Skip to Primary Content

Miami-Dade County continues to monitor coronavirus (COVID-19). Get the latest updates.

The Moss Plan

In recognition of the overwhelming needs that existed in some of South Dade's long-neglected communities prior to, and in the aftermath of Hurricane Andrew, Commissioner Moss sponsored the "South Dade Neighborhood Development Concept Plans", which was renamed by a unanimous vote by the Commission, "The Moss Plan".

Commissioner Moss attended more than 40 neighborhood meetings where citizens expressed their vision and needs for the future, Neighborhoods included in the Moss Plan are: East Naranja, Florida City, Goulds, Howard, Modello, Naranja/Leisure City, Princeton, Richmond Heights, South Miami Heights, Southwest Homestead, and West Perrine.

FEMA designated $73 million for the Moss Plan. Many projects benefiting from the Moss Plan include business expansion and development, street paving and road improvements, affordable housing, community centers/recreation facilities, community gateway signs, redevelopment and expansion of parks, beautification projects, crime prevention, and homebuyer's counseling.