Skip Navigation
Last Visited »

Important Global Message

Maintenance Alert

The Miami-Dade County Portal will be undergoing maintenance starting at 11 p.m. Saturday, May 3 and for all of Sunday, May 4. Intermittent outages may be experienced. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you for your patience as we improve our online services.

Stray Cats

There is no leash law in Miami-Dade County pertaining to cats. Unlike dogs, cats are permitted to roam freely. Animal Services does not respond to complaints of stray or feral cats.

There is no limit to the number of cats a person can own. However, all cats over 4 months of age must be vaccinated against rabies. Cat license tags are optional and are valid for the lifetime of the cat. The feeding of stray or feral cats does not constitute ownership.

Traps
Citizens may lawfully place humane animal traps on their private property to capture any cats that may enter. However, if the cats are on private common grounds, the homeowners association would need to initiate the removal process.

Animal Services has a limited number of cat traps available on a first-come, first-serve basis. There is a refundable $50.00 deposit required for a trap. If trapping the animal is very difficult, you may wish to consider hiring a private animal removal service which can do the work for a fee.

Trapped cats must be transported by the citizen to Animal Services. The animal is accepted without charge at the Animal Services shelter.

It is illegal to remove animals and "relocate" them without the property owner's permission and a period of confinement for the animals to become adjusted. 

Stray or feral cats that are surrendered to ASD will be evaluated for potential adoption, but the vast majority will be spayed/neutered, vaccinated, and released back to the community as part of our TNR program. There is no hold period for stray cats surrendered to Animal Services.

Fines and Penalties
Abandoning animals is animal cruelty. To relocate in a public place or to abandon an animal that has been trapped is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 or by both imprisonment and a fine.

For more information, visit Florida Animal Control Association and Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

Back to Top Page Last Edited: Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:51:55 PM
animals
 
 
Corner
Corner

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.