Home > Emergency Management > Building Collapse > Declaration Extension, 8/11/22


WHEREAS, section 252.38(3)(a), Florida Statutes, gives authority to political subdivisions to declare and enact a Local State of Emergency for a period of up to seven days, thereby waiving the procedures and formalities otherwise required of the political subdivision by law; and

WHEREAS, chapter 8B of the Code of Miami-Dade County grants the County Mayor the authority to declare a Local State of Emergency and authorizes the County Mayor to issue and to take various actions to address such emergency; and

WHEREAS, in the early morning of June 24, 2021, a portion of the residential building located at 8777 Collins Avenue, known as Champlain Towers South, collapsed in on itself; and

WHEREAS, Miami-Dade County first responders were immediately deployed to the area to aid in the search and rescue operation at the disaster site; and

WHEREAS, Miami-Dade County recognizes the significant tragedy for the 98 victims who lost their lives in the collapse; and

WHEREAS, while the property at 8777 Collins Avenue was turned over to the control of a Court-appointed receiver as of October 20, 2021, the Miami-Dade Police Department (“MDPD”) has continued to secure the materials being stored offsite; and

WHEREAS, on January 28, 2022, the National Institute of Standards and Technology informed MDPD that it was assuming custody and control effectively immediately and will maintain exclusive custody and control over all evidentiary debris; and

WHEREAS, the County’s investigation is still ongoing; and

WHEREAS, section 252.38(3)(a), Florida Statutes, and chapter 8B of the Code of Miami-Dade County authorize the Mayor to extend the Local State of Emergency,

THEREFORE, as County Mayor of Miami-Dade County, I hereby extend the declaration of a Local State of Emergency for an additional period commencing on August 11, 2022, that will continue in effect for seven days if not cancelled at an earlier date. This Local State of Emergency includes all of Miami-Dade County.