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Miami-Dade County
Building and Neighborhood Compliance Department

Permitting Procedures 
for Temporary Tents and 

Membrane Structures
What is a temporary structure?

A temporary structure is considered to be a tent or 
membrane structure erected for a period of more 
than 45 days but less than 180 days that is used for 
special events such as revivals, carnivals, assemblies, 
circuses, sporting events and for the sale of items 
such as sparklers, Christmas trees, pumpkins, 
stuffed animals and/or flowers. Events of 45 days 
or less should refer to the procedures established for 
Short Term Events.

Do all temporary structures require a building permit?

No.  Tents erected for camping and for events in 
single family residences do not require a building 
permit. Building permits are only required for 
temporary tents and membrane structures that 
are larger than 10’ x 12’ or any size membrane 
structure used for the sale of items such as 
sparklers, Christmas trees, pumpkins, stuffed 
animals and/or flowers.

I have a temporary structure that requires a 
permit.  Where do I go to apply for a permit?

Building permits for the erection of temporary 
structures in unincorporated Miami-Dade 
County can be obtained from the Building and 
Neighborhood Compliance Department, Miami-
Dade County Permitting & Inspection Center, 
11805 S.W. 26th Street (Coral Way).

Who is a qualified applicant?

The department will recognize a tent erector 
company as a qualified applicant.  A general 
contractor or a specialty contractor can also serve 
as a qualified contractor.  For further details, please 
refer to Chapter 10 of the Code of Miami Dade 
County or Chapter 489 of the Florida Statutes.
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What should I bring to the Building and 
Neighborhood Compliance Department to apply 
for a permit?

You will be required to bring a completed permit 
application signed by a qualified applicant; two 
completed sets of plans showing all property 
lines, together with dimensions of same; all 
street(s) or avenue(s) on which the property 
is located; the location, setback, dimensions 
and description of all existing buildings, 
light standards, driveways, customer parking 
areas and the size, location and setbacks of 
the temporary structure(s); the location and 
number of restroom facilities.  Plans detailing 
the temporary structure must comply with the 
Florida Building Code (FBC), and NFPA 102; and 
should contain product approved drawings and 
Notice of Acceptance from Miami-Dade County 
if applicable.  All plans must include structural 
calculations and a copy of the Class A flame 
spread certification.  Additionally, if bleachers 
or stages are being used, these items must be 
detailed and structural calculations are required.  
Plans must be signed and sealed  by a State of 
Florida licensed architect or engineer.

The plans will be reviewed for compliance with 
life safety requirements, structural integrity, 
fire rating, electrical, mechanical, accessibility, 
and plumbing requirements, if applicable.  In 
addition to being reviewed by the Building and 
Neighborhood Compliance Department, plans 
will be reviewed by other regulatory agencies 
including, but not limited to, the Department of 
Environmental Resources Management (DERM) 
and Miami-Dade Fire Rescue Department.  
Additional requirements for the assembly of 
temporary structures are outlined below:

Special Requirements for Assemblies, 
Circuses and Sporting Events
❏   Applications for the building permit must be submitted at 

least thirty days prior to the event.

Q

A
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❏	  Parking requirements for circuses and sporting events shall 
be calculated on a basis of one parking space for every 50 
square feet of tent area. All such parking spaces must be 
provided on the subject site.

❏  A letter from the property owner authorizing the dates of 
the event. 

❏	   A letter from the sponsor detailing the event.

❏   Written approval for sanitation and food service from 
the Florida Department of Health, Division of Hotel and 
Restaurant at 8405 N.W. 53rd Street, (305) 470-5680.  

❏  Written approval from Miami-Dade County Police 
Department at one of the following locations:

5975 Miami Lakes Drive East  . . . . . . . . . .(305) 557-7090

9101 N.W. 25th Street  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .(305) 471-2800

7707 S.W. 117th Avenue . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  (305) 279-6929

Miami International Airport  . . . . . . . . . . .(305) 876-7373

2950 N.W. 83rd Street  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .(305) 836-8601

10800 SW 211th Street . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  (305) 378-4300

15665 Biscayne Boulevard  . . . . . . . . . . . . .(305) 940-9980

MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏ A review of site and assembly (seating) plans are required.

❏ Minimum head room 7’6”.

❏  The following must be provided in order to comply with 
the South Florida Fire Prevention Code, Article 40:
 A.  Provide one ABC type “2A” fire extinguisher for each 

400 sq. ft., where mounted top of  the extinguisher does 
not exceed five feet above floor.  After the first 1200 sq. 
ft. (three extinguishers), provide one additional extin-
guisher for each 1000 sq. ft.

 B. Minimum aisle width with seating 44”.  Aisles serving  
areas other than seating shall not be less than five feet 
wide and the number of such aisles shall be at the 
discretion  of the authority having jurisdiction.
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C. No parking within 100 feet except upon a public street. 
D. “No Smoking” sign.
E. Provide Flame spread (class A) affidavit of affirmation. 
F. There shall be a minimum of 12 feet between stake lines 

(Multiple Tents).
G. No unauthorized open flames permitted in tents.
H. Heating devices must comply with NFPA 101 (11.10), 

2000  Edition and the authority having jurisdiction.
I. Fire watch is required for all tents over 1600 sq. 

ft.  To arrange, please call Miami-Dade Fire Rescue 
Department (786) 331-4800. 

Special Requirements for Tent Sales  
of Sparklers

❏  Sparkler sales can only be conducted on property zoned BU 
(Business District).

❏  Applications for the building permit must be submitted at 
least fourteen days prior to the date the sparkler sales will 
commence. 

❏ Site drawing identifying parking spaces.

❏  Written approval from Florida Department of Health at 
1725 N.W. 167th Street, (305) 623-3500.

❏  Executed agreement between the property owner and the 
sparkler retailer, giving permission to use the property for 
the sale of sparklers and the dates of operation.

MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏  Application is to include a copy of the Certificate of 
Registration available from State Fire Marshal (850)   
413-3170.

❏  Copy of the company owner’s Florida Driver’s License.

❏  Site drawing identifying proximity of all buildings, other 
structures and streets and indicating location and type of 
fire extinguishers.

❏  Fire watch will be required if tent exceeds 1600 square feet or 
if distance separation to buildings is less than 100 feet. Tents 
are to be at least 25 feet from streets and 30 feet from property 
lines. A Fire Department Inspector will make a final determi-
nation if a fire watch is required at the time of inspection.
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❏  Provide dates and hours of operation.

❏  Provide a minimum of two approved fire extinguishers 
rated 2A10BC to be readily visible and placed near exits. 
Travel distance to extinguishers is not to exceed 75 feet.

❏  There shall be no smoking in tents, and appropriate 
“No Smoking” signs shall be displayed conspicuously.

❏  Sparklers shall be sold in packages or zip locked or tied 
polyethylene bags.

❏  Sales from motor vehicles are prohibited.

❏  Sparklers shall not be stored, sold or dispensed in any  manner 
where combustibles or flammable materials are dispensed.

❏  Sparklers shall be stored on skids or pallets a minimum 
of 4” off the ground to protect the chemical stability of the 
compounds from moisture.

❏  All merchandise must be removed from the tent daily 
unless an approved security system is provided.

❏  All storage containers shall be labeled “Class C Explosives” 
or “Explosives 1.4G”.

Special Requirements for Tent Revivals 
and Carnivals

❏  Applications for the building permit must be submitted at 
least 30 days prior to the event.

❏  A tent revival is permitted on bona fide church premises, on 
industrial properties and on properties zoned BU-2 or BU-3. 
A carnival tent is permitted on bona fide school properties.

❏  Signed waivers of objection from 100% of all property own-
ers within 500 feet or signed waivers of objection from 80% 
of all property owners or tenants of residential buildings 
within 1,000 feet of the site proposed for the tent revival, 
including their addresses and phone numbers.

❏  A letter from the property owner authorizing the dates of 
the event and a letter from the sponsor detailing the event.
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❏  Written approval from Miami-Dade County Police 
Department at one of the following locations:

5975 Miami Lakes Drive East . . . . . . (305) 557-7090

9101 N.W. 25th Street  . . . . . . . . . . . . (305) 471-2800

7707 S.W. 117th Avenue . . . . . . . . . . . (305) 279-6929

Miami International Airport  . . . . . . (305) 876-7373

2950 N.W. 83rd Street  . . . . . . . . . . . . (305) 836-8601

10800 S.W. 211th Street  . . . . . . . . . . . (305) 378-4300

15665 Biscayne Boulevard  . . . . . . . . (305) 940-9980

❏  Parking requirements for tent revivals shall be calculated 
on the basis of one parking space for every 50 sq. ft. of tent 
area. All such parking spaces must be provided on the sub-
ject site.

MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)
The  following must be provided in order to comply with the 
South Florida Fire Prevention Code, Article 40:

 A.  Provide one ABC type “2A” fire extinguisher for each 
400 sq. ft., where mounted top of the extinguisher  does 
not exceed five feet above floor.  After the first 1200 sq. 
ft. (three extinguishers), provide one additional extin-
guisher for each 1000 sq. ft.

B. Minimum aisle width with seating 44”.  Aisles serving 
areas other than seating shall not be less than five feet 
wide and the number of such aisles shall be at the dis-
cretion of the authority having jurisdiction.

C. No parking within 100 feet except upon a public street. 
D. “No Smoking” sign.
E. Provide Flame spread (class A) affidavit of affirmation. 
F. There shall be a minimum of 12 feet between stake lines 

(Multiple Tents).
G. No unauthorized open flames permitted in tents.
H. Heating devices must comply with NFPA 102, 1986 

Edition and the authority having jurisdiction.
I. Fire watch is required for all tents over 1600 sq. ft.  To 

arrange, please call Miami-Dade Fire Rescue Department 
(786) 331-4800. 
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Special Requirements for Christmas Trees

❏  Christmas tree sales can only be conducted on properties 
zoned BU (Business District)

❏  Applications for the building permit must be submitted at 
least fourteen days prior to the date the Christmas tree sales 
will commence.

❏  Written approval from Florida Department of Health at 
1725 N.W. 167th Street, (305) 623-3500.

❏  Executed agreement between the property owner and the 
Christmas tree retailer, giving permission to use the proper-
ty for the sale of Christmas trees and the dates of operation.

MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏  A review of site and assembly (seating) plans are required.

❏  Minimum head room 7’6”.

❏  The following must be provided in order to comply with 
the South Florida Fire Prevention Code, Article 40:
A.  Provide one ABC type “2A” fire extinguisher for each 

400 sq. ft., where mounted top of the extinguisher does 
not exceed five feet above floor.  After the first 1200 sq. 
ft. (three extinguishers), provide one additional extin-
guisher for each 1000 sq. ft.

B. Minimum aisle width with seating 44”.  Aisles serving 
areas other than seating shall not be less than five feet 
wide and the number of such aisles shall be at the dis-
cretion of the authority having jurisdiction.

C. No parking within 100 feet except upon a public street. 
D. “No Smoking” sign.
E. Provide Flame spread (class A) affidavit of affirmation. 
F. There shall be a minimum of 12 feet between stake lines 

(Multiple Tents).
G. No unauthorized open flames permitted in tents.
H. Heating devices must comply with NFPA 102, 1986 

Edition and the authority having jurisdiction.



8

I am planning on cooking under my membrane 
structure. Is this allowed?

No cooking is allowed under a membrane 
structure unless  approval is given by the Miami-
Dade Fire Rescue Department. Additional 
requirements include: a written approval from the 
Miami-Dade County Health Department; a Class 
A flame spread certificate; and an inspection from 
the Division of Hotels and Restaurants.

How long does it take for my plans to be 
processed?

According to the type of membrane structure, 
your plans will be processed within the following 
time frames:

type of Membrane structure:
Tents used for the sale of items such as sparklers, Christmas 
trees, pumpkins, stuffed animals, and/or flowers.

Deadline for plan submittal:
Plans must be submitted Monday - Friday, between the 
hours of  7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., excluding legal holidays.

anticipated Completion time for plan reviews:
Four (4)  to five (5) days.

type of Membrane structure:
Tents used for Revivals, Carnivals, Assemblies, Circuses 
and/or  Sporting Events

Deadline for plan submittal:
Plans must be submitted Monday - Friday, between the 
hours of 7:30 a.m. -  4:00 p.m., excluding legal holidays

anticipated Completion time for plan reviews:
Four (4)  to five (5) days.

please remember to allow adequate time for all 
plans to be processed.

Is there a fee for obtaining permits for 
membrane structures?

Yes. Please obtain a copy of the department's fee 
schedule for current information. In addition 
to the Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department’s fees, fees may be required from other 
applicable agencies such as, but not limited to, 
DERM and Fire.

Q
A

Q
A

Q
A
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are any other permits required from the Building 
and Neighborhood Compliance Department?

Yes.  A final building inspection by the Building 
and Neighborhood Compliance Department is 
required for all membrane structures that are 
issued a building permit. Inspections are required 
for electrical, plumbing and/or mechanical work. 
Additionally, please note the special inspection 
requirements outlined below:

Special Inspection Requirements For Tent 
Sales of Christmas Trees

❏  The tent must be erected and all final inspections must be 
requested and approved prior to obtaining a Certificate of 
Use and Occupancy.

MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏  Christmas tree sale permits will not be issued unless the 
Miami-Dade County Fire Rescue Department inspects the 
site. To have an inspection, please call the Fire Engineering 
Section at (786) 315-2771 at least five days prior to the sale. 
Sites will be stocked and ready for operation at time of 
inspection, otherwise, permit will not be issued.

❏  Permit is not valid until site has been approved and permit 
is signed by a Fire Department Inspector. Permits are to be 
kept on the premises and are subject to inspection by any 
representative of the Fire, Police or Building departments.

Special Inspection Requirements For 
Assemblies, Circuses And Sporting Events

❏  If food is being prepared or sold in conjunction with the 
event, contact the Division of Hotels and Restaurants at 
(850) 487-1395 to arrange for an inspection.

❏  The tent must be erected and all final inspections must be 
requested and approved prior to obtaining a Certificate of 
Use and Occupancy.

Q
A
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MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏  Permits will not be issued unless the Miami-Dade County 
Fire Rescue Department inspects the site. To have an inspec-
tion, please call the Fire Engineering Section at (786) 315-
2771 at least five days prior to the sale. Site will be stocked 
and ready for operation at time of inspection, otherwise, 
permit will not be issued.

❏  Permit is not valid until site has been approved and permit 
is signed by a Fire Department Inspector. Permits are to be 
kept on the premises and are subject to inspection by any 
representative of the Fire, Police or Building departments. 

Special Inspection Requirements For Tent 
Sales Of Sparklers

❏  The tent must be erected and all final inspections must be 
requested and approved prior to obtaining a Certificate of 
Use and Occupancy.

MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏  Sparkler sale permits will not be issued unless the Miami-
Dade County Fire Rescue Department inspects the site. To 
have an inspection, please call the Fire Engineering Section 
at (786) 315-2771 at least five days prior to the sale. Sites will 
be stocked and ready for operation at time of inspection, 
otherwise, permit will not be issued.

❏  Permit is not valid until site has been approved and permit 
is signed by a Fire Department Inspector. Permits are to be 
kept on the premises and are subject to inspection by any 
representative of the Fire, Police or Building  departments.

Special Inspection Requirements For  
Tent Revivals And Carnivals

❏  The Tent must be erected and all final inspections must be 
requested and approved prior to obtaining a Certificate of 
Use and Occupancy.
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MIaMI-DaDe FIre resCue DepartMeNt (FIre)

❏  Permits will not be issued unless the Miami-Dade County 
Fire Rescue Department inspects the site. To have an 
inspection, please call the Fire Engineering Section at (786) 
315-2771 at least five days prior to the event. Sites will be 
stocked and ready for operation at time of inspection, other-
wise, permit will not be issued.

❏  Permit is not valid until site has been approved and permit 
is signed by a Fire Department Inspector. Permits are to be 
kept on the premises and are subject to inspection by any 
representative of the Fire, Police or Building departments.

What steps do I follow in order to receive 
a Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department inspection?

Please have the approved plans and permit 
card posted at the job site.  Call for a Building 
and Neighborhood Compliance Department 
inspection 24 hours in advance.

Is a Certificate of Occupancy (C.O.) and a 
Certificate of use (C.u.) required for my event 
and membrane structures?

Yes.  A Certificate of Occupancy (C.O.) will be issued 
by the Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department once all final inspections are approved. 
The Certificate of Use (C.U.) will be issued by the 
Department of Planning and Zoning for the specific 
dates of the event.  Fees for C.U.’s vary depending 
on the type of event.  Please contact the Department 
of Planning and Zoning, Zoning Permits Section at 
(786) 315-2666 for further information on fees.

My special event is a major event. Can the 
Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department have inspectors readily available?

Yes. The Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department will be able to station inspectors 
at the site during the time of erection of the 
structure.  Inspectors will be available to address 
problems or issues which arise and require 
immediate attention.  For further information, 
please contact the Building and Neighborhood 
Compliance Department at (786) 315-2000.

Q

Q
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My special event occurs annually and I re-use 
the same membrane structure.  In order to 
receive a building permit, do I follow the same 
process each year?

Each year you will be required to submit a completed 
permit application, the site plan, landscape plan 
and soil improvement certification as required by 
code.  You also must submit all other event specific 
documentation, such as, but not limited to:  letters of 
authorization, dates and hours of events, and Florida 
Department of Health approval.

The actual specifications for the membrane 
structure do not need to be re-submitted.  You 
will only need to indicate the permit number 
from the previous year on your site plan.  
Additionally, you will need to submit a notarized 
affidavit from the tent manufacturer authorizing 
the use of the drawings.  At the time the permit 
is ready to be issued, the design professional/ 
engineer will be required to sign and seal copies 
of the drawings that have been reproduced from 
the Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department archives.

Can I have typical tents processed in advance of 
my event in order to have building reviews and 
approval for standard membrane structures on 
record to help expedite the approval of a permit 
for the event?

Yes.  As previously mentioned, the Building and 
Neighborhood Compliance Department will 
review typical types of membrane structures 
throughout the year and will file the drawings 
in the Building and Neighborhood Compliance 
Department’s files for future use.

Each year you will be required to submit a 
completed permit application, the site plan, 
landscape plan and soil improvement certification 
as required by code.  You also must submit all 
other event specific documentation, such as, but 
not limited to:  letters of authorization, dates 
and hours of events, and Florida Department of 
Health approval.

Q

A

Q

A
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The actual specifications for the membrane 
structure do not need to be re-submitted.  You will 
only need to indicate the permit number from the 
previous year on your site plan.  Additionally, 
you will need to submit a notarized affidavit from 
the tent manufacturer authorizing the use of the 
drawings.  At the time the permit is ready to be 
issued, the design professional/engineer will be 
required to sign and seal copies of the drawings 
that have been reproduced from the Building and 
Neighborhood Compliance Department archives.

are these all of the regulation and permitting 
procedures for membrane structures?

No.  Please remember that this information 
is being provided to you as a guide to assist 
you with the permitting process for membrane 
structures.  Please contact each applicable agency 
to verify and obtain recent information.

Additionally, contact the Department of Planning 
and Zoning with reference to Certificate of Use 
requirements.

Q
A
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Miami-Dade County provides equal access and equal opportunity in employment  
and services and does not discriminate on the basis of disability .  

“It is the policy of Miami-Dade County to comply with all of the requirements  
of the Americans with Disabilities Act.”


