
SMALL CLAIMS COURT 
PROCESS

1

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY &
ECONOMIC RESOURCES

OFFICE OF
CONSUMER

PROTECTION

Consumer@miamidade.gov

Miamidade.gov/consumerprotection

Last Updated 10/2020

mailto:Consumer@miamidade.gov


What is Small Claims 
Court?

 Simplified court process

 Disputes of $8,000 or less

 Small Claims Rules
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Governed by Rule 7 found in the Rules of Court.
Library or Internet
Simple – Speedy - Inexpensive
  Small Claims is a term used to describe a procedure which simplifies the court process used for resolving civil disputes that involve relatively small amounts of money ($5,000 or less--excluding court costs, interest and/or attorney's fees, if applicable). Small Claims cases are heard in the civil division of the county court. 
The Small Claims Rules serve to make the small claims court process simpler, speedier and more informal than the regular civil court process. These rules are published in the Florida Rules of Court and the Florida Statutes Annotated. These publications can usually be found at any public library or law library. If you are not familiar with the Small Claims Rules, you should read them for your own information prior to going through the small claims process. 



Jurisdictional Amounts

 Small Claims Court
 $8,000.00 or less

 County Court
 $8,000.01 - $50,000.00

 Circuit Court
 $50,000.01 and up

In County and Circuit Courts, the rules 
of evidence and procedure are applied 

more stringently. 3

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Replevin of property less than $8,000

Evidence is liberally construed



Costs to File

 Small Claims Court
 $.01 to 99.99 and less $55.00
 $100.00 to $500.00 $80.00
 $500.01 to $2,500.00 $175.00
 $2,500.01 to $8,000.00 $300.00

 County Civil Court
 $8,000.01 - $15,000.00 $300.00
 Evictions/removal of tenant actions $185.00

 Circuit Civil Court
 $50,000.01 and up $401.00
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Reimbursed if you win the case
Motion to tax costs



When to sue in small claims?
 Always attempt a resolution first.

Demand Letter

Consider using FREE mediation services such as the Office of Consumer 
Protection Mediation Center or DOACS

 Is there a valid legal claim?

- Breach of contract
- Car Accident

- Landlord/Tenant dispute
- Unpaid wages 

- Contractor dispute

 Is there sufficient evidence to prove the claim in court?
- What’s your proof?

- Contracts, emails, text messages, photos are all valuable evidence

 Evaluate the claim:
- Can I get more than $8,000?

 Is it worth my time & money to file?
(CBA – Cost/Benefit Analysis)
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Corporation need not be represented by attorney as in county court or circuit court. Therefore save on fees.  Can prove more than $8,000, but you can only get $8,000.  



Who may sue in small claims?

 Any person eighteen (18) years of age or 
older.

 A person under 18 years old may also sue 
in small claims, but only if his/her parent(s) 
or guardian files the suit for him/her.

 A business, whether or not owned by an 
individual, a partnership, or a corporation.
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Corporation can be represented by an officer or employee, if the corp. officer authorizes the employee in writing and presented at the PTC.
Exception – collecting on claims – court can require an attorney to represent the corporation.
Save on attorneys fees.
You can prove more than $8,000, but you can only get $8,000.
  



Statute of Limitations

 Section 95.11, Florida Statutes

 5 years – written contract

 4 years – verbal contract

 4 years – negligence

 2 years – recovery of wages/overtime 
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Where to file your case?

 Where did the incident happen?
- You can sue here.

 Where does the defendant reside?
- You can sue here.

 Where is the property located?
- You must sue here.
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
* the county where the defendant (the person you want to sue) lives; or 
* the county where the dispute or event which gave rise to the lawsuit (called the cause of action); or
* the county where the property in dispute is located; or
In an action where money is due, the county where the payment is received.  
Where the contract is entered into
Any location agreed to in a contract
Where an unsecured promissory note is signed
If the Defendant disagrees, (s)he can appear at the PTC an orally request a transfer or file a written request in affidavit form 7 days before the court date.



Filing Locations
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Dade County Courthouse - Downtown
73 West Flagler Street, Rm. 137
Miami, FL 33130

South Dade Justice Center
10710 SW 211 Street, Rm. 1200 
Miami, FL 33189

Coral Gables District Court
3100 Ponce de Leon Blvd.
Coral Gables, FL 33134

Sweetwater Branch – FILING ONLY
500 SW 109th Avenue
Sweetwater, FL 33142

Miami Beach District Court 
1130 Washington Avenue, Rm. 224
Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hialeah Branch
11 East 6 Street
Hialeah, FL 33010

North Dade Justice Center
15555 Biscayne Blvd., Rm. 100
Miami, FL 33160



Miami-Dade County 
Clerk’s Office

 File your case with the Clerk of Courts

 Monday – Friday (excluding holidays)
9 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Please check the Clerk of Court's website for updated 
hours/delivery methods during Covid-19.

 Clerks may assist the public with filling out 
Statement of Claims form, but cannot assist 

you with your narrative, or provide legal 
advice.

 Acquire forms online
http://www.miami-dadeclerk.com/property_small_claims.asp 10

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Rule – Clerk must assist, but can’t fill out specifics

http://www.miami-dadeclerk.com/property_small_claims.asp
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Statement of Claim Form
Division 

Plaintiff 
(you)

Reason for 
Suit

Phone

Defendant 
(them)

Explanation
Amount
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Statement of Claim Form



Locating the Defendant
 County & Municipal Occupational License Offices

 Local Business Tax 305-270-4949
 https://miamidade.county-taxes.com/public

 Miami-Dade County Public Library 
 305-375-2665, https://www.mdpls.org/

 Voter’s Registration Search:
 http://registration.elections.myflorida.com/CheckVoterStatus

 Marriage License Search
 https://www2.miami-dadeclerk.com/mlsweb/LicenseSearch.aspx

 Miami-Dade County Property Appraiser (305) 375-4712
 Real property search: http://www.miamidade.gov/propertysearch/#/

 Miami-Dade County Clerk of Courts
 Public records search: https://www2.miami-dadeclerk.com/public-

records/Search.aspx
 Court records search: http://www.miami-

dadeclerk.com/online_services.asp
13

https://miamidade.county-taxes.com/public
https://www.mdpls.org/
http://www.miamidade.gov/propertysearch/#/
https://www2.miami-dadeclerk.com/public-records/Search.aspx
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Locating the Defendant Cont’d
 Florida Dept. of State Division of Corporations:

 Entity Search: 
http://search.sunbiz.org/Inquiry/CorporationSearch/ByName

 Fictitious Name Search: http://www.sunbiz.org/ficinam.html
 Judgment Lien Search: http://www.sunbiz.org/jlilist.html

 Florida Dept. Agriculture & Consumer Services 
 Business or Individual License/Complaint Lookup:
https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/businesssear
ch.aspx

 Florida Dept. of Business & Professional Regulation
 License Search: 

https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=&brd=&t
yp=

 Florida Office of Financial Regulation License Search
 http://www.flofr.com/StaticPages/VerifyALicense.htm

 Florida Dept. of Health - Provider License Search
 https://appsmqa.doh.state.fl.us/IRM00PRAES/PRASLIST.ASP

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
What Services Require A DBPR License?
The businesses and professions listed below are licensed and regulated by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. If you have any questions about whether a specific service, establishment, or individual may require a license, please contact our Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.�
Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco
�Architects
�Asbestos Contractors and Consultants
�Athlete Agents
�Auctioneers
�Barbers
�Boxing, Kickboxing and Mixed Martial Arts
�Building Code Administrators and Inspectors
�Certified Public Accounting
�Community Association Managers
�Construction Industry
�Cosmetology
�Drugs, Devices and Cosmetics Program 
�Electrical and Alarm Contractors
�Elevators and Other Conveyances, Technicians, Inspectors and Companies
�Employee Leasing Companies
�Geologists
�Harbor Pilots
�Home Inspectors
�Hotels, Motels, Apartments and other lodging
�Interior Design
�Landscape Architecture
�Mold-Related Services
�Pari-Mutuel Wagering Facilities
�Real Estate
�Restaurants, Take-outs, Delivery, Caterers and Mobile Food Vendors
�Talent Agencies
�Veterinary Medicine
�Yacht and Ship Brokers and Salespersons
Please visit our Unlicensed Activity page to learn more about how you can help us combat unlicensed activity.

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has regulatory authority over some of Florida's business industries. These include:
Business Opportunities
Charitable Organizations
Do Not Call (Florida List) 
Game Promotions/Sweepstakes
Health Studios (Gyms)
Motor Vehicle Repair
Movers (Household Intrastate) 
Pawnshops
Sellers of Travel
Surveyors and Mappers
Telemarketing
Financial Reg Office
Collection Agencies
Consumer Finance Companies
Loan Originators, Brokers and Lenders
Money Services Businesses
Retail Installment Sellers and Sales Finance Companies
Broker-Dealer Firms/Branches
Investment Adviser Firms/Branches
DOH Regulates:
Regulated Professions
911 Public Safety TelecommunicatorDietitian/NutritionistOrthotistAcupunctureElectrologistOsteopathic PhysicianAdvanced Register Nurse PractitionerEmergency Allergy Treatment ParamedicAnesthesiologist AssistantEmergency Medical TechnicianPedorthistAthletic TrainerHearing Aid SpecialistPharmacistAudiologistLicensed Practical NursePharmacy TechnicianBody Piercer/OperatorMarriage and Family TherapistPhysical TherapistCertified Chiropractic Physician AssistantMassage TherapistPhysical Therapist AssistantCertified Environmental ProfessionalMedical DoctorPhysician AssistantCertified Master Social WorkMedical PhysicistPodiatric PhysicianCertified Nurse SpecialistMental Health CounselorProsthetistCertified Nursing AssistantMidwiferyPsychologistCertified Podiatric X-Ray AssistantNursing Home AdministratorRadiologic TechnologistCertified Respiratory TherapistOccupational TherapistRegistered Chiropractic AssistantChiropractic PhysicianOccupational Therapy AssistantRegistered NurseClinical Laboratory PersonnelOpticianRegistered Respiratory TherapistClinical Social WorkerOptometristSchool PsychologistDental HygienistOrthotic FitterSeptic Tank ContractorDentistOrthotic Fitter AssistantSpeech-Language Pathologist
Regulated Facilities and Permits
Body Piercing SalonEMS Vehicle PermittingOffice Surgery RegistrationBrain and Spinal Cord InjuryEMS Education ProgramsOptical EstablishmentCounterfeit-proof Prescription VendorsEnvironmental Testing LaboratoriesPain Management ClinicsDental LaboratoriesMassage EstablishmentPharmacyElectrology FacilityMassage SchoolsTrauma SystemsElectrolysis Training ProgramsNursing Education Programs 



http://www.sunbiz.org/jlilist.html
https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/businesssearch.aspx
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=&brd=&typ
https://appsmqa.doh.state.fl.us/IRM00PRAES/PRASLIST.ASP


Service of Process
 By agreement
 Certified Return Receipt Mail ($)
 Miami-Dade Police Dept. 

Governmental Services Bureau   ($44)
(305)375-5100 

 Private Process Server ($$$)
To obtain a list of process servers in Miami-Dade County, you 
should contact the Administrative Office of the Courts at 
305-349-7369.

https://www.jud11.flcourts.org/Self-Help-Center/Process-
Servers/Self-Represented-Litigant-Resources
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Self Represented Litigant Resources – Service of Process information 

https://www.jud11.flcourts.org/Self-Help-Center/Process-Servers/Self-Represented-Litigant-Resources


Service of Process
For more information on Fees and 
Procedures for Court Services, please visit:
https://www8.miamidade.gov/global/police
/fees-and-procedures.page

Or call:

Miami-Dade Police Dept. Governmental 
Services Bureau, Court Services Section 
305-375-5100
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https://www8.miamidade.gov/global/police/fees-and-procedures.page


Service of Process

17
Visit: https://www.jud11.flcourts.org/Process-Servers to locate a certified 
process server in Miami-Dade County. 

https://www.jud11.flcourts.org/Process-Servers
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Notice to Appear Form
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Notice to Appear Form



Pre-Trial Conference

20

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Meet the judge.  You’ll see a lot of people there, just like here, including attorneys who handle collections and subrogation cases.
Bailiff takes attendance
Stacks cases in both parties present. Plaintiff Only. Defendant Only.
The case will be dismissed if there is no service within 6 months.
Simplification of issues
Necessity to amend pleadings
Obtain admissions of fact and documents
Limit witnesses
Telephonic testimony – Motion
Free Mediator 
Defensive pleadings – not necessary
Rule 7.090: (e) Waiver of Appearance at Pretrial Conference. Where all parties are represented by an attorney, counsel may agree to waive personal appearance at the initial pretrial conference, if a written agreement of waiver signed by all attorneys is presented to the court prior to or at the pretrial conference. The agreement shall contain a short statement of the disputed issues of fact and law, the number of witnesses expected to testify, an estimate of the time needed to try the case, and any stipulations of fact. The court shall forthwith set the case for trial within the time prescribed by these rules. In small claims actions, an attorney may appear on behalf of a party at mediation if the attorney has full authority to settle without further consultation. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a nonlawyer representative may appear on behalf of a party to a small claims mediation if the representative has the party’s signed written authority to appear and has full authority to settle without further consultation. In either event, the party need not appear in person. Mediation may take place at the pretrial conference. Whoever appears for a party must have full authority to settle. Failure to comply with this subdivision may result in the imposition [of] costs and attorney fees incurred by the opposing party. 
No triable issue- case will be dismissed. 
Case will be dismissed for lack of prosecution.  Must re-file and reserve and pay additional filing fees
Must prove service
Attest that defendant is not in the military




Pre-Trial Conference
 Within 50 days of filing.
 The Statement of Claim and summons must have been served.
 Parties may appear personally or by counsel

 Where all parties are represented by an attorney, counsel may agree to 
waive personal appearance at the initial pretrial conference

 Plaintiff does not show: CASE DISMISSED
 Defendant does not show: DEFAULT JUDGMENT FOR 

PLAINTIFF (maybe, extenuating circumstances may apply)
 Judge may dismiss case for failure to state a valid legal claim of 

action.
 If business is represented by employee, written authorization 

must be filed.

 Plaintiff and Defendant show:
 Brief explanation of the case. 
 A Mediator will try to settle the case. 
 Stipulate to facts and documents, e.g. the accident occurred on this 

date, or this is the contract the parties executed, etc.
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Meet the judge.  You’ll see a lot of people there, just like here, including attorneys who handle collections and subrogation cases.
Bailiff takes attendance
Stacks cases in both parties present. Plaintiff Only. Defendant Only.
The case will be dismissed if there is no service within 6 months.
Simplification of issues
Necessity to amend pleadings
Obtain admissions of fact and documents
Limit witnesses
Telephonic testimony – Motion
Free Mediator 
Defensive pleadings – not necessary
Rule 7.090: (e) Waiver of Appearance at Pretrial Conference. Where all parties are represented by an attorney, counsel may agree to waive personal appearance at the initial pretrial conference, if a written agreement of waiver signed by all attorneys is presented to the court prior to or at the pretrial conference. The agreement shall contain a short statement of the disputed issues of fact and law, the number of witnesses expected to testify, an estimate of the time needed to try the case, and any stipulations of fact. The court shall forthwith set the case for trial within the time prescribed by these rules. In small claims actions, an attorney may appear on behalf of a party at mediation if the attorney has full authority to settle without further consultation. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a nonlawyer representative may appear on behalf of a party to a small claims mediation if the representative has the party’s signed written authority to appear and has full authority to settle without further consultation. In either event, the party need not appear in person. Mediation may take place at the pretrial conference. Whoever appears for a party must have full authority to settle. Failure to comply with this subdivision may result in the imposition [of] costs and attorney fees incurred by the opposing party. 
No triable issue- case will be dismissed. 
Case will be dismissed for lack of prosecution.  Must re-file and reserve and pay additional filing fees
Must prove service
Attest that defendant is not in the military




Pre-Trial Discovery 
Discovery is not permitted, unless a party is 

represented by an attorney, or the court authorizes.

Types of Discovery
 Interrogatories (a written question by one party to 

another)
 Request for Production of Documents
 Deposition (process of giving sworn evidence)
 Request for Admission (allows one party 

to request that another party admit or deny the truth 
of a statement under oath)

Other Pre-Trial Preparation
 Subpoena witnesses
 Collect/subpoena documents
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
File original pleadings with the clerk
Serve other party – Certificate of service.
When party is represented by an attorney, serve the attorney



Counter, Cross & 
Third Party Claims

 Counterclaim - a claim made by the defendant in a civil lawsuit 
against the plaintiff.
 The case may be transferred if the amount exceeds the 

jurisdictional amount.
 The counterclaim must be filed five (5) days before the Pre-Trial 

Conference.

 Crossclaim - A cross-claim is a claim by a party against a party on 
the same side of a lawsuit, such as when one defendant sues a co-
defendant. 
 Relates to any property that is the subject matter of the original 

action.

 Third-Party Claim - a claim made by a defendant against a non-
party alleging this “third party” is responsible for all or part of the 
Plaintiff’s claim.
 The judge will permit or disallow based upon a motion at the 

Pretrial Conference. 23

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
If amount exceeds $8000, the case will be transferred to county or circuit court
Filing fee must be paid

Third Party complaint – must obtain leave of court and the clerk will schedule a supplemental PTC 



Trial

 Scheduled within 60 days from the 
Pre-Trial Conference.

 A corporation may be represented 
at any stage of the trial by an officer 
of the corporation or any employee 
with written authorization (notarized 
power of attorney executed by an 
officer of the corporate entity).
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
10 days notice
Rule 7.140: At the discretion of the court, testimony of any party or witness may be presented over the telephone. Additionally, at the discretion of the court an attorney may represent a party or witness over the telephone without being physically present before the court. Any 



Jury Trial
 Jury trials may be had upon written

demand of the plaintiff at the time of the 
commencement of the suit, or by the 
defendant within five (5) days after 
service of notice of suit or at the pre-trial 
conference. 

*If you do not formally request a jury 
trial, it shall be deemed waived.

25



Trial
 You must present your own case!

 A judge cannot advocate on behalf of 
either party.

 Photos, documents and witnesses are 
your evidence, and without them you 
have a weak case.

 Burden of Proof – Preponderance of the 
evidence (>50%).
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Trial
 If witnesses won’t appear voluntarily, you must 

subpoena them (example of subpoena, next page).  
The sheriff or process server will serve the 
subpoena and you must pay a travel fee.

 You need proof that your witness was subpoenaed 
in case they don’t show up in court.

 Telephonic Testimony – Prior to the trial, file a 
motion to permit testimony by phone - if the 
witness is not available to appear at the trial.

 If you plan to appeal the case, hire a court reporter 
($100.00, plus fees per page).
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
F.S.A. 92.142 Witnesses; pay.—(1) Witnesses in all cases, civil and criminal, in all courts, now or hereafter created, and witnesses summoned before any arbitrator or general or special magistrate appointed by the court shall receive for each day’s actual attendance $5 and also 6 cents per mile for actual distance traveled to and from the courts. A witness in a criminal case required to appear in a county other than the county of his or her residence and residing more than 50 miles from the location of the trial shall be entitled to per diem and travel expenses at the same rate provided for state employees under s. 112.061, in lieu of any other witness fee.
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Trial Procedures
1. Introduce yourself

2. Plaintiff (you) proceeds first

3. Give a brief opening statement

4. Defendant cross-examines Plaintiff’s witnesses

5. Defendant may move for a Directed Verdict 
(A directed verdict is a ruling entered by a trial 
judge after determining that there is no legally 
sufficient evidentiary basis for a claim)

6. Defendant then presents his case and witnesses

7. Plaintiff rebuts and cross-examines Defendant
29



Courtroom Decorum
 Please be prepared and practice your 

opening statement beforehand, if 

necessary. 

 Be concise and to the point

 Speak clearly

 Dress appropriately

 Do not play lawyer 
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Continuances – good cause oral, but court may require to be in writing.
Rule 7.140(e) Unrepresented Parties. In an effort to further the proceedings and in the interest of securing substantial justice, the court shall assist any party not represented by an attorney on: (1) courtroom decorum; 
(2) order of presentation of material evidence; and 
(3) handling private information. 
The court may not instruct any party not represented by an attorney on accepted rules of law. The court shall not act as an advocate for a party. 
Rule 7.140(f) How Conducted. The trial may be conducted informally but with decorum befitting a court of justice. The rules of evidence applicable to trial of civil actions apply but are to be liberally construed. At the discretion of the court, testimony of any party or witness may be presented over the telephone. Additionally, at the discretion of the court an attorney may represent a party or witness over the telephone without being physically present before the court. 



Objections
 Hearsay - Information 

received from other people that 
one cannot adequately 
substantiate; a rumor.

 Opinion - If you are not an 
expert, you are simply giving an 
opinion.

 Irrelevant or 
immaterial - Information 
not pertinent to the matter at hand or 
where it has no probative value in 
proving or disproving any issue of fact 
involved.
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
The rules of evidence applicable to trial of civil actions apply but are to be liberally construed
Florida Evidence Code – Title VII Chapter 90 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0000-0099/0090/0090.html
“Hearsay” is a statement, other than one made by the declarant while testifying at the trial or hearing, offered in evidence to prove the truth of the matter asserted. It is generally inadmissible, but admissible if declarant unavailable (last words/impending death, former testimony, statement against interest, declarant availability immaterial (excited utterance, medical diagnosis, records of regular business activity) or statement by an elderly or disabled adult or child victim
90.701 Opinion testimony of lay witnesses.—If a witness is not testifying as an expert, the witness’s testimony about what he or she perceived may be in the form of inference and opinion when:(1) The witness cannot readily, and with equal accuracy and adequacy, communicate what he or she has perceived to the trier of fact without testifying in terms of inferences or opinions and the witness’s use of inferences or opinions will not mislead the trier of fact to the prejudice of the objecting party; and
(2) The opinions and inferences do not require a special knowledge, skill, experience, or training.
90.703 Opinion on ultimate issue.—Testimony in the form of an opinion or inference otherwise admissible is not objectionable because it includes an ultimate issue to be decided by the trier of fact; experts may use opinion (90.702)
Irrelevant or immaterial: Irrelevant evidence has no tendency to prove or disprove any contested fact in a lawsuit.




Judgment
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 For the Plaintiff
 Record Judgment w/ Clerk’s Office @ 22 N.W. 1st Street, Miami, FL
 Interest rate per Annum (per year):

 Indicate correct addresses of parties
 Check off Fact Information Sheet Request
Good for 20 years, but it must be re-recorded every 10 years with the 
Recorder’s Office and 5 years with the Department of State to stay in effect.

Effective Date Rate Per 
Annum

Daily Rate as a 
Percentage

Daily Rate as 
a Decimal

January 1, 2022 4.25% .0116438% .000116438

October 1, 2021 4.25% .0116438% .000116438

July 1, 2021 4.25% .0116438% .000116438

April 1, 2021 4.31% .0118082% .000118082

January 1, 2021 4.81% .0131781% .000131781

October 1, 2020 5.37% .0146721% .000146721

July 1, 2020 6.03% .0164754% .000164754

April 1, 2020 6.66% .0181967% .000181967

January 1, 2020 6.83% .0186612% .000186612



Final
Judgment 

Form
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Post Judgment Motions

 10 days to file a Motion For Rehearing 
(and 30 days to appeal the court’s 
decision on this motion)

 1 year to file a Motion for Rehearing 
based on:
 Fraud
 Excusable Neglect
 Newly Discovered Evidence
 Clerical Mistake
 Inadvertence (a result of inattention; oversight)
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Appeal
 In the unfortunate case that you lose your suit, you 

have 30 days to file an appeal to the Appellate 
Division of the Circuit Court. 

 There is a filing fee to the Appellate Division of the 
Circuit Court. 

 $281.00 for the appeal.

 $100.00 deposit for preparing the record on 
appeal and $1.00 for each additional page.  
Refundable if less and more money if more 
preparation is involved. 
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Collecting on a Judgment

 Obtain a Certified Copy of the Judgment
 $1.00 for each page copied
 $2.00 for certifying the copy

 Record the Certified Copy (becomes a lien)
@ 22 N.W. 1 Street, Miami, FL

• $10.00 for a one page document
• $8.50 for each additional page 

 Judgment Lien Recording (Dept. of State) 
 $20 & $5 each additional page - gives you priority
 www.sunbiz.org

36

http://www.sunbiz.org/


Effect of a Judgment Lien

 Defendant will be 
“stigmatized”

 A judgment may 
hurt defendant’s 
credit

 The judgment will 
follow defendant 
forever

37

A history of deception
If plaintiffs had looked deeper into the 
defendant’s past before hiring him, they 
would have discovered a history of legal 
trouble.
The defendant, who court records show is 
36, has had to pay or still owes hundreds 
of thousands of dollars in small claims, 
check fraud, theft and civil collection cases 
in several Delaware counties, according to 
court records.
In August 2015, the defendant was placed 
on probation for 7 1/2 years after pleading 
guilty to charges of theft and habitual 
offending.
He still owes nearly $150,000 in home 
detention fees, court costs and restitution 
in that case, court records show.



Do your research first; check prior 
liens and judgments

Judgments are filed and paid in chronological order, so 
do your research first to determine if the plaintiff owes 
judgments or liens and therefore will be able to pay if 
you win your case. Use the sites below to search.

 County Recorder’s website (search 
public records, and judgments):

https://www2.miami-dadeclerk.com/officialrecords/StandardSearch.aspx

 Sunbiz judgment liens: 
http://dos.sunbiz.org/jlilist.html

38

https://www2.miami-dadeclerk.com/officialrecords/StandardSearch.aspx
http://dos.sunbiz.org/jlilist.html


How To Collect
 In most cases, the first thing a creditor (you) will 

do to collect a judgment is require the debtor to 
complete a personal information and financial 
statement, also known as a Fact Information 
Sheet.

 Defendant must answer questions within 45 days 
and bring all financial documents and papers to 
court at a hearing scheduled 45 or more days after 
judgment.

 If defendant does not answer, he may be held in 
contempt.
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Fact Information Sheet

40



Fact Information Sheet
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How To Collect
 Interrogatories In Aid of Execution

After the Final Judgment, the creditor (you), may pose questions to 
the debtor about their assets. These questions must be answered 
under oath. 

 Deposition in Aid of Execution  
Instead of the above option, you can seek to depose the debtor or 
representative if it’s a corporation. A subpoena must be served prior 
to this and you can require the debtor to bring financial statements, 
motor vehicle titles, leases, mortgages, etc. 

 Hearing In Aid of Execution 
If you do not know the employer(s) or bank(s) of the defendant 
and/or the location of any real property, you can file a motion for this 
option. The debtor must be a natural person not represented by an 
attorney. 
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How to Collect
 Writ of Execution
When issuing a Writ of Execution, a court 
typically will order Court Services or other similar 
official to take possession of property owned by a 
judgment debtor.

 THERE IS A FEE FOR THIS! (check slide 16 
for more information about fees)
 Court Services will require you to deposit money to pay 

fees and costs. 
 Court Services will seize debtor’s property.
 Plaintiff must notify defendant of pending sale.
 Auction.
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How to Collect
 Writ of Garnishment

 If you find there is no real or personal property 
which the sheriff may seize through a writ of 
execution, but you know a third person who may 
owe the debtor money or a bank account in the 
debtor’s name or anyone else who may have any 
of the defendant’s personal property, you can use 
this option by initiating a motion with the Clerk.

• THERE IS A FEE FOR THIS!
• $188 = $85 service fee; $100 deposit for garnishee; & 

$3 clerk fee are required for first writ. $103 extra for 
each additional writ.

 Defendant may assert defenses.
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Consumer Resources
 Office of Consumer Protection Mediation Center 786-469-2333

http://www.miamidade.gov/business/consumer-protection.asp

 American Bar Association Free Legal Answers
https://florida.freelegalanswers.org/

 Miami-Dade Contractor Licensing & Enforcement 786-315-2880
https://www.miamidade.gov/building/contractor-complaints.asp

 Florida Department of Financial Services Hotline 877-693-5236
 Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(DOACS) 800-435-7352
http://www.freshfromflorida.com/Divisions-Offices/Consumer-Services/Consumer-
Resources/Consumer-Protection/File-a-Complaint

 Florida Attorney General 866-966-7226
http://myfloridalegal.com/pages.nsf/Main/030e31f06ef0184d85256cc600706904

 Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation 
850-487-1395 http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

 Dade County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service 
305-371-2646 http://www.dadecountybar.org/page/lrs

 Florida Bar Consumer Information: 
https://www.floridabar.org/tfb/TFBConsum.nsf/48e76203493b82ad852567090070c9b9/7a
daf9c3481ead7685256b2f006c53fa?OpenDocument
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Additional Resources 
 http://www.miami-dadeclerk.com/courts_civil.asp
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Additional 
Resources 

The Dade County Bar 
Association (DCBA) 
offers consultations 
with attorneys for up 
to 30 minutes after 
paying the non-
refundable fee of 
$50.00.         
*You must qualify for this 
service. 
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Apply online anytime:
www.legalservicesmiami.org

Apply by phone: 305-547-0080
Monday-Thursday
1:30pm – 4:30pm

Registration is required.

http://www.legalservicesmiami.org


Collecting on Your Judgment
 Settling your case early could save a lot of time and 

money, even if you only receive a fraction of the damages.

 The defendant is more likely to pay if he/she agrees to the 
payment amount and terms.

Rule 7.130 (b)
Settlements in full or by installment payments made by the parties 
out of the presence of the court are encouraged. The plaintiff shall 
notify the clerk of settlement, and the case may be dismissed or 
continued pending payments. 
Upon failure of a party to perform the terms of any stipulation or 
agreement for settlement of the claim before judgment, the court 
may enter appropriate judgment without notice upon the creditor’s 
filing of an affidavit of the amount due.
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Frequently Asked Questions
Will I get paid if I win a judgment?

Even if the court decides in your favor, it won't handle 
collection for you. We provide information on “How to 
Collect a Judgment in Florida” for you to better 
understand your options are when it comes to collecting. 

Please remember to ask yourself, “Can I collect if I win?” 
If not, filing a claim may not be your best option. 
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Can I bring a lawyer to small claims court?

“In small claims actions, an attorney may appear on behalf of a 
party at mediation if the attorney has full authority to settle 
without further consultation. Unless otherwise ordered by the 
court, a nonlawyer representative may appear on behalf of a 
party to a small claims mediation if the representative has the 
party’s signed written authority to appear and has full authority to 
settle without further consultation. In either event, the party need 
not appear in person. Mediation may take place at the pretrial 
conference. Whoever appears for a party must have full authority 
to settle. Failure to comply with this subdivision may result in the 
imposition [of] costs and attorney fees incurred by the opposing 
party”

Please see Rule 7.090 Appearance; Defensive Pleadings; Trial Date
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What about my filing fees? Do I get those back if I win?

The costs for filing a Small Claims action include the 
filing fee, based on the amount of your claim, as well 
as a service fee for summoning each party to court. If 
a Final Judgment is entered in your favor as a result of 
your lawsuit, these costs may be added to the total 
amount of your judgment.
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If I lose my case in small claims court, can I appeal?

“COURT REPORTER AND APPEALS — your nonjury trial will not be 
recorded. If you wish a record of the proceedings, a court reporter 
is necessary. To obtain a court reporter to record your final 
hearing, you must immediately contact the official court reporter. 
The cost to secure the presence of a court reporter is a minimum 
of $___ for the first one-half hour or any portion thereof and $___ 
per each additional half hour or portion thereof. To have the 
record of the proceeding transcribed, the cost is $___ per page for 
the original and per page for each copy. Payment for the court 
reporter’s appearance must be made in advance to the official 
court reporter. Appeals to a higher court because you are not 
satisfied with the outcome of the trial are governed by special 
rules. One of these rules requires that the appellate court have a 
complete record of the trial to review for errors. If you do not 
have a court reporter at your trial, your chances for success on 
appeal will be severely limited.”

Rule 7.300, Form 7.323 subsection 7 for more information on Court 
Reporters and Appeals 54
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Where should I file my small claims lawsuit?

Assuming the other party lives or does business in your 
state, rules typically require that you sue in the small claims 
court district closest to that person's residence or 
headquarters. In some instances, you also might be able to 
sue in the location (court district) where a contract was 
signed, or a personal injury occurred (such as an auto 
accident).

If a defendant has no contact with your state, you'll 
generally have to sue in the state where the defendant lives 
or does business. Because of the distance involved, out-of-
state small claims lawsuits tend to be expensive and 
unwieldy.

Rule 7.060: Process and Venue, subsection (a) for more 
information on where to file 55
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If I'm sued in small claims court, but the other party is 
really at fault, can I sue them?

In Florida, you must file a counterclaim if you have a 
claim against the other party. 

If the amount you sue for is under the small claims 
limit, your case will probably remain in that court. If 
you want to sue for more, check with your small claims 
clerk for applicable rules. Often, you'll need to have the 
case transferred to a different court that has the power 
to handle cases in which more money is at stake.

Rule 7.100: Counterclaims, Setoffs, Third-Party Complaints, 
Transfer When Jurisdiction Exceeded 56
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What's the best way to present my small claims case to a judge?

First, understand that the judge is busy and has heard dozens of 
stories like yours. To keep the judge's attention, get to the point 
fast by describing the event that gave rise to your claim. 
Immediately follow up by stating how much money you are 
requesting after you have clearly stated the key event. Double 
back and tell the judge the exact events that led up to your loss.

Whether you are a plaintiff (the person suing) or the defendant 
(the person sued), you need to back up your story with evidence. 
One of the best ways to prove your case is with letters or in-
person testimony from eyewitnesses or expert witnesses. 
Depending on the facts of your case, you can also use 
photographs, advertisements falsely promoting a product or 
service, and written contracts to convince the judge you are right.

Rule 7.300: Form 7.323 (Pretrial Conference Order and Notice of 
Trial) Subsection 6 (Trial Preparation) for more information. 
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Do I have to file my small claims case within a specific 
timeframe?

Yes. On slide seven (7) of this presentation, we provide 
you with the “statute of limitations” for certain types of 
cases within the State of Florida. 

How much can I sue for in small claims court?

Jurisdictional amounts are on slide three (3) of this 
presentation. For claims of $8,000 or more, you may 
want to inquire about filing your suit in either County 
Court, or Circuit Court.
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What can I do to resolve my problem without going to small 
claims court?

We always suggest drafting a demand letter explaining why you’re 
owed the money and asking that it be paid in a specific timeframe, 
such as 15, or 30 days.

There is also community or court-based mediation, such as the 
Miami-Dade Office of Consumer Protection, or the Florida’s 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, designed to 
help parties arrive at a settlement with the help of a neutral third 
party. Mediation works best where the parties have an interest in 
staying on good terms, as is generally the case with neighbors, 
family members, or small businesses who have done business 
together for many years.
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Can any type of case be resolved in small claims court?

No. Small claims courts primarily resolve small monetary disputes, 
and in a few states, evictions and restitution of property. No state 
allows you to use small claims court to file a divorce, 
guardianship, name change, or bankruptcy, or to ask for 
emergency relief (such as an injunction to stop someone from 
doing an illegal act). A few states also prohibit small claims suits 
based on libel, slander, false arrest, and a few other legal 
theories.

How many jurors are on a small claims court jury? 

As per Miami-Dade County Civil Court, 18 jurors sit on a jury when 
requested. 

For a copy of the Florida Small Claims Court rules, visit:
https://www-media.floridabar.org/uploads/2017/04/small-
claims.pdf
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