Skip to main content
Miami-Dade County Clerk of the CourtsHarvey Ruvin

Postponement or Excusal Request

Request to postpone jury duty

If the date of jury service is inconvenient, it is a policy of the Court to grant one courtesy request for postponement of jury duty. 

In order to postpone service, you must log into eJuror and register. Once you have completed your registration, you will have the option to postpone your service.

This option is only available up to seven (7) days before your start date on your summons. The system will display all available dates.  You must log into eJuror the Friday evening before your postponed date to verify your reporting status.  You may also be notified via text or email if you select that method of communication during registration. Postponements less than seven (7) days before your start date are only granted in extenuating circumstances, so please make sure to complete your registration and postpone if needed with sufficient time.

Request for Excusal from jury duty

Jurors requesting to be excused must log into eJuror and register. Once you have completed your registration, you will have the option to request an excusal or disqualification from jury service for your current summons.

The following persons MUST request to be disqualified from jury duty and provide the appropriate documentation to be disqualified:

  • Persons who are under 18 years of age
  • Persons who are not U.S. citizens (proof of non-citizenship must be submitted)
  • Persons who are no longer residents of Miami-Dade County (if you live in another state, include a copy of your new Driver License from that state, if you live in Florida but not in Miami-Dade County, submit a copy of your Florida Driver License with your new address). If you reside outside of the United States of America, you must notify the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • Persons presently under prosecution for a crime (proof of current ongoing criminal case must be submitted)
  • Convicted felons who have not had their civil rights restored (proof of conviction, probation order and/or charging document must be submitted)
  • Deceased persons


The following persons are allowed to serve, but MAY be excused from jury duty upon request:

  • Persons with a physical incapacity, mental incapacity, mental illness, intellectual disability or senility (an original, current, signed doctor's certificate must be submitted)
  • Persons who served as a juror within one year of their summons date (submit a copy of your certificate of attendance from the court where you physically reported for jury service within one year)
  • Persons responsible for the care of an infirm or disabled family member, who are not employed fulltime (additional information may be required)
  • Expectant mothers (submit a doctor's certificate)
  • Active, full-time law enforcement officers. This exemption does not include correction officers in Miami-Dade County.
  • Persons 70 years of age or older
  • Parents with a child 5 years of age or younger, who are not employed full-time


I meet one or more of the following screening exclusions:

  1. I am awaiting a COVID-19 test result based on symptoms or suspected exposure
  2. Within the past 14 days, I have had close contact with someone who has a current COVID-19 diagnosis or who is awaiting a COVID-19 test result based on symptoms or suspected exposure
  3. I am under instructions to self-isolate or quarantine due to COVID-19
  4. I have at least one of the following COVID-19 symptoms (not due to a known medical reason other than COVID-19):
    • Cough
    • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
    • Fever or chills
    • Fatigue
    • Muscle or body aches
    • Headache
    • Sore throat
    • New loss of taste or smell
    • Congestion or runny nose
    • Nausea or vomiting
    • Diarrhea
  5. I am a person at higher risk for severe illness due to COVID-19 as identified by the CDC
  6. I must care for a child or relative whose regular care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19
  7. I am receiving leave pursuant to the Families First Coronavirus Response Act


All requests must be submitted through eJuror or in writing with the necessary documentation. Telephone requests for excusal or disqualification will not be accepted.

You will only be able to request an excusal or disqualification through eJuror up to seven (7)  days before the start date listed on your summons.

Note: Transportation, travel or hardships not listed here or on eJuror are not grounds for excusal but you may reschedule your service by following the instructions under request to postpone jury duty.

Jurors not reporting for duty may be held in contempt of court and/or fined up to $100.

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade Clerk of the Courts. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade Clerk of the Courts is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.