
Elevator-Administrative Fines Schedule.doc 

 
 

      Miami-Dade County GSA 
          SCHEDULE OF FINES 
Applicable to all owners, Public and Private 

In accordance with the Florida Statutes Chapter 399, Florida Administrative Code 61C-5 and Chapter 30 of the Florida Building Code, the 
Office of Elevator Safety may impose fines of up to $1,000 for certain violations of the Statute and of various codes. The following fine 
schedule will be followed as a guideline, and the Office of Elevator Safety reserves the right to impose such fines after the determination of 
a violation, by issuance of a civil summons or by administrative action.  

 
Item Violation Cite Fine 1st 

Offense 
Fine 2nd 
Offense 

Fine 3rd or More 
Offenses, Each 

1 Performing work without a permit 399.105 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

2 Operating equipment without a Certificate of Operation 399.07(5) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

3 Operating equipment without a current Certificate of 
Operation  

399.07(1) $50.00 
(004) 

$150.00 
(005) 

$250.00 
(006) 

4 Operating equipment without a current Certificate of 
Operation, older than one (1) year 

399.07(1) $500.00 
(007) 

$750.00 
(008) 

$1,000.00 
(009) 

5 Refusal to allow County inspector access to equipment for 
inspection. 

399.049(1)(d) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

6 Failure to properly maintain equipment, as required by law. 399.02(5)(b) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

7 Failure to correct violations as required by law 399.105 $250.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

8 Operating equipment without a valid inspection, or with 
reported violations 

399.061 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

9 Refusal to obey a lawful order of compliance, issued by OES. 399.105 $250.00 
(007) 

$500.00 
(008) 

$1,000.00 
(009) 

10 Failure to obtain final inspection for permitted work 399.05(5)(a) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

11 Failure to report an accident 399.125 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

12 Late submittal of inspection report 399.049 $100.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

13 Release of equipment for operation by public without a valid 
Certificate of Operation 

399.105 $500.00 
(010) 

$750.00 
(011) 

$1,000.00 
(012) 

14 Failure to maintain operation of equipment as required by 
code* (elevators serving 3 or more floors or 25’ or more) 

399.035 (2) $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

15 Falsification of inspection report 399.049 $250.00 
(007) 

$500.00 
(008) 

$1,000.00 
(009) 

16 Falsification of code required tags or labels. 399.049 $250.00 
(010) 

$500.00 
(011) 

$1,000.00 
(012) 

17 Falsification of Permit or Certificate of Operation 399.049 $250.00 
(013) 

$500.00 
(014) 

$1,000.00 
(015) 

18 Disabling or vandalizing a safety device 399.11 $250.00 
(001) 

$500.00 
(002) 

$1,000.00 
(003) 

19 Performing work or inspection without a valid license. 399.11 $250.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

20 Failure to maintain or report a change in maintenance 
contract. 

399.061 
 

$250.00 
(004) 

$500.00 
(005) 

$1,000.00 
(006) 

• * For the purposes of this schedule of fines, “the code” is as defined in Chapter 399 of the Florida Statutes, the Florida Building Code, and in the Florida 
Administrative Code 61C-5, all of which adopt the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) A17.1 - 2000, the National Electric Code, ASME 
A17.2- 2000, and the ASME A17.3- 2000, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). 

• The imposition of a progressive schedule of fines for repetitive offenses is rolled back after one year following the last violation, if there are no additional 
violations. 

• All fines must have a ten dollar ($10.00) surcharge added pursuant to County Ordinance No. 99-55. 

• Additional repeat violations may be imposed if no action is taken after twenty (20) working days.  

• Appeals to these fines may be subject to additional fees and court costs, as determined by the hearing officer. 

• Fines are due and payable in U.S. Funds, by check only made payable to the Miami-Dade County Clerk of Court, within twenty (20) working days 
following the imposition of the fine by issuance of a ticket or by administrative order of the Miami-Dade County Office of Elevator Safety.  


