If you want to have your final judgment entered as a lien against a real property owned by the defendant, you must obtain a certified copy at the location where your case was heard and then have it recorded at County Recorder's Office. See below for a complete list of our fees.
The recorded final judgment will serve as a lien for up to 20 years from the date the judgment was signed but must be re-recorded every 10 years to stay in effect.
The Clerk's Office can also assist you in enforcing a foreign judgment.
Garnishment of Wages
This is an order issued by the deputy clerk in which a third party, usually an employer or a bank, is told to hold the money until a hearing is held. At the hearing, a judge decides if the money should be awarded to you.
Writ of Execution
Copies of Judgments
Enforcing a Foreign Judgment
- A certified copy of the foreign judgment along with a non-certified copy
- The judgment creditor shall file an original and copy of an affidavit with:
- Social Security number, if known
- Last known post-office address of the judgment debtor
- Address of the judgment creditor (and attorney's name, address, phone number and bar number)
The enforcement of the foreign judgment is jurisdictional. The amount of the judgment determines which court this matter will be filed in. A judgment for less than $30,000 is filed in County Court whereas a judgment in excess of $30,000 is filed in Circuit Court. The appropriate fees as listed below must be made payable to the Clerk of the Court.
Filing a Writ of GarnishmentDo not compute the amount of interest into the total amount due on your Motion and Writ of Garnishment. You may indicate that interest is owed, what percent and from what date, but do not add this amount to your judgment.
Your Writ of Garnishment must include the garnishee's address. Three (3) copies of the writ are required, but only the original signed motion is required.
For further information regarding Writs of Garnishment, please contact the Court Registry Unit at:
Miami-Dade County Courthouse
73 West Flagler Street, Room 138
Miami, Florida 33130
These instructions apply only to state court. For additional information you may refer to the Florida Statutes, Chapter 55, specifically 55.501 through 55.509, the "Florida Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act."
Recording fees are based upon the number of pages in each document. For recording purposes the judgment and the affidavit are separate documents.
Postage fees cover the cost of the registered mailing of the notice of recording of foreign judgment to each debtor as set forth in the affidavit of judgment creditor.
Upon receipt of the appropriate documents and fees, the Clerk of the Court will record the documents and send out the notice of recording. The attorney submitting the judgment will receive a courtesy copy of the notice indicating judgment may be contested before becoming a lien.
Upon submission of proper forms, the clerk may then issue a Writ of Execution or a Writ of Garnishment.
- Adoptions, including sealing the file - $443
- Dissolution of marriage - $409
- All other actions(except non-domestic petitions) - $301
- Non-domestic-related petitions - $401
- Each defendant in excess of 5 - $2.50
- Appeal to District Court of Appeals (Check written to District Court) - $300
- Appeal to District Court of Appeals (Collected by Clerk) - $100
- Proceedings of garnishment, attachment, replevins and distress - $85
- Filing fee for reopening a case - $50
- Attorney appearing pro hac vice - $100
- Notice of recording foreign judgments - new suits - $42
- Cross claim, counterclaim 3rd party complaint filing fee - $295
- Maintain professional guardian files - $7.50