

MIAMI-DADE JUVENILE SERVICES DEPARTMENT CIVIL CITATION PROGRAM

- 1. Civil Citation Program Description and Criteria for enrollment.
- 2. Law Enforcement Instructions: 24 / 7 JAC contact #s 305-755-6130; 305-755-6136; 305-755-6137 and 305-755-6294.
- 3. Miami Dade Civil Citation Form
- 4. Release Agreement and
- 5. 50 Day calendar
- 6. <u>http://www.miamidade.gov/juvenileservices/civil-</u> <u>citation.asp</u>
- 7. Brochure
- 8. Questions?



Criteria for Participation in Miami-Dade County Civil Citation Program

Eligible juvenile misdemeanor offenders are afforded the opportunity to participate in The Miami-Dade County Civil Citation Program. Participation is voluntary. A criterion for eligibility is as follows:

- a. Effective as of <u>October 1st, 2015</u> first, second and third time misdemeanor offenders are eligible to participate in the process/program.
- b. Presently all referred first time misdemeanor cases are processed under the program.

Other Accepted Charges

The program is designed to offer services to all cases with misdemeanor offenses including the five offenses listed below. Once a referral is made by LEO into the program, The State Attorney's Office reviews the information to allow the youth to receive services or to process the case as a regular arrest.

- 1. Potentially eligible with approval of victim/family and SAO:
 - a. Battery (includes domestic violence)
 - b. Assault
 - c. Weapon possession cases (non-firearm)
 - d. Animal Cruelty
 - e. Graffiti / Criminal Mischief cases will require 40 hours of community service and restitution to the victim

Excluded Charges

- 2. Ineligible for Civil Citation Program:
 - a. Any misdemeanor that involves the possession/use of a firearm
 - b. Any misdemeanor that involves exposure of sexual organ or other sexual related behavior (i.e. prostitution, lewd and lascivious behavior)
 - c. Any misdemeanor that is directly related to (or part of) gang activity



Civil Citation Program Law Enforcement Instructions

The Miami-Dade County-wide Civil Citation Program accepts all 1st time misdemeanor offenders. <u>Effective October 1st, 2015 second and third time offenders will be afforded the opportunity as well</u>. If an officer decides to issue a civil citation please follow one of the two sets of procedures listed below.

To issue a Civil Citation in the field

- 1. The Officer may issue the youth a Civil Citation in the field by completing the Miami-Dade Juvenile Services Department's Civil Citation form along with the original arrest form, and release agreement using the 50 day court calendar. The officer can then release the youth to a parent, relative, guardian, or other responsible adult.
- 2. The officer must positively identify the youth using contacting the JAC facility 24hours numbers 305-755-6130; 6136; 6137 and/or 6294. Cross reference identity by using a Florida ID card/driver's license, school picture ID, and/or parents.
- 3. After releasing the youth to a parent, guardian, or other responsible party, the officer will group the original arrest affidavit along with the Civil Citation form, and release agreement. The officer takes the package to their police station and speaks with or leaves a message for the Referral Reduction Coordinator at 305-755-6239, and faxes a copy of the package to 305-755-6301.
- 4. The original package will be forwarded to the Juvenile Services Department at 275 NW 2nd Street, second floor Miami, Florida 33128 within 48 hours (paperwork may be forwarded via interoffice mail or regular mail).

When transporting an eligible Civil Citation juvenile to the JAC

- 1. If the Officer decides to transport the youth to the Juvenile Services Department's JAC for positive identification and Civil Citation processing, the officer will sign the Civil Citation form, and complete all of the required forms and paperwork for booking a juvenile into the JAC.
- 2. The officer will then bring the pink copy of the A-form to the SAO located on the second floor at the JAC.

Miami-Dade County Juvenile Services Department

	Juvenile Civil Citation Form								
	Coult								
275 N.W. 2 nd Street Miami FL, 33128 Juvenile's Name: Citation, Johnny PD Case # PD15051									
	Juvenile's Name: Citation, Johnny PD Case # PD150519-123456 DOB: 04/07/2000 Race: Sex: Male SSN or Student ID:								
Demographics-	S/M/T: Y / N	HT: 5'9	WT : 170lbs		ir: Brown		Eyes: Brown		
Scars, marks or tattoos (S/M/T)				Tan	. DIOWIT		Lycs. Diowit	_	
	City: Miami	Address: 1234 SW 56 th street #A Miami State: FL Zip: 33123 Phone #'s: 111-222-3333							
\sim	-					Time: 1500 am/pm	_		
Ń	Incident Location: 567 NW 89 Street Date: 5/19/15 Time: 1500 and 1 st Offense: Resist W/O 2 nd Offense: Disorderly Conduct						•		
		School: City of Miami Sr. High SchoolGrade: 9thParent/Guardian: Citation, ParentCell# 111-222-3334Work# 111-222-3345						_	
	Farent/Guardian. One		Cell# 11	1-222-	3334		11-222-3345		
	Narrative: See Arrest Affidavit Enclosed								
	You must call the Juvenile Services Department during business hours, Monday through Friday, 9:00 A.M- 5:00 P.M., to schedule an appointment at the location listed below within <u>5 to 7 business days</u> . Failure to schedule an appointment will result in criminal charges being filed and your child will have an arrest record.								
Contact Information	Juvenile Services Department 275 N.W. 2 nd Street Miami, Florida 33128 Phone #: (305) 755-6282 / 6283 (305) 755-6301 Fax #: (305) 755-6301								
Rules	Solely for the purpose of the Civil Citation Program (CCP), I admit to the offense(s) cited waive my right to appear in court. I agree to have my case handled by the Miami-Dade Co Juvenile Services Department Civil Citation Program. I understand that there may be sanct assigned by the Civil Citation Program and/or partner agencies as authorized. Additional understand that I will be arrested and prosecuted for the offense(s) listed above if:								
	<u>Officer. Law Cop</u> OFFICER/TRANSPORTER		MDPD AGENCY NAME	111(
Was Parent/Guardian Contacted? Y / N 1 st Attempt Date <u>5/19/15</u> Time <u>1535</u> 2 nd Attempt Date Time Parent or Responsible Adult's Signature Distribution: White-Youth/Parent/Guardian • Yellow-JSD/Referral Reduction Coordinator									
							(Right Thumb Print)		

NOTICE TO APPEAR RELEASE AGREEMENT

	Date:	5 19 15	
CHILD'S NAME: CITATION, JC	hnny p.c. #	PDISOSI	1-123456
You are hereby directed and agree to appear Division, 155 N.W. 3rd Street, Miami, Florida	with the person named abo	ove, before the Circu	it Court Juvenile
JUIN	, 2015 at 8:30 A.M. on t	1	(date)
l (month)			•

Administrative Order No. 94-20 and section 985.115(2)(a) Florida Statutes.

The State Attorney's office may refer your case to a special program. If this occurs, you will receive a notice by phone or by mail to bring the child named above to the program prior to the above date. If you appear with the child at the program, and the child is accepted into the program, you will be provided with a written notice that you do not have to appear in court on the above date and time. However, if at any time the child fails to comply with the terms of the program, the case will be returned to the State Attorney for filing in court. If you do not receive the written notice from the program, you must appear on the above date.

FAILURE TO APPEAR MAY RESULT IN AN ORDER BEING ISSUED TO TAKE THE ABOVE NAMED CHILD INTO CUSTODY AND YOUR BEING CITED FOR CONTEMPT OF COURT, WHICH COULD RESULT IN YOUR BEING PUNISHED BY A FINE OR JAIL OR BOTH.

You must notify the Clerk of the Court (Juvenile Division 305-679-2189) any time your address changes. By signing this agreement you waive the necessity of serving you with a summons for the above date.

(ATTACHED IS THE ARREST AFFIDAVIT WHICH INDICATES THE CHARGES)

Χ	X
Child's signature	Parent's or other responsible adult's signature and relationship
Officer's signature	Address
I swear the information in this release agreement is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.	Address
Dept. L.D. Number	
DEPT. OF Juvenile Ju Department of Juvenile Justice Intake Screener authorizi	istice Telephone # <u>305-755-6239</u>
1 1 0 1 0 1 0 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0) ARREST AFFIDAVIT
DISTRIBUTION: WHITE - Parent GREEN-Respondent YI	HLOW-Court PINK-State Attorney GOLDENROD-Police Officer

Miami-Dade County Juvenile Services Department



What is Civil Citation - Statewide process authorized by FL Statue 985.12 that allows for certain misdemeanor offences to be eligible for the Civil Citation Program (CCP). This process can now be utilized up to three times for any eligible misdemeanor offence with approval from the State Attorney's Office (SAO).

All juvenile misdemeanor offences are eligible for CCP except for the following;

- > Misdemeanor that involves the possession/use of a firearm
- Misdemeanor that involves exposure of sexual organ and/or other sexual related behavior (i.e. lewd and lascivious behavior)
- > Misdemeanor that is directly related to (or part of) gang activity

Other misdemeanor offenses that are eligible, but require the victim(s) and/or SAO approval are as follows:

- Simple Battery (including domestic violence)
- Simple Assault
- > Graffiti / Criminal Mischief cases (restitution may be required)
- > Weapon possession cases non-firearm (i.e. carrying concealed weapon)
- Animal Cruelty

How it works - The Law Enforcement Officer (LEO) will either issue an **On-Site** or **Off-Site** Civil Citation to an eligible youth and provide required documentation to the Miami-Dade Juvenile Services Department.

On-Site Process

- LEO transports the youth to the Juvenile Assessment Center (JAC) for positive identification and processing
- LEO signs the Civil Citation Form and other required JAC facility forms.
- o LEO takes copy of the Complaint/Arrest Affidavit to SAO and completed the case pre-file

Off-Site Process

- Officer calls the 24/7 JAC phone #'s (305) 755-6130; (305) 755-6136; (305) 755-6137; (305)755-6294 to verify eligibility and cross reference identity by using a Florida ID card/driver's license, school picture ID, and/or parents when at all possible.
- If youth eligible, the LEO completes the <u>Arrest Affidavit</u>, <u>Civil Citation Form</u> and <u>Notice</u> to <u>Appear-Release Agreement</u> (50 Day Court Calendar).
- Youth is released to parent, legal guardian or responsible adult. Paperwork is signed, and copies provided to the parent.
- Officer will fax over documentation to (305) 755-6301 prior to forwarding <u>original</u> arrest affidavit along with <u>signed</u> copies of the Civil Citation Form and Release Agreement to the Civil Citation Coordinator; Jeffrey Cordero at 275 NW 2nd St, 2nd Floor Miami FL, 33128. The documentation can also be forwarded via emailed to JAC0094@miamidade.gov