MEMORANDUM

Agenda Item No. 11(A)(14)

TO: Honorable Chairman Anthony Rodriguez

and Members, Board of County Commissioners

DATE: June 3, 2025

FROM: Geri Bonzon-Keenan

County Attorney

SUBJECT: Resolution reappointing Rhonda

Richardson-Comer, Taj C. Echoles, and Veronica

Thompkins to the West Perrine Community Redevelopment Agency in accordance with section 163.356, and section 2-

2456 of the Code

The accompanying resolution was prepared and placed on the agenda at the request of Prime Sponsor Vice Chairman Kionne L. McGhee.

Geri Bonzon-Keepan

GBK/ks



MEMORANDUM

(Revised)

TO:	Honorable Chairman Anthony Rodriguez and Members, Board of County Commissioners	DATE:	June 3, 2025	
]FROM:	Bonzon-Keenan County Attorney	SUBJECT:	Agenda Item No. 11(A)(14)	
Plo	ease note any items checked.			
"3-Day Rule" for committees applicable if raised				
	6 weeks required between first reading and p	oublic hearin	g	
	4 weeks notification to municipal officials rec hearing	quired prior	to public	
	Decreases revenues or increases expenditures	s without bal	ancing budget	
	Budget required			
	Statement of fiscal impact required			
	Statement of social equity required			
	Ordinance creating a new board requires des report for public hearing	tailed County	Mayor's	
	No committee review			
	Applicable legislation requires more than a r present, 2/3 membership, 3/5's majority plus one, CDMP 7 vote requir	, unanimou	ıs,	

(4)(c) _____, CDMP 2/3 vote requirement per 2-116.1(3) (h) or (4)(c) _____, CDMP 9 vote requirement per 2-116.1(4)(c) (2) ______) to approve

balance, and available capacity (if debt is contemplated) required

Current information regarding funding source, index code and available

Approved	Mayor	Agenda Item No. 11(A)(14)
Veto		6-3-25
Override		
	RESOLUTION NO.	

RESOLUTION REAPPOINTING RHONDA RICHARDSON-COMER, TAJ C. ECHOLES, AND VERONICA THOMPKINS TO THE WEST PERRINE COMMUNITY REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 163.356, FLORIDA STATUTES, AND SECTION 2-2456 OF THE CODE OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

WHEREAS, on May 3, 2022, this Board adopted Ordinance No. 22-46, as codified in article CLXIX, sections 2-2454, *et. seq.* of the Code of Miami-Dade County, Florida (the "Code"), which created the West Perrine Community Redevelopment Agency ("Agency") pursuant to section 163.356, Florida Statutes; and

WHEREAS, on November 15, 2022, this Board adopted Resolution No. R-1130-22 appointing five commissioners to the Agency, including, but not limited to, Rhonda Richardson-Comer, Taj C. Echoles, and Veronica Thompkins; and

WHEREAS, the terms of the five commissioners, in accordance with section 163.356, Florida Statutes, and section 2-2456 of the Code, were staggered with Rhonda Richardson-Comer serving a term of one year, Taj C. Echoles serving a term of two years, Veronica Thompkins serving a term of three years, and the remaining two commissioners, Leviticus L. Gilliard and Tyreke Spann serving terms of four years; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with section 163.356(3)(a), Florida Statutes, "each commissioner shall hold office until his or her successor has been appointed and has qualified"; and

WHEREAS, this Board desires to reappoint Rhonda Richardson-Comer, Taj C. Echoles, and Veronica Thompkins as commissioners, and further desires that such commissioners shall each serve a term of four years,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, that:

<u>Section 1</u>. The foregoing recitals are incorporated in this resolution and are approved.

Section 2. This Board reappoints Rhonda Richardson-Comer, Taj C. Echoles, and Veronica Thompkins to the board of commissioners of the West Perrine Community Redevelopment Agency in accordance with section 163.356, Florida Statutes, and section 2-2456 of the Code of Miami-Dade County, Florida (the "Code"). In accordance with section 163.356(2), Florida Statutes, and section 2-2456 of the Code, the foregoing commissioners shall each serve a term of four years. Such reappointments shall be evidenced by the filing of certificates of reappointment with the Clerk of the Board as required by section 163.356(3)(a), Florida Statutes.

The Prime Sponsor of the foregoing resolution is Vice Chairman Kionne L. McGhee. It was offered by Commissioner , who moved its adoption. The motion was seconded by Commissioner and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Anthony Rodriguez, Chairman Kionne L. McGhee, Vice Chairman

Marleine Bastien

Sen. René García

Roberto J. Gonzalez

Danielle Cohen Higgins

Natalie Milian Orbis

Micky Steinberg

Juan Carlos Bermudez

Oliver G. Gilbert, III

Keon Hardemon

Eileen Higgins

Raquel A. Regalado

Agenda Item No. 11(A)(14) Page No. 3

The Chairperson thereupon declared this resolution duly passed and adopted this 3rd day of June, 2025. This resolution shall become effective upon the earlier of (1) 10 days after the date of its adoption unless vetoed by the County Mayor, and if vetoed, shall become effective only upon an override by this Board, or (2) approval by the County Mayor of this resolution and the filing of this approval with the Clerk of the Board.

MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA BY ITS BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

JUAN FERNANDEZ-BARQUIN, CLERK

Approved by County Attorney as to form and legal sufficiency.

200

Terrence A. Smith Richard Appleton