Due to COVID-19, the Marriage License Bureau continues issuing marriage licenses on a limited basis by appointments only, Monday – Friday from 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Beginning January 24, 2022 the Clerk’s Office will expand the current marriage license appointment system to ALL District locations. To expedite the application process, customers must complete the online marriage license pre-application and then schedule an appointment. We are currently not accepting walk-ins until further notice.If you are exempt under Florida State Statute 119.071, please advise the clerk and fill out the Request for Confidentiality form.
Certified Copies for Marriage Licenses
All applicants must present a valid federal or state government photo identification with the correct legal name, date of birth and signature.
Types of photo identification accepted:
- Driver license issued by any state in the U.S.
- U.S. military ID
- Alien registration card
- State identification card issued by any state in the U.S.
- Naturalization certificate (original)
Other information required:
- All U.S. citizens and residents must provide their Social Security number.
- Non-U.S. citizens may provide an alien registration card, U.S. state issued driver license, or passport number if Social Security number has not been issued.
- If either applicant has been previously married, they must provide the exact date of the last divorce, death or annulment. If the divorce took place in Miami-Dade County go to the Family Online Case Search and view the docket link for the divorce final judgment date.
- The Family Law Handbook must be read prior to obtaining the marriage license. The Family Law Handbook is also available for viewing in the Central Marriage License Bureau.
To expedite the application process, please complete our online marriage license pre-application, and schedule an appointment online.
Additional Requirements for Minor Applicants
Applicants 17 years oldIn addition to the standard requirements for a marriage license, all the following documents must be presented when one or both applicants are 17 years old:
- Both parents or legal guardian must be present with valid photo identification. The exceptions will be if the parents are divorced and one parent has full custody of the minor or Death Certificate of parent deceased. In this case, certified copy of custody's court order must be presented and only the consent of the custodial parent will be required.
- Original birth certificate of the minor showing parent's name
- Parental consent forms
Additionally, a person that is at least 17 years of age may only marry if the other party is no more than two years older.
Three-Day Waiting Period & Pre-Marital Course
An Online Premarital Course Provider Directory is available to assist you in locating a premarital course provider. The couple must present the original certificate of completion when applying for their marriage license. Non-Florida residents are exempt from the three-day waiting period.
- Any ordained minister, priest, rabbi or other ordained clergy
- All judicial officers (judges) of the state of Florida
- Clerks of the Circuit Court and their deputies of the state of Florida, while performing their duties
- Public notaries of the state of Florida
- Marriage license - $86
- Marriage application with completion of premarital preparation course - $61
- Duplicate, correction, or amended license - $30
- Ceremony - $30
- Marriage status search and certificate - $9
- Deluxe marriage certificate - $10
- Affirmation of Common Children - $2
- Provider fee - $4
- Certified copy - $7
- Search fee - $2
- Additional certified copy (each) - $7
- Search fee (per year prior to 1972) - $2
Methods of Payments Accepted:
Cash, cashier’s check, money orders, Visa, Discover, MasterCard or American Express
- A psychologist licensed under Chapter 490
- A clinical social worker licensed under Chapter 491
- A marriage and family therapist licensed under Chapter 491
- A mental health counselor licensed under Chapter 491
- An official representative of a religious institution which is recognized under s. 496.404(23), if the representative has relevant training
The premarital preparation course may include instruction regarding:
- Conflict management
- Communication skills
- Financial responsibilities
- Children and parenting responsibilities
- Data compiled from available information relating to problems reported by married couples who seek marriage or individual counseling
Each Premarital Preparation Course provider shall furnish each participant or couple who completes the course with a certificate of completion specifying the name(s) of the participant, the date of completion, minimum four hours, registered provider’s name (ex. church or business), address, instructor’s name who provided the course and whether the course was conducted by personal instruction, videotape instruction, instruction via electronic medium or by a combination of these methods.
Each provider shall submit to the Central Marriage License Bureau a Premarital Course Provider Affidavit which outlines the name of the provider (ex. church or business name), telephone number, address, email, list of instructors providing course with a copy of the qualifying credentials (ex. certificate of ordination or state business license). The Clerk's Office will distribute only information relevant to registration.
To register, please submit the original form:
- The pre-marital course provider affidavit must be filled out, signed and sworn or affirmed to in front of a notary public or a deputy clerk.
- Provide a list of instructors indicating their qualification under the Florida Statute and a copy of their qualifying credentials.