Real Estate Tax Payments

Tax Collector's Public Service Office, located at 200 NW 2nd Avenue, Miami, Florida 33128, is open Monday through Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. and Fridays from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. We strongly recommend that you submit your payments online or by mail rather than visiting the Public Service Office. For additional information contact our office by calling 305-270-4916 or email [email protected].

The 2022 Annual Tax Notices were mailed on Monday, Oct. 31. The online payment button is activated as of Nov. 1, 2022, at 12:00 a.m. EST (Eastern Standard Time). Only current year taxes (2022) can be paid online.

Tax Roll Certification and Advertisements
Pursuant to Florida Statute 197.322, the property appraiser shall deliver to the tax collector the certified roll. The tax collector shall on Nov. 1, or as soon as the assessment roll is open for collection, publish a notice in a local newspaper that the roll is open for collection. The tax collector shall send to each taxpayer appearing on such rolls, whose address is known to him or her, a tax notice, within 20 working days after the receipt of the certified roll.

Real Estate Taxes
Real estate property taxes also known as ad valorem taxes are collected annually. They are based on the assessed value of a property's land, building(s) and improvements, as determined by the Property Appraiser as of Jan. 1.

Real estate property tax notices also include non-ad valorem assessments levied against the property for services such as solid waste, fire rescue, libraries, and other special assessments.

County and municipal governments, as well as local taxing authorities (such as the School Board and South Florida Water Management District, Children's Trust), determine tax rates (also known as millage rates). The rate is multiplied against the assessed value of the property, minus exemptions, to determine the amount of taxes due.

Real Estate Property Taxes are payable on Nov. 1 of each year and may be paid through March 31 of the following year without penalty. Pursuant to State Law (F.S. 197), Real Estate Property taxes become delinquent on April 1st. On April 1st, a minimum of 3 percent interest is added to delinquent Real Estate Property taxes plus advertising costs and fees.

Pursuant to State Law (F.S. 197), Tax Certificates will be sold for delinquent Real Estate Property Taxes on or before June 1.

State law provides the following schedule of early payment discounts:

  • 4 percent if paid in November
  • 3 percent if paid in December
  • 2 percent if paid in January
  • 1 percent if paid in February

A discount period may not be extended due to a tax bill being returned as undeliverable electronically or by postal mail (F.S.197.322). If a taxpayer does not receive a tax notice in November, it is the taxpayer's responsibility to contact the Tax Collector's Office to request a duplicate tax notice.

Pursuant to Florida Statute 197.122, all owners of property are held to know that taxes are due and payable annually and are responsible for ascertaining the amount of current and delinquent taxes and paying them before April 1st of the year following the year in which taxes are assessed.

If paying current 2022 real estate taxes online, acceptable forms of payment are eCheck, credit card or debit card. If paying online by eCheck, funds must be available for immediate withdrawal from a regular checking or savings account, open to ACH transactions and payable in U.S. funds and drawn on a U.S. bank. There is no convenience fee. If paying by credit or with debit card, a non-refundable convenience fee of 2.21 percent (minimum $1.95) of the tax amount will be applied to each credit card or debit card transaction. Only Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards are accepted.

If paying current 2022 real estate taxes by mail, acceptable forms of payment are checks, money orders, cashier’s checks and certified funds. Do not mail cash. Make your payment payable to: Miami-Dade County Tax Collector's Office. Checks must be payable in U.S. funds and drawn on a U.S. bank. Write your folio and phone number on your check and mail your payment to Miami-Dade County Tax Collector’s Office, 200 NW 2nd Avenue, Miami FL 33128. Discounts are determined by the postmark date. Postmarks will be honored through March 31, 2023.

Postdated checks cannot be held for future processing, they will be processed as of the date of receipt.

If paying current year 2022 real estate taxes in person, acceptable forms of payment are cash, personal check, cashier's check, certified funds, money order, credit card, debit card and Apple Pay.

To pay by credit card, a non-refundable convenience fee of 2.21 percent (minimum $1.95) of the tax amount will be applied to each transaction. Only Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards are accepted.

To pay by debit card a non-refundable convenience fee of $1.95 will be applied to each transaction.  Only Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards are accepted.

To pay by Apple Pay, a non-refundable convenience fee will be applied to each transaction, $1.95 if using a debit card, or 2.21 percent (min. $1.95) of the tax amount, if using a credit card with your Apple Pay transaction. Only Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards are accepted.

If you're paying $10,000 or more in cash and/or money order, your Social Security card and a valid ID (passport or U.S.-issued driver's license) are required.

Delinquent Taxes (2021 and prior)
Delinquent (2021 and prior) real estate taxes must be paid by cashier’s check, certified funds, money order or cash (Cash is only accepted if paying in person. Do not mail cash.). Postmarks will not be honored for delinquent tax payment.

Make your payment payable to: Miami-Dade County Tax Collector's Office. Checks must be payable in U.S. funds and drawn on a U.S. bank. Write your folio and phone number on your check or money order and mail your payment to Miami-Dade County Tax Collector’s Office, 200 NW 2nd Avenue, Miami FL 33128.

Returned Payments

Pursuant to State Law (F.S. 68.065), a service fee of not less than $25 up to a maximum of 5 percent will be charged for all returned payments.

Discounts or interest, if applicable, will be determined by the date you resubmit your payment.

In lieu of a service charge authorized under subsection (3), s. 832.062(4)(a), or s. 832.07, the payee of a payment instrument, the payment of which is refused by the drawee because of lack of funds, lack of credit, or lack of an account, or where the maker or drawer stops payment on the instrument with intent to defraud, may lawfully collect bank fees actually incurred by the payee in the course of tendering the payment, plus a service charge of $25 if the face value does not exceed $50; $30 if the face value exceeds $50 but does not exceed $300; $40 if the face value exceeds $300; or 5 percent of the face value of the payment instrument, whichever is greater. The right to damages under this subsection may be claimed without the filing of a civil action. Pursuant to Administrative Order 4-86 the taxpayer will be responsible for fees and/or loss of discount resulting from returned payments.

Accounts Exempt from Public Disclosure
Property owners who have an account that is Exempt from Public Disclosure (Confidential Account) have the option of paying their property taxes online by entering the account (folio) number and the total combined taxes and assessments (gross amount) as noted on the tax bill.

Duplicate bills may be requested by calling 305-270-4916. The bill will only be mailed to the owner/address of record.

For additional information, please submit your inquiry to [email protected].

Value Adjustment Board (VAB) Petitioners

Pursuant to State Law (F.S. 194), a petitioner who challenges the assessed value of real property with the Value Adjustment Board must pay all the Non-Ad Valorem Assessments and pay at least 75 percent of the Ad Valorem taxes and a petitioner who files a petition on the denial of a classification, exemption or on property not substantially complete must make a good faith payment, less the applicable discount by March 31, 2023.

The failure to make this minimum payment by March 31, 2023, will result in the denial of the property owner’s VAB petition. Any prior adjustments will be reversed and the taxes will become delinquent.

The VAB will issue a denial for non-payment even if the property owner's petition was heard by the VAB prior to March 31, 2023, and the VAB has agreed to reduce the property's assessment. In such cases, and pursuant to Florida law, the VAB will cancel its decision reducing the property's assessment and the Property Appraiser's preliminary assessment will be reinstated.

Online payment by e-check or credit card is only available for owners who elect to pay the full amount of taxes, 100 percent of the Ad Valorem and 100 percent of the Non-Ad Valorem Assessment.

Bill Express
The Miami-Dade County Tax Collector's Office offers property owners the convenience of receiving their 2023 Tax Bill electronically.

Sign up to receive your tax bill electronically for tax year 2023. You will continue to receive your tax bill by mail. Accounts Exempt from Public Disclosure are not allowed to sign up for Bill Express.

Once you have subscribed to receive your bill electronically, you will receive your tax bill from [email protected] This is not a spam email. GrantStreet Group is our software vendor. If you no longer wish to receive your bill electronically, click Unsubscribe at the bottom of the email you received from [email protected]. Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you register for electronic billing your email address may be subject to public record requests.

2022 Third Quarter Installment Tax Notices
The 2022 Third Quarter Installment Tax Notices will be mailed out on Nov. 30, 2022 and are payable Dec. 1, 2022.

Pursuant to Florida Statute 197.162, If the discount period ends on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the discount period, including the zero percent period, extends to the next working day, if payment is delivered to the designated collection office of the tax collector.

To receive the 3 percent discount, payments must be received no later than Jan. 3, if paid in person or online through our website, or postmarked no later than December 31st, 2022, if paid by mail.

Energy Improvement Assessments are collected annually. If you are a Quarterly Installment Plan Participant and have an Energy Improvement Assessment, the total assessment for the Energy Improvement will only be billed in your December (third installment), and March (fourth installment), the third and fourth installments will be higher. Discounts do not apply to Energy Improvement Assessments.

Bill Express applicants who signed up for the quarterly installment payment plan will receive their tax bills electronically on Dec. 1. If you signed up to receive your Quarterly Tax Bill electronically through Bill Express, you will continue to receive your Quarterly Tax Notice through the mail.

2023 Quarterly Installment Plan Application
Visit our website, miamidade.county-taxes.com, to sign up electronically for the 2023 Quarterly Installment Plan. The deadline to submit your 2023 Installment Payment Plan Application is April 30, 2023. If you have an escrow account for payment of your taxes, you should not participate in Installment Plan.

You may request to have an application mailed to you by calling 305-270-4916 or email [email protected].

Lis Pendens
The Miami-Dade County Tax Collector’s Office will accept escrow payments allowing taxpayers to obtain a release of lis pendens from the Office of the Property Appraiser. Taxpayers may return uncashed VAB refund checks to release the lis pendens and stop the accrual of interest. Taxpayers who have cashed the VAB refund check may request a payoff amount by sending an email to the Tax Collector Paralegal Unit at [email protected].

Phone Number(s)

  • Property Taxes Section
    305-270-4916305-270-4916
  • 311 Contact Center
    311311

Email / Mail

Locations and Hours

Tax Collector

Peter Cam, Director

Tax Collector's Office
200 NW 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33128
311

Contact Us