
Revised 11/24 

 Department of Transportation and Public Works 
For- Hire Transportation 

601 NW 1st Court, 18th Floor 
Miami, Florida 33136 

Telephone No. (786) 469-2323 
 

CHAUFFEUR REGISTRATION INITIAL/RENEWAL APPLICATION 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

When to apply: Monday through Friday (Except Holidays) 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Applicants must apply in person. 
 

What to bring: U.S. Citizens- Social Security Card or U.S. Passport or original certified U.S. Birth 
Certificate or original Certificate of Naturalization 

Non U.S. Citizens- Social Security Card and original Permanent Residency Card or original 
valid Work Authorization Card (if applicable) 

• Valid State of Florida Driver’s License 
• First Aid Certification (School Bus applicants only) 
• Physical examination is required for new and renewing applicants. STS drivers also require a FDOT 

medical examination certificate. Taxi and Limousine drivers are exempt.   
• Defensive Driving Certification (original applicants or renewal applicants with two (2) or 

more moving violations within the last two (2) years). Taxicab and Limo drivers are exempt. 
• Certificate of training in Passenger Assistance Techniques (PAT) for Wheelchair Accessible 

Vehicles (if applicable). 
• A “P” endorsement is needed to operate a for-hire vehicle that seats 15 or more people (including 

the driver) is required by the State of Florida. This endorsement is enforced by law enforcement.   
Fees are only payable by check, money order, debit or credit card (Visa, Master Card or American 
Express). If you pay by check, the check must be over series #200 and pre-printed with your name 
and address and issued by a local bank. All fees are NON REFUNDABLE 

 
Training Program Materials/fees included Total Cost 

   New Taxi Applicants  Application Processing Fee 
FDLE & DL Transcript Fees 

  Training Manual 

  1 year  -  $103.00 
  2 years - $158.00        

   New Non-Emergency (NE),  
   Special Transportation Services (STS),  
   Passenger Motor Carrier (PMC) 
   And Jitney applicants  

Application Processing Fee 
FDLE & DL Transcript Fees 
Training Manual 

  1 year  -  $102.00 
  2 years - $157.00        

New Private School Bus Applicants Application Processing Fee 
FDLE & DL Transcript Fees 
Training Class & Manual Fees 

1 year  - $125.00 
2 years- $180.00 

New Limousine Applicants  Application Processing Fee  
FDLE & DL Transcript Fees 

1 year  - $90.00 
2 years - $145.00 

Renewal Applicants  Application Processing Fee 
DL Transcript Fee 

1 year  - $65.00 
2 years - $120.00 

Adding Company, 
Lost or Stolen 
Chauffeur Registration       

 
$26.00 

  Change of Address on     
  Chauffeur Registration 

  
No Charge 

 
Renewal Late Fee: If a Chauffeur’s Registration is not renewed on or before the expiration date, the driver 

will be required to pay a $55.00 late fee in addition to the renewal fee. 
Renewals: You may renew your Chauffeur’s Registration up to ninety (90) days before it expires. 
Training/Testing: Initial applicants are required to attend a Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTPW) 

Training Program to obtain a Chauffeurs Registration.  The training program offered is the 
Academy for Chauffeur Excellence and Service (ACES) (1 day): For first time Taxi, PSB, 
PMC, NE/STS, and JITNEY drivers. Renewing Taxi drivers require training if they have never 
passed the course before.  
New and Renewal Limousine applicants are exempt from training classes. If any other type of 
transportation is added to the Limousine license, you will be required to take a training class. 

Use of Social Security #: Pursuant to Florida Statute Section 119.071(5), DTPW collects social security numbers for 
identification and verification purposes. Social Security numbers are also used as a unique numeric identifier and may be used 
for search purposes. 
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CHAUFFEUR REGISTRATION INITIAL/RENEWAL APPLICATION 
 

PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX 
 

 [ ] Original [  ] Renewal [  ] Address Change [  ] Add/Change Company [  ] Lost/Stolen License  

 
Part 1- TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (PLEASE PRINT) 

 
Home Cell 

Name:  Phone #  Phone #  
 

Address:  Social Security #: email address:   
 

City/State/Zip:  FL Driver’s License # Exp. Date  
 

Place of Birth:  
 

Date of Birth  
 

Primary Language Spoken at Home   
 

 

 

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: 
 

1. Have you EVER pled nolo contendere, pled guilty, been found guilty or been convicted of any of the following crimes (even if adjudication was 

withheld): 
YES NO YES NO  
[ ] [ ] Involving use of a deadly weapon [ ] [ ] Involving homicide 

[ ] [ ] Involving trafficking in narcotics [ ] [  ] Involving violent offense against a Law Enforcement Officer 

[ ] [ ] Sex Crime [ ] [ ] Any other felonies (within the last 5 years) 

[ ] [ ] Involving moral turpitude not related to [ ] [ ] Any other crimes including misdemeanors 
 sex crimes [ ] [ ] Arson 
[ ] [ ] Kidnapping [ ] [ ] Prostitution 

 
If yes to any question, please explain:   

 
2. If convicted of a felony, have your civil/residency rights been restored?  If yes, attach proof of restoration. 

 
3. During the last five (5) years prior to this application, has your Driver’s License been suspended for, OR have you pled nolo contendere OR 

pled guilty OR been found guilty OR been convicted (even if adjudication was withheld) of: 
YES NO 
[  ] [ ] Driving under the influence of drugs or intoxicating liquors (D.U.I) 

[  ] [ ] Three (3) or more traffic infractions resulting in accidents. 

[  ] [  ] Fleeing the scene of any accident. 

[  ] [  ] Vehicular Manslaughter or any death resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle. 

[  ] [ ] Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used. 

4. Has your Florida Driver’s License EVER been suspended/revoked (even if reinstated) for any reason? [  ] Yes [  ] No 
 

If yes, explain:   
 

5. Has your Florida Driver’s License been suspended two (2) or more times within the last 12 months? [  ] Yes [  ] No 
 

6. Have you been found guilty, pled guilty or nolo contendere to two or more moving violations within the past two (2) years? [  ] Yes  [  ] No 
 

7. During the last five (5) years prior to this application, have you had 24 points against your driver’s license? [ ] Yes [ ] No 
 

IMPORTANT: IF YES IS CHECKED TO ANY OF THE ABOVE QUESTIONS YOU MAY NOT BE ELIGIBLE FOR A CHAUFFEUR 
REGISTRATION - PLEASE REFER TO THE MIAMI-DADE COUNTY CODE SECTION 31-303(E) FOR SPECIFIC CLARIFICATION 

 

FOR-HIRE PASSENGER TRANSPORTATION UNIT ONLY: 
 

Registration No.   Expiration Date:  Training Date:   
 

Processed by:  

Background:                                      

 

Issued by:  Date Issued:  
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PART 2 – TYPES OF TRANSPORTATION WHICH THE APPLICANT CHOOSES TO PROVIDE: 
PLEASE CHECK APPLICABLE BOX(ES) 

 
 

[ ] Taxi [ ] Limousine [ ] Non Emergency [ ] STS [ ] PMC General [ ] Jitney/ Fixed/Circulator 

[ ] School Bus (Seating Capacity ) 

If School Bus Operator, list all schools currently servicing  
 

       ********************************************************************************************************************************************************  

PART 4- CHAUFFEUR CERTIFICATION (TO BE COMPLETED AT OFFICE) 

I understand that my Chauffeur’s Registration (Hack License) may be subject to suspension or revocation by the Department of Transportation and 
Public Works (DTPW) under, but not limited to the following conditions: 

 
1. If I fail to comply with or willfully violate any of the applicable provisions of the Miami-Dade County Code and/or the applicable laws. 
2. If any material fact was omitted or falsely stated on my application. 

 
I understand that my Chauffeur’s Registration shall be automatically revoked by (DTPW) if I plead nolo contendere, plead guilty or if I am convicted of a 
felony or of any criminal offense involving moral turpitude or a crime involving the use of deadly weapons or trafficking in narcotics; or if my State of 
Florida Driver’s License is suspended or revoked; or if it is determined, after drug or alcohol testing, that my use of alcohol or a controlled substance 
has impaired or is impairing my ability to drive a for-hire vehicle. 

 
I understand that I shall not refuse or neglect to transport to any place in the county any orderly person, including a service animal, who is willing and 
able to pay the prescribed fare and I shall not accept any additional passengers without the consent of the passengers already within the vehicle unless 
the passenger is being transported under a shared ride or other special service rate. As used in Chapter 31 of the Miami-Dade County Code, the term 
“service animal” shall mean any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal, as defined in 28 C.F.R. § 36.104, individually trained to do work or perform 
tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability, including, but not limited to, guiding individuals with impaired vision, alerting individuals with 
impaired hearing to intruders or sounds, providing minimal protection or rescue work, pulling a wheelchair, or fetching dropped items. I also 
understand that if I commit two violations of this section, my chauffeur’s registration may be suspended for a period of up to six months or revoked. 

 
I understand that fines, as required by Miami-Dade County Code for each infraction, may be imposed for violation of Code provisions. Furthermore, if I 
am caught cheating during any of the trainings, or the examination itself, my application will be denied and I shall not be eligible to re-apply for a 
Chauffeur’s Registration for one year. 

 
I also understand that for the industries where a for-hire training is required, such training will be conducted in English. An English proficiency test will 
be conducted at the beginning of the training session and failure to pass this test will result in the denial of your application and forfeiture of any 
application fees that were paid. 

 
I certify under oath that I am not a user of alcohol or drugs whose current use would constitute a direct threat to property or the safety of others. I 
further pledge that I will not be a user of alcohol or drugs in a manner that would constitute a direct threat to the property and safety of others. I further 
certify under oath that I am free of any mental defect or disease that would constitute a direct threat to the property or safety of others or would impair 
my ability to drive a for-hire vehicle. This further certifies that I am duly authorized to work in the United States of America under the current laws of the 
Department of Homeland Security, Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services. 

 
I understand that I am responsible for knowing all the rules and regulations pertaining to for-hire chauffeurs which are contained in Chapter 31, Article 
V of the Miami-Dade County Code. 

 

I also certify that all statements contained in my application are complete and true. I acknowledge that omissions or false statements will be 
grounds for revocation or non-issuance of a Chauffeur’s Registration. 

 
 

Chauffeur’s Signature:   Date   
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REPORT OF PHYSICAL EXAMINATION FOR CHAUFFEUR’S REGISTRATION 
*FDOT long form is accepted in lieu of this physical.  *Taxi and Limousine drivers are exempt.   
 

PART 5- TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSED PHYSICIAN OR ADVANCED REGISTERED NURSE PRACTITIONER 
All data must be completed for this form to be accepted. 

 
Name:   Date of Birth:   

 
Health History: 

 
YES NO YES NO 
[ ] [ ] Head or Spinal Injuries [ ] [  ] Muscular Disease 
[ ] [ ] Cardiovascular Disease [ ] [  ] Psychiatric Disorder 
[ ] [ ] Tuberculosis [ ] [  ] Nervous Disorder 
[ ] [ ] Gastrointestinal Ulcer [ ] [  ] Use of Narcotics 
[ ] [ ] Vision Disorder [ ] [  ] Excessive Alcohol 
[ ] [ ] Hearing Disorder [ ] [  ] Seizures, fits, convulsions, fainting 
[ ] [ ] Asthma [ ] [  ] Syphilis, gonorrhea 
[ ] [ ] Diabetes [ ] [  ] Other Disease 
[ ] [ ] Kidney Disease    

 
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION 

 
1. Height:  

 
Weight:  

 
Color of eyes   

 
Color of Hair   

 
General Health: Good  

 
Fair  

 
Poor  

 
2. Vision: Without corrective lenses: Right eye 20/  

With corrective lenses:  Right eye 20/   

 
Left eye 20/  
Left eye 20/  

Color perception or red, green and yellow?  Yes  
Horizontal field of vision is within normal range? Yes  

No  
No  

Evidence of disease or injury:   
 

3. Hearing: Right ear  
 

Left ear  
 

With normal range? Yes  
 

No  
 

4. Heart: Blood pressure: Systolic  
Pulse: Before Exercise   

 
Diastolic  
After Exercise   

 
Is the reading normal? Yes  
Is the reading normal? Yes   

 
No  
No  

Any evidence of disease or injury:  
 

5. Extremities: Hands, arms, legs and feet are normal or adequate? Yes  
Coordination and reflexes are normal or adequate? Yes  

 
No  
No   

Evidence of disease or injury:  
 

6. Other: Any evidence of illness, disease or injury involving the following? 
 

YES NO YES NO 
[  ] [  ] Abdomen [  ] [  ] Back Muscles 
[  ] [  ] Lungs [  ] [  ] Communicable Disease 
[  ] [  ] Nose and Throat [  ] [  ] Mental Abnormalities 
[  ] [  ] Hernia [  ] [  ] Emotional Instability 

 
If you answered yes to any of the above, please explain:  

 
7. Physician’s/Nurse Practitioner’s comments on Health History “yes” answers:   

 
 

I certify that I am licensed to practice in the State of Florida and that I have conducted an examination of the individual identified above. My findings 
indicate that this individual is medically qualified and physically able to drive a for–hire vehicle and assist for-hire passengers to enter or exit 
the vehicle, load or unload passenger baggage, and all other similar passenger related needs. A for-hire vehicle is defined as a passenger 
motor vehicle, jitney, non-emergency medical transportation vehicle, special transportation services vehicle, or private school bus. 

 
Name of Examining Doctor 
or Advanced Nurse Practitioner (please print)   

 
Telephone #  

 
Signature   Date Signed   

 
Florida HRS Certification No. or State of Florida License No.  


	PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX
	PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:
	YES NO

	FOR-HIRE PASSENGER TRANSPORTATION UNIT ONLY:
	PART 2 – TYPES OF TRANSPORTATION WHICH THE APPLICANT CHOOSES TO PROVIDE: PLEASE CHECK APPLICABLE BOX(ES)
	********************************************************************************************************************************************************
	PART 4- CHAUFFEUR CERTIFICATION (TO BE COMPLETED AT OFFICE)

	PART 5- TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSED PHYSICIAN OR ADVANCED REGISTERED NURSE PRACTITIONER
	PHYSICAL EXAMINATION


