Skip Navigation
Last Visited »

Important Global Message

Maintenance Alert

The Miami-Dade County Portal will be undergoing maintenance starting at 11 p.m. Saturday, May 3 and for all of Sunday, May 4. Intermittent outages may be experienced. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you for your patience as we improve our online services.

Annual Pillars Awards

The annual Pillars Awards recognizes people from the community who often work behind the scenes, often without intentionally seeking recognition.  Young Pillars are selected based on their academic goals and community service.

This year's sponsors include media sponsor, Comcast;  Macy's Department Store's downtown branch;  McCormack Baron Salazar, Inc.; Urban Strategies, Inc.; of Florida; Lighthouse Garden Center; Rozalyn H. Paschal M. D. P.A. & Associates; VITAS, the Diaspora Arts Coalition (DAC); Miami-Dade County's Office of Economic Development and International Trade,  Royalty Cookies  and ICMA Retirement Corporation.

For further details on the Black Affairs Advisory Board or the Annual Pillars Awards, call 305-375-4606.

This year's Community Pillars

  • Miami-Dade Commissioner Jean Monestime; Gene Tinnie, President of the Kuumba Artists Collective
  • Carole Ann Taylor, CEO of Miami To Go, Inc.
  • Gordon Murray, Esq., Law Offices of Gordon Murray, P.A.
  • Reverend Ralph Ross, Pastor of Historic Mt. Zion Missionary Baptist Church
  • Andrew Osolase, president of the Edo Association of Florida, Inc.
  • Dr. Barbara Broussard, Senior Pastor-Church of the Rock, Inc. 
  • Rev. Dr. Jimmy Ray Burke, Outreach Ministry-St. Mathews M.B.C. and the Miami Job Corps. 

These honorees were selected for their support of programs which positively impact the community and their commitment to public service.  

Young Pillars

The BHPC is also awarding scholarships to "Young Pillars," students who are enrolled in a post secondary institution and involved in various civic oriented activities.  This year's recipients are: 

  • Reginald Mizell (Florida Memorial University)
  • Yvonne Ducatel (Florida A&M University)
  • Eric D. Jackson (Miami-Dade College) and Stephanie Latimore (Florida Memorial University).

 "We are determined to provide recognition to our Community Pillars and scholarships to support our 'Future Pillars"," said Heritage Planning Committee chair and member of the Black Affairs Advisory Board, Edgar Wright.

The Black Heritage Planning Committee is a subcommittee of the Black Affairs Advisory Board.  It is comprised of volunteer Miami-Dade County employees who plan and implement activities throughout the year aimed at increasing visibility and recognition for the contributions of members and descendents of the African Diaspora.

Back to Top Page Last Edited: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:12:34 PM

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.