County Attorney
Geri Bonzon-Keenan

County Attorney's Office
111 NW 1st Street, Suite 2810
Miami, Florida 33128

Public Records Custodian
Tomeka Ladson



Contact Us

Practice Areas

    Land Use & Governmental Operations

    Dennis A. Kerbel, Section Head

    The Land Use and Governmental Operations Section provides legal advice and counsel to the County's elected officials, quasi-judicial and advisory board members, and administrative departments regarding land use and other regulatory issues, development, and election matters within Miami-Dade County, an area which is more populated than 15 states. Our attorneys advise numerous County departments and boards including, among others, the Regulatory & Economic Resources Department, the Elections Department, the County's Canvassing Board, Community Councils/Community Zoning Appeals Boards, Planning Advisory Board, Historic Preservation Board, Agricultural Practices Advisory Board, Board of Rules and Appeals, Construction Trades Qualifying Board, Fire Prevention and Safety Appeals Board, and Shoreline Development Review Committee. Subjects we address include, among others, the County's Comprehensive Development Master Plan, zoning, historic preservation, subdivisions, impact fees, and other development permitting regulations and programs. Additional responsibilities of the Section include election law issues and telecommunications.

    We are also charged with drafting and reviewing a wide variety of legislation dealing with, among other issues, Comprehensive Development Master Plan amendments, land development regulations, and impact fees needed to fund necessary infrastructure. Finally, we represent the County and its officials and employees in federal and state trial and appellate courts and administrative tribunals in numerous types of litigation, including challenges to the constitutionality of County regulations, appeals of the County's various quasi-judicial decisions on zoning and other applications, and election-related challenges. Constitutional issues litigated by the Section include, among others, regulatory takings, freedom of speech and religion, voting rights, fair housing, due process, and equal protection.

The following are attorneys who specialize in this practice area:

Sophia Guzzo

David Stephen Hope

James Edwin Kirtley, Jr.

Lauren E. Morse

Cristina Rabionet

Abbie Schwaderer Raurell

Luis M. Reyes

Veronica Sanchez

Michael B. Valdes

Christopher J. Wahl