Skip to main content
Miami-Dade County Clerk of the CourtsHarvey Ruvin

Official Records

Pursuant to Chapter 28 of the Florida Statutes, the Clerk of the Circuit Court is the official recorder of all instruments that may, by law, be recorded in the county. The County Recorder’s Office is responsible for the recording, protecting, preserving and disseminating of official records. In addition, please be aware that we are not permitted to give legal advice and suggest you consult an attorney for any such questions.

These documents are presented for recording by the public as well as the court system and include but are not limited to:
  • Deeds
  • Mortgages
  • Liens
  • Certain affidavits
  • Subdivision plats
  • Judgments
  • Declarations of domicile
  • Satisfactions and releases
  • Powers of attorney
  • Financial statements

Fees, mortgage taxes and real estate transfer taxes are computed and collected at the time of recordation.

Redact Personal Information

Social Security numbers can be removed from official records on documents that are publicly available online. Such request must be made by completing the Request for Social Security/Bank Account/Credit Card Number Redaction form online. The request must specify the Clerk’s File Number or Book/Page that contains the Social Security/Bank Account/Credit Card number to be redacted.

Pursuant to Florida Statutes 119, if you are covered under this statute and seeking a redaction of exempt information, you can complete the Request for Redaction form in person or online.

Record a Document

You have three options for recording your documents in the Official Records:
  1. You can bring your original documents in person, along with the appropriate fees, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to the Miami-Dade County Courthouse East.
  2. You can mail your original documents along with the appropriate fees, and a self-addressed stamped envelope. Please mail documents for recording to:
    Office of County Recorder
    22 N.W. 1st Street – 1st Floor
    Miami, Florida 33128
  3. You can eRecord your document through one of our approved vendors. With this option, you retain your original document and the recorded image is available the next day. 

The recording fee for most documents is $10 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page. The recording fee for a Lis Pendens is $5 for the first page and $4 for each additional page. Copies are $1 per page plus $2 for the certification of the document.

The acceptable methods of payment are:
  • Cash
  • Cashier’s check
  • Money order
  • Checks from a title company, attorney, or mortgage
  • Credit card (MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover)

Credit cards are only accepted in person and have a daily limit of $2,000.

Requirements for Recording

All documents must be original or court certified as well as signed and notarized. You must meet all the requirements for a document to be accepted as an official record.

Important Notice:
The various credit bureaus search for liens and judgments recorded in our offices and link these documents to your credit history. If you have been advised by an agency that you have a lien or judgment recorded against your name and you do not know what this item is, you may obtain the book and page from the credit bureau for purposes of requesting a copy of the lien or judgment from the Records Library in person, by mail or online.

  • Must be an original document
  • Address of parties (grantor(s) and grantee(s))
  • Must be signed by the seller
  • Two witnesses not related to transaction
  • A full notary acknowledgement
  • Prepared By statement beginning with: Prepared by: Individual name & address
  • Documentary stamps at the rate of .60 cents for each $100 of consideration or fractional part thereof ($6 per $1,000)
  • Surtax is required on transfers of interest in any real property other than a single-family residence, at the rate of .45 cents for each $100 of consideration or fractional part thereof (or $4.50 per $1,000)
  • Property transfer form (PDF)
  • Folio number is not required but is encouraged
  • Submit a self-addressed stamped envelope

  • An original document
  • Signed and notarized
  • A copy of promissory note must be attached, or the amount of the note should be written on the face of the mortgage
  • Signature of the borrower
  • Addresses of both lender and borrower
  • Prepared By statement beginning with: Prepared by: Individual name & address
  • Florida documentary stamp and intangible tax
  • Documentary stamps at the rate of .35 cents on each $100 or fraction thereof on the amount of the note (or $3.50 per $1,000)
  • Intangible tax (if applicable) is required on real estate mortgages at the rate of 2 mills (or $2 per $1,000) on the amount of the note
  • Submit a self-addressed stamped envelope

  • Book and page of the original mortgage that is being satisfied or released
  • Signature by the holder of the mortgage
  • Notarized and properly acknowledged
  • Prepared By statement beginning with: Prepared by: individual name and address

  • The book and page of the mortgage that is being assigned
  • Signature of the assignor
  • Notarized 
  • Prepared By statement beginning with: Prepared by: individual name and address

  • Original document 
  • Signed by the lienor and notarized
  • Legal description or property address
  • Prepared By statement beginning with:  Prepared by: individual name and address

  • Declaration of Domicile original document 
  • Signed and notarized 
  • Recording fee of $10.00 
  • Copies are $1.00 per page plus $2.00 for the certification of the document

  • Original document 
  • Signed by owner and notarized 
  • Prepared By statement beginning with:  Prepared by: individual name and address

eRecording

No special equipment is required to submit your documents for official record electronically, just a computer with high-speed internet access and a scanner. Fees are paid using ACH payments to automatically transfer taxes and recording fees from the submitter to the County Recorder’s accounts.

The recorded documents can be tracked through the entire recording process and the potential for lost documents is eliminated. Once the document is accepted for recording you can immediately retrieve an image that includes the recorder's stamp. The types of documents available for eRecording depend on the vendor you have selected.


*Please note that the Miami-Dade County Recorder’s Office is precluded from recommending vendors.

  • Recording Plat/Map (larger than 8 1/2" x 14" First Page - $35
  • Each additional page - $19.50
  • Recording Fee (letter, legal size) First Page - $10
  • Each additional page - $8.50
  • Lis Pendens Recording Fee First Page - $5
  • Each additional Lis Pendens page - $4
  • Indexing Fee for Each Name over 4 Names - $1
  • For standard searching of records, PER NAME for each year searched - $2
  • Authenticated clerk certificates, including signing and sealing - $7; standard search fee $2 plus additional $2 search fee. Total $11
  • Recording Certificate of Discharge, Separation or Services of Veterans - No Charge
  • Verifying an instrument prepared by someone other than clerk - $3.50
  • Oath, administering, attesting and sealing - $3.50

Documentary Stamp Taxes by Department of Revenue:
  • Documentary stamps on deeds (rounded up to nearest hundred) - $0.60 per $100
  • Documentary stamps on mortgages (rounded up to nearest hundred) - $0.35 per $100
  • Intangible tax on mortgages (on actual amount) - $2 per $1,000
  • Surtax per Miami-Dade Code 29-7(D) - $0.45 per $100

Copies:
  • Copies of instruments from public record (letter, legal size), per page - $1
  • Copies of instruments from public record larger than 8 1/2 x 14, per page - $5
  • Certification of document - $2

You are now leaving the official website of Miami-Dade Clerk of the Courts. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. Miami-Dade Clerk of the Courts is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.