OFFICIAL FILE COPY CLERK OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

MEMORANDUM

Agenda Item No. 5(A)

TO:	Honorable Chairman Jose "Pepe and Members, Board of County		March 15, 2022
FROM:	Geri Bonzon-Keenan County Attorney	SUBJECT: Resolution No. R-247-22	Resolution expanding the geographic area of the County seat of Miami-Dade County beyond the corporate limits of the City of Miami

The accompanying resolution was prepared and placed on the agenda at the request of Prime Sponsor Commissioner Joe A. Martinez, and Co-Sponsors Chairman Jose "Pepe" Diaz, Senator René García and Commissioner Rebeca Sosa.

Geri Bonzon-Keenan County Attorney

GBK/jp



MEMORANDUM

(Revised)

TO: Honorable Chairman Jose "Pepe" Diaz and Members, Board of County Commissioners

DATE: March 15, 2022

Bonzon-Keenan

County Attorney

FROM:

SUBJECT: Agenda Item No. 5(A)

Please note any items checked.

	"3-Day Rule" for committees applicable if raised
r	6 weeks required between first reading and public hearing
	4 weeks notification to municipal officials required prior to public hearing
	Decreases revenues or increases expenditures without balancing budget
	Budget required
	Statement of fiscal impact required
	Statement of social equity required
	Ordinance creating a new board requires detailed County Mayor's report for public hearing
	No committee review
	Applicable legislation requires more than a majority vote (i.e., 2/3's present, 2/3 membership, 3/5's, unanimous, CDMP 7 vote requirement per 2-116.1(3)(h) or (4)(c), CDMP 2/3 vote requirement per 2-116.1(3)(h) or (4)(c), or CDMP 9 vote requirement per 2-116.1(4)(c)(2)) to approve
	Current information regarding funding source, index code and available balance, and available capacity (if debt is contemplated) required

Approved	Mayor	Agenda Item No. 5(A)
Veto		3-15-22
Override		

RESOLUTION NO. R-247-22

RESOLUTION EXPANDING THE GEOGRAPHIC AREA OF THE COUNTY SEAT OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY BEYOND THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF THE CITY OF MIAMI

WHEREAS, Miami-Dade County, originally Dade County, was created in 1836 and comprised land that now contains Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade counties as well as the Florida Keys north of Bahia Honda Key with a county seat at Indian Key in the Florida Keys; and

WHEREAS, between 1866 and 1915 land from Miami-Dade County was divided into present day Palm Beach, Broward and portions of Monroe County; and

WHEREAS, during this time, the County seat was moved to Miami in 1844, Juno in 1888, and then returned to Miami in 1899; and

WHEREAS, there have been no significant boundary changes to Miami-Dade County

since 1915, and the county seat has remained in the City of Miami since 1899; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Constitution and Florida Statutes require that the principal offices and permanent records of all county officers be located in the municipality designated as the county seat; and

WHEREAS, the requirement that all county offices and permanent records of a county be located within the municipal boundary of the county seat is an outdated law designed for a time when transportation to government facilities and access to government information was substantially more difficult and costly; and WHEREAS, locating the primary office of all county officers and all permanent county records within a single municipality can create a financial strain on both the county, county officers, and the county seat municipality by requiring the use of high value real estate for government function that can be more effectively located elsewhere; and

WHEREAS, this Board believes that requiring all county offices and permanent records of a county to be located within the geographic boundaries of a single municipality is no longer necessary and, on balance, not in the interest of Miami-Dade County when Miami-Dade County is home to 34 municipalities, only 16.4 percent of the County's 2.7 million residents live within the geographic boundaries of the City of Miami, and over 1 million residents live in the County's unincorporated area; and

WHEREAS, section 138.12, Florida Statutes, authorizes the Board of County Commissioners to expand the geographic area of Miami-Dade's county seat beyond the corporate limits of the City of Miami by adopting a resolution after two public hearings held at intervals of not less than 10 or more than 20 days after notice of the proposal and such meetings has been published in a newspaper of general circulation; and

WHEREAS, expanding the geographical boundaries of the Miami-Dade county seat prior to the re-establishment of the previously abolished county constitutional officers in Miami-Dade County on January 7, 2025 will provide additional locations for the permanent offices of these officers at a lower financial cost to the County, the county officers, and the City of Miami; and

WHEREAS, this Board desires, in accordance with Florida law, to expand the geographical boundaries of the County seat to include all incorporated and unincorporated land with the County's urban development boundary,

4

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY

COMMISSIONERS OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, that this Board, in accordance

with section 138.12, Florida Statutes, hereby expands the geographical area of the county seat of Miami-Dade County beyond the corporate limits of the City of Miami to include all incorporated and unincorporated areas of Miami-Dade County within the Urban Development Boundary, as depicted in the Land Use Plan Map of the County's Comprehensive Development Master Plan in effect on January 1, 2022.

The Prime Sponsor of the foregoing resolution is Commissioner Joe A. Martinez, and the Co-Sponsors are Chairman Jose "Pepe" Diaz, Senator René García and Commissioner Rebeca Sosa. It was offered by Commissioner **Joe A. Martinez**, who moved its adoption. The motion was seconded by Commissioner **Rebeca Sosa** and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows:

Jose "	Pepe" Dia	z, Chairman aye	
Oliver G. C	Gilbert, III	l, Vice-Chairman nay	
Sen. René García	aye	Keon Hardemon	aye
Sally A. Heyman	aye	Danielle Cohen Higgins	aye
Eileen Higgins	aye	Joe A. Martinez	aye
Kionne L. McGhee	aye	Jean Monestime	aye
Raquel A. Regalado	năy	Rebeca Sosa	ave
Sen. Javier D. Souto	aye		J -

Agenda Item No. 5(A) Page No. 4

The Chairperson thereupon declared this resolution duly passed and adopted this 15th day of March, 2022. This resolution shall become effective upon the earlier of (1) 10 days after the date of its adoption unless vetoed by the County Mayor, and if vetoed, shall become effective only upon an override by this Board, or (2) approval by the County Mayor of this resolution and the filing of this approval with the Clerk of the Board.



MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA BY ITS BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

HARVEY RUVIN, CLERK

Basia Pruna

Deputy Clerk

By:

Approved by County Attorney as to form and legal sufficiency.



Oren Rosenthal