul de la Campa	rauld@miamidade.gov	PROS	Angus Laney	alaney@miamidade.gov
Fire	Gricel Acosta	gricel.acosta@miamidade.gov	PROS	Paul Vitro	paul.vitro@miamidade.gov
Fire	_	Angela.Boreland-Bas@miamidade.gov	RER	Charles Cyrille	charles.cyrille@miamidade.gov
Fire		katrina.hollis-baker@miamidade.gov	RER	Vince Seijas	Vince.Seijas@miamidade.gov
Fire 	John Meizoso	john.meizoso@miamidade.gov	RER	Noel Stillings	Noel.Stillings@miamidade.gov
Fire HR	Annette Reed Vivian Uchdorf	Annette.Reed@miamidade.gov	Seaport	Andrea Chao	achao@miamidade.gov
MTPW	Quimet Custals	Vivian.Uchdorf@miamidade.gov Quimet.Custals@miamidade.gov	Seaport	Felix Pereira	fpereir@miamidade.gov
MTPW	Alex Barrios	BarriA@miamidade.gov	Seaport	Ronald Rojas	ronr@miamidade.gov
MTPW	Manuel Garcia	mga@miamidade.gov	SWM	Stacey McDuffie	asrw2@miamidade.gov
MTPW	Maritza Gray	Maritza.Gray@miamidade.gov	Vizcaya	Gina Sacchetti	Gina.Sacchetti@vizcaya.org
MTPW	Daryl Hildoer	Daryl.Hildoer@miamidade.gov	WASD	Mannix Annalise	Annalise.Mannix@miamidade.gov
MTPW	Celestine Maple	Celestine.Maple@miamidade.gov	200 0000		
ОМВ	Michelle Aleman	alemanm@miamidade.gov	WASD		A69@miamidade.gov
ОМВ	Doris MacPherson	dmac@miamidade.gov	WASD	Michael Breaux	Michael.Breaux@miamidade.gov
ОМВ	Daniel Wall	Daniel.Wall@miamidade.gov	WASD	David Charran	David.Charran@miamidade.gov
PHCD	Terry Bianchi	Terry.Bianchi@miamidade.gov	WASD	Jerome Deslouches	JDESLO@miamidade.gov