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2012 TAXICAB MEDALLION AUCTION 

INFORMATION PACKAGE 
 
 
As mandated by Section 31-82 (o) (6) of the Miami-Dade County Code, the Sustainability, Planning and 
Economic Enhancement Department (SPEED) and the Miami-Dade County Clerk of the Courts will 
auction six (6) taxicab medallions to the highest bidder. 
 
When: February 14, 2012 at 9:00 a.m. 
Where: 140 W. Flagler Street, Room #908, Miami, Florida 33130 
What: 6 taxicab medallions (4 regular and 2 wheelchair) 
 

 The Clerk of the Circuit Court of Miami-Dade County shall sell each license to the highest and 
best bidder, who shall pay the amount bid by a cashier’s check within thirty (30) days from the 
time of sale.   

 A $70 sales fee must be paid by the successful bidder at the time of the auction.  This fee can 
be paid cash, money order or cashier’s check.  

 Two (2) of the six (6) for-hire taxicab licenses shall be operated using accessible vehicles.  A 
for-hire license issued pursuant to the preceding sentence as an accessible vehicle shall 
remain so classified despite any change in ownership of the for-hire license after its issuance.   

 Participation in the auctions shall be limited to natural persons or corporations organized or 
qualified to do business under the laws of Florida where all of the shares of each corporation 
are held by a single natural person (“wholly-owned corporation”), and which satisfy the 
requirements and criteria provided in sections 31-82(c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j) (k) and (r).   

 The minimum price for taxicab for-hire licenses which must operate accessible vehicles shall 
be one hundred thousand ($100,000) dollars.  The minimum price for the remaining taxicab 
for-hire licenses auctioned shall be one hundred and forty thousand ($140,000) dollars.   

 Prior to participating in an auction, a prospective bidder shall provide the Clerk of the Board 
with a letter from a registered bank or lending institution stating that the bidder has sufficient 
funds to pay the established minimum price for a for-hire license.    

 Each successful bidder shall provide SPEED with a cashier’s check in an amount equal to ten 
(10) percent of the total amount bid within two (2) business days of the sale which shall be 
non-refundable.  

 Any successful bidder shall provide SPEED with a cashier’s check for the remainder of the 
amount bid within thirty (30) days from the time of sale.   

 In the event that the highest and best bidder does not provide SPEED with a cashier’s check 
in an amount equal to ten (10) percent of the total amount bid and/or does not provide SPEED 
with a cashier’s check for the remainder of the amount bid within thirty (30) days from the time 
of sale, or the highest and best bid for a for-hire license does not satisfy the minimum price 
required by the Code, the Clerk of the Board shall schedule another auction for the unsold for-
hire license within sixty (60) days.   

 Any successful bidder who does not satisfy the for-hire license requirements of sections 31-
82(c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k) and (r) shall have ninety (90) days from the date of sale in 
which to apply for the transfer of such license to a natural person or corporation organized or 
qualified to do business under the laws of Florida where all of the shares of the corporation 
are held by a single natural person, and which satisfies the requirements and criteria provided 
in sections 31-82(c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j) (k) and (r).  

 A for-hire license issued pursuant to the auction may only be transferred, voluntarily or 
involuntarily, to a natural person or corporation organized or qualified to do business under the 
laws of Florida where all of the shares of the corporation are held by a single natural person, 
and which satisfies the requirements and criteria provided in sections 31-82(c), (d), (e), (f), (g), 
(h), (i), (j) (k) and (r).  As a condition of transferring a for-hire license to a wholly-owned 
corporation, the wholly-owned corporation shall agree, in a form prepared by SPEED, to be 
jointly and severally liable for all asserted and unasserted claims, liabilities, causes of action, 
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and/or lawsuits arising out of or relating to the for-hire license transferred to the driver-owner 
which accrued prior to the transfer of the for-hire license (“assumption of liability”).  The 
assumption of liability required in this subsection shall run to the benefit of, and be 
enforceable by, any third party who has an unsatisfied judgment, claim, cause of action or 
lawsuit against the prior owner(s) arising out of or relating to the for-hire license transferred as 
provided herein. 

 
Pursuant to 31-82(d), no person shall be issued a for-hire medallion who: 
 
(1) Has misrepresented or concealed a material fact on his, her or its application; 
(2) Is an alien who is not duly authorized to work by the immigration laws or the 

Attorney General of the United States; 
(3) Is a user of alcohol or drugs whose current use would constitute a direct threat to 

property or the safety of others; 
(4) Has pled nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found guilty or been convicted of a 

felony within the last five (5) years, regardless of whether adjudication has been 
withheld, unless his or her civil or residency rights have been restored;  

(5) Has pled nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found guilty or been convicted of any 
crime wherein a for-hire vehicle was employed whether or not adjudication has 
been withheld;  

(6) Has pled nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found guilty or been convicted of any 
felony, regardless of whether adjudication has been withheld, involving moral 
turpitude relating to sex, the use of a deadly weapon, homicide, violence against 
a law enforcement officer under Section 775.0823, Florida Statutes, or is a 
habitual violent felony offender under Section 775.084, Florida Statutes;  

(7) Has violated any condition, limitation, or restriction of a for-hire license imposed 
by the director or commission where the director deems the violation to be 
grounds for denial;  

(8) Was enjoined by a court of competent jurisdiction from engaging in the for-hire 
business or was enjoined by a court of competent jurisdiction with respect to any 
of the requirements of this chapter;  

(9) Has as a stockholder, officer, director, or partner of a corporation or partnership 
committed an act or omission which would be cause for denying a for-hire license 
to the officer, director, stockholder, or partner as an individual;  

(10) Failed to comply with the terms of a cease and desist order, notice to correct a 
violation or any other lawful order of the director;  

(11) Has failed to satisfy the residency and domicile requirements of this chapter; 
(12) Does not have a place of business located in Miami-Dade County, Florida; 
(13) Has any unsatisfied civil penalty or judgment pertaining to for-hire operation; 
(14) Has had a for-hire license issued by Miami-Dade County revoked; 
(15) Has within the last five (5) years plead nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found 

guilty or been convicted of any misdemeanor (regardless of whether adjudication 
is withheld) involving moral turpitude relating to sex; or  

(16) Has within the last ten (10) years pled nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found 
guilty or been convicted (regardless of whether adjudication is withheld) of any 
offense involving trafficking in narcotics. After said ten-year period, such a person 
shall only be eligible if and when his or her civil or residency rights have been 
restored.  

 
Each taxicab operated pursuant to a medallion issued pursuant to the auction must comply with the 
following requirements:   
 
Dispatch System 
 
(i) Shall within one hundred and twenty (120) days from the issuance of the for-hire license be equipped 
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with an operable mobile two-way radio or electronic dispatch system, installed and operating properly 
that is connected to and subscribed to service with a passenger service company that has a fixed-base 
call center operated twenty-four (24) hours a day, 365 days a year and by which a dispatcher may 
communicate with the taxicab chauffeur during all hours of vehicle operation to provide for-hire 
transportation to a passenger. Notwithstanding the foregoing, mobile two-way radio or electronic 
dispatch systems required by the preceding sentence shall, within eighteen (18) months of the issuance 
of the for-hire license, be integrated with a global positioning dispatch system capable of determining 
the location of each taxicab utilizing the system twenty-four (24) hours a day, 365 days a year;  
 
(ii) Shall within one hundred and twenty (120) days from the issuance of the for-hire license be 
equipped with an operable taximeter meeting the requirements described in this subsection. All 
customer receipts shall be generated by a taximeter or other electronic device, shall contain the fare 
charged, the name and telephone number of the passenger service company, the operating permit 
number, the chauffeur registration number, date and time of transaction and the telephone number for 
filing complaints with SPEED. In addition, all taximeters shall be programmed with the approved special 
service rates.  
 
Security Camera  
 
Shall within twelve (12) months from the issuance of the for-hire license be equipped with an operable 
digital security camera system (“DSCS”) with the following minimum requirements: 
 
(1) The camera must record sharp, undistorted original still images that are reliable for identification of 
all individuals seated in any position inside the taxicab and under all lighting conditions including 
darkness with a strong rear light source.  
(2) The DSCS shall record images and shall display at the top of each image the time/date, taxicab 
number, trigger source, and recording unit serial number.  
(3) Storage capacity shall be, at a minimum, 4,000 images.  
(4) When memory storage capacity is reached, the DSCS shall overwrite the oldest images as new 
images are recorded in sequence.  
(5) Images shall be recorded and stored in a recording unit, within the vehicle, separate from the 
mounted camera. No image shall be transmitted from the recording unit to any other electronic device 
via the internet or any other means.  
(6) The manufacturing process for the camera and the camera itself shall be certified by the 
International Organization for Standardization.  
(7) The camera head housing and brackets shall be tamper-proof and securely mounted to the right of 
the rear-view mirror. The installation shall provide unobstructed vision for the driver.  
(8) The camera housing mounting brackets shall prevent any adjustment of camera aim except by 
certified installers.  
(9) The recording unit housing and installation brackets must use tamperproof fasteners. The recording 
unit, and all cables, must be installed under the dash board and concealed from view.  
(10) The DSCS shall contain a visual indication of system status readily visible to the chauffeur and 
enforcement personnel inspecting the vehicle from outside of the driver door.  
(11) The DSCS and components shall be sufficiently shock-resistant to withstand typical vehicle 
movement and collisions.  
(12) Image capture shall be linked to the following events: vehicle door openings and closings, meter 
engagement and activation of an emergency switch that is linked to the DSCS.  
(13) Image access shall be provided only to law enforcement agencies.  
 
Notice of a digital security camera system and a privacy notice shall be prominently displayed within the 
taxicab, as required by regulations promulgated by SPEED;  
 
Credit Card  
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Shall within one hundred and twenty (120) days from the issuance of the for-hire license be equipped 
with an operable credit card processing system. The credit card processing equipment shall allow the 
passenger to utilize the card in the rear compartment of the taxicab without handing the card to the 
chauffeur. Said equipment shall list tips, fare, tolls and port fees separately. In addition, said equipment 
shall have the ability to electronically authorize the transaction in a timely manner. The credit card 
processing equipment shall:  
 
(a) provide for a printed receipt that shall contain the fare charged, the name and telephone number of 
the passenger service company, the operating permit number, the chauffeur registration number, date 
and time of transaction and the telephone number for filing complaints with SPEED.  
(b) be linked to the taximeter and include a global positioning system.  
(c) display itemized fare information, provide for an ability to choose the payment form, and provide for 
the option of adding a gratuity;  
(d) provide for a passenger information module with touch screen capability;  
(e)There shall be no additional charge added to the fare for the use of a credit card. No minimum 
charge may be imposed for the use of a credit card to pay a fare. A taxicab that accepts credit cards in 
payment of fares must post upon the vehicle the type of credit cards accepted for payment. The 
specifications of said posting shall be prescribed by SPEED. The credit card payment process shall 
comply with the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard or its equivalent; and  
(f) A taxicab equipped with a credit card processing system shall not be operated when the credit card 
processing system is not operational;  
 
Warning Light 
Shall within one hundred and twenty (120) days from the issuance of the for-hire license be equipped 
with operable warning lights for the purpose of advising others and law enforcement agents that an 
emergency situation exists within the vehicle.  
 
(a) The warning light system shall consist of two devices.  
(b) Such devices shall be mounted one at the front center of the vehicle, either on top of the bumper or 
in front of or behind the grill. The second device shall be mounted on top of the rear bumper, to the left 
of the license plate.  
 
This is only an information package - for full details, please refer to the Miami-Dade County 
Code, Chapter 31-82.  For questions regarding the 2012 Taxicab Medallion Auction, contact Raul 
Gonzalez at (305) 375-5801 or by email at gonzalr@miamidade.gov.   


