As we continue our recovery and cleanup efforts, please visit the Emergency website for the latest information on openings and closings in Miami-Dade County.
Jobs & Employment
MDFR WILL BE ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS FOR THE FIREFIGHTER POSITION STARTING JUNE 4, 2018 THROUGH JUNE 24, 2018.
Applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED. Must be 18 years of age at the time of application and possess a valid Florida Driver's License at the time of hire.
There will be no paper applications for the hiring process. All applications must be submitted online at www.miamidade.gov/jobs. All previous applicants must re-apply.
ALL SUBMITTED APPLICATIONS WILL BE CONSIDERED; APPLICATION PROCESS IS NOT FIRST COME FIRST SERVED.
Annual Salary Range
Approximately $41,013 - $71,637 (subject to period change)
Requirements for Employment
Must be 18 years of age at time of application.
Must have a high school diploma or GED.
Must not have been convicted of a felony nor of any misdemeanor directly related to the position of employment sought, nor have pled "nolo contendere" to any charge of a felony.
Must submit fingerprints to be processed by the FDLE and the FBI.
Must have a good moral character as determined by a thorough background investigation.
Must be a non-user of tobacco or tobacco products for at least 1 year immediately preceding application, as evidenced by a sworn affidavit.
Must have a valid Florida Driver's License and have maintained a good driving record.
Must be able to work variable shifts, including shifts that require 24 hours of consecutive duty.
Audio/Written Screening Test (AWST)
Candidate Physical Ability Test (CPAT)
Medical Examination & Stress Test
Preference will be given to qualifying U.S. military veterans.
Preference will be given to graduates of the Miami-Dade County Academy of Fire Rescue (MDCAFR) in accordance with Resolution R-480-07, and graduates of Miami-Dade Fire Rescue Junior Cadet Program.
- Preference may also be given to person’s who possess a current State of Florida Firefighter II certificate, State of Florida EMT certification or State of Florida Paramedic (EMT-P).
Back to Top Page Last Edited: Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:20:01 AM
Miami-Dade Fire Rescue
9300 NW 41st Street
Miami, FL 33178
You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade County government. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade County is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to these external sites does not constitute an endorsement.
Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.